We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adventuring in South Wales”
Review of Old Hendre Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Monmouth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Old Hendre Farm
Ranked #2 of 21 Monmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Teignmouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Adventuring in South Wales”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

This very welcoming B&B was a great find. We chose a quiet place in the country rather than stay in Cardiff where we had spent the day white water rafting.

Val was very attentive and even called the local pub to make a table reservation for us. The room was spotless - a home from home! The breakfast was delicious with wonderful views of the farm and beyond. Val entertained us with some extraordinary insights into the local history. We wanted to stay for longer, but a mountain bike ride was planned. Would certainly recommend this for an overnight stay or a short break to get away from it all.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Will L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    10
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
33
49
16
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Devon
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Although just a little off the beaten track Old Hendre Farm was quite easy to find! We were only staying 1 night en route to Shropshire; however we were given a very warm welcome by Valerie on arrival. The farmhouse is beautiful inside and out and surrounded by some stunning countryside. We had the Blue Room; large and airy with a large ensuite; overlooking stunning countryside. Valerie was an excellent hostess treating us to tea/coffee and welshcakes on arrival served in her stunning lounge; whilst we chatted to her! The following morning we were served a nice breakfast; although we felt a little more choice could have been available maybe!

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely;quiet; clean and comfortable! We had the choice as we were the only guests...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DevonCountryBumkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

One of my favourite overnight stays, whilst walking the Offa's Dyke path. I was made so welcome, first from Gerard, who came in from working his farm to make me a cup of tea upon arrival and then from Valerie who made me feel really at home, by giving me virtually the freedom of their lovely home. The bedroom that I had, had the most magnificent views, and was so comfortable and clean, and the food was brilliant. I hope one day to pass that way again, when I will without doubt, again share with them their friendship and welcome.

Room Tip: I was given the Blue room, great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnWilliams9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

We arrived with muddy boots and legs after completing a section of the Offa's Dyke path Val welcomed us at the door and offered cups of tea, and a much needed bucket of water and scrubbing brush. Our evening meal with a bottle of rose was excellent and fresh coffee was served in a beautiful lounge.The accommodation is pristine and from the Blue bedroom you look out onto fields with horses. Of all the places we stayed at along all the trail this was certainly the best.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellingborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We stayed at Old Hendre Farm early in June as my partners daughter had a karate competition in Cardiff, and we needed somewhere that was dog friendly as we have a 7 month old springer spaniel, called Gwen. Val made us feel instantly welcome and looked after Gwen as if she was her own. We were 4 adults (2 teenager girls) and stayed in the Blue and Green rooms, both rooms and ensuites were large, airy and clean, and breakfast was lovely each morning. Being on a working farm, the house is surrounded by beautiful countryside, and is very quiet, but close enough to Cardiff and Monmouth. Great location if you want to spend time walking..We will definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BozeatSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed at Old Hendre Farm recently because we had planned a family celebration at the Crown at Whitebrooke ( about a 20-minute drive away through winding country lanes).
Val runs the B&B, her husband manages their farm. Hidden away in the Monmouthshire countryside, you will find a sat-nav handy to get there.
The hospitality is warm and generous, the house large and open, the bedrooms clean and comfortable. Val serves a full Welsh breakfast, and there are cereals, yoghurts, fruit juice, the works. You won't go hungry.
We went as a family of 6 adults and had taken all 3 double bedrooms. Our special requests were met with a smile and a positive response. Val couldn't have done more to make us feel at home.
There are views from the Blue bedroom, with horses and sheep in the fields at the back. Remember though, that this is a working farm, so be ready for some farming smells to waft your way too !
Monmouth is a short drive away; a bit further, about 30 minutes by car is the charming town of Usk with good food to be had at the Nag's Head. Of course if you are a serious walker, Old Hendre Farm is an ideal location. We were content not to do too much. A very enjoyable, leisurely stay at the farm.

Room Tip: Blue room has twin beds, a bath and shower. Views over the fields.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArnoldManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2012

This B&B benefits from an ideal location for the Offa's Dyke Path and offers a very warm and friendly welcome to weary walkers. Breakfast (and by prior arrangement) our evening meal were both fine examples of home-cooking of generous portions. We arrived hot and exhausted and left feeling fully rested and revitalised for our next day of walking.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank usr020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monmouth
1.2 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#1 of 1 in Monmouth
181 reviews
8.2 mi away
The Speech House Hotel
The Speech House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Coleford
730 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Paddocks Hotel
The Paddocks Hotel
#10 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Glewstone Court
Glewstone Court
#1 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
571 reviews
9.6 mi away
Glen-yr-Afon House Hotel
10.2 mi away
Castle Lodge Hotel
Castle Lodge Hotel
#9 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Hendre Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Hendre Farm

Property: Old Hendre Farm
Address: Wonastow, Monmouth NP25 4DJ, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Monmouthshire > Monmouth
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Monmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old Hendre Farm is situated in a quiet location on the Welsh Border just outside the lovely town of Monmouth. The modern farmhouse - set in its own half acre of garden - offers three rooms which are all en-suite. They have WIFI access, freeview television and a courtesy tray. A hearty breakfast is served using our own eggs and local produce. We cater for vegetarian, vegan and gluten -free diets - just let us know beforehand preferably when you make a booking. We provide off road and secure parking and for those wanting an activity holiday there is storage for trailers ,bikes, canoes and motorcycles. Offa's Dyke Path passes our doorstep and the Rolls of Monmouth Golf Course joins the farmland. The woodlands around us offer many tracks And bridlepaths for you to explore. We welcome walkers, birdwatchers, cyclists, canoeists golfers and horse riders. There are laundry and drying facilities for those in need. If you prefer a sight-seeing or more leisurely holiday we have much to offer in this area. We are within an hour travelling to Cardiff , Bristol , Bath, Hereford, Hay-on Wye, Abergavenny,. The Forest of Dean , The Wye Valley , The Black Mountains and The Brecon Beacons . Situated close to the borderland between England and Wales there is a rich heritage of Castles, fortifications and Abbeys. Monmouth our local town is famous for its unique 13th century Bridge gate and is teaming with History. If you come for an overnight stay - a short break or a longer holiday in this beautiful region - you will not be disappointed. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Old Hendre Farm Monmouth, Wales, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing