We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect”
Review of Steppes Farm

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Steppes Farm
Ranked #17 of 21 Monmouth B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 14, 2012

We loved this place and had a great time. We stayed in Oak Cottage - Lovely 16th century cottage sympathetically restored - spotlessly clean and well maintained, friendly owners, really nice restaurant on site with good value set menus.
Great area with loads to do. Not a single complaint, would stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephenjeanja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (63)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 63 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2012

Oh yes, indeed the heights are reached. This charming collection of stone-built cottages is high on a ridge overlooking the old county town of Monmouth, yet it is only a casual ten-minute drive to reach the town centre.
We stayed in 'Haywain', a very well-restored and crisply-clean cottage with comfortable beds and all the support items one could possibly need. Our breakfast was hot, fresh, plentiful, of good-quality and delivered with a smile.
Our only regret - that we were not able to stay longer. The on-site restaurant enjoys very supportive references from the locals.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jethro L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

We stayed in Mole End cottage and booked a table at the Stonemill restauant that is part of the property and our favourite local restaurant. Lovely clean accommodation, nice comfortable bed with soft pillows and plenty of space in the room. Perfect relaxed evening with very friendly staff. My only gripes are that the walls are a bit thin (noticed as next door was noisy) and check out is at 10am - not so great after a late night!

Room Tip: Book B&B not Dinner B&B as its cheaper
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TimH82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

My wife and me wanted a nice relaxing break after the death of her father earlier this tear - and we really did choose the right place.Set in the countryside, it was just great, we chose to stay self catering and the accomodation was to a good standard well equipped and CLEAN! The beds where so comfortable I haven`t slept so well in ages.The owners lived on site in a large farmhouse and where very helpful and friendly. Here comes the the real find, also on site is a converted barn, its a delightful restaurant which the owners daughter runs.I cannot recommend the Stonemill highly enough for its superb locally sourced food prepared superbly, or any of the staff that carried out their tasks in a very friendly and professional manner. The old mill has a really comfortable atmosphere and I would be happy to take anyone there without fear of disappointment. All in all Steppes Farm and The Stonemill gets a very definate thumbs up from me and my family! p.s to ET123Tokyo, You must have got the wrong place - the owners daughter was simply wonderful!

Room Tip: As I can see this place cannot be faulted, choose any room you like, they are all top quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank birichen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2012

We booked the Mole End cottage as we were attending a local wedding. On arrival, the owner was very accomodating, allowing us to use the cottage earlier than check in. The cottage was gorgeous, in absolutely immaculate condition. A late night ensued, and I was so glad to find bread, milk, tea, coffee, cereal and a fantastic shower in the morning.

We will definitely be back, and for a lot longer.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RedVarga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Particularly rude, unhelpful, unwelcoming and unaccommodating woman running the place when we stayed. I think she was the daughter of the business owners, and had no idea what she was doing or how to give a pleasant stay to people who've travelled a long way. No offer of breakfast in the morning, despite paying for it. Shower didn't work in our cottage, no light bulb in the living room lamp, ordered to leave immediately in the morning or else we'd be charged an extra night - it was like staying in a shoddy (but expensive) hostel. I was tired after a long drive from Heathrow towards Wales, and didn't want to argue or cause a scene in the morning as we left. We just paid and vowed never to return. Very disappointed, it's a shame the proper owners weren't running the place when we came, as it sounds like they're much nicer people.

Room Tip: Bring warm clothes - cottages get cold at night and the heaters are not good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ET123Tokyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMonmouthWebmaster, Public Relations Manager at Steppes Farm, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2012

It never fails to amuse me that guests who write negative reviews about problems with accommodation generally don't just have one problem but many. It's beyond me how our visitors manage to get through the door without the buildings falling on their heads!

If one focuses ones energy on enjoying ones stay rather than wasting ones energy looking for problems that don't exist one may have a better, more enjoyable stay!

It is perhaps also worth noting that most negative reviewers generally seem to write reviews from new accounts and then disappear!

For the record, we have resident maintenance staff living on-site so the suggestion that something as important as a shower was not working is frankly absurd! All our properties are checked thoroughly prior to guests checking in, as is the norm with most accommodation providers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2012

This was our second visit to the cottage in Monmouth, and it was just as enjoyable as the first time.

Unfortunately on our way down we were involved in an RTA and our car was not drivable. I contact the owners of the cottage Peter & Rita to ask if they knew of any car hire places in the area. The problem was it was Easter weekend and the majority of places had closed for the weekend!!! Anyway Peter was able to find us a car hire company in Ross on Wye, who delivered the car when we arrived and we were therefore able to carry on with our holiday. This was greatly appreciated as we would not have been able to continue with our holiday and the children would have been really disappointed.

The cottage has everything that you need for a self catering holiday and the facilities are great, both Peter & Rita are extremely helpful on what to do in the area.

On site there is an excellent restaurant called the Stone Mill, the food, service and hopsitality are excellent and I would highly recommend that you book a table when booking a cottage.

The cottage is in a fantastic location, we are keen cyclist so it was a great base for cycling. We cycled for two days out of the four days. The first route we did was Symonds Yat which is along the river and called in at the Saracens Head Pub (good ale!!!) and the second ride we did was in the Forest of Dean.

One of the days was raining so we visited the Clearwell Caves (which the girls found very interesting), and then visited The Palace Cinema to watch a movie, it was a very old fashioned cinema/theatre it was like stepping back in time.

Overall considering we'd been involved in an accident, the holiday turned out great and we had a lovely time. We'll definately be returning.

Thanks for all your help too!!!

Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank Ericsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monmouth hotels
0.9 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#1 of 1 in Monmouth
186 reviews
1 mi away
Queen's Head Monmouth
Queen's Head Monmouth
#9 of 21 in Monmouth
118 reviews
0.9 mi away
Punch House Monmouth
Punch House Monmouth
#16 of 21 in Monmouth
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Mayhill Hotel
Mayhill Hotel
#5 of 21 in Monmouth
65 reviews
2 mi away
Church Farm Guest House
Church Farm Guest House
#19 of 21 in Monmouth
19 reviews
0.8 mi away
Torlands B&B
Torlands B&B
#7 of 21 in Monmouth
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steppes Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steppes Farm

Address: Rockfield, Monmouth NP25 5SW, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Monmouthshire > Monmouth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Monmouth
Price Range: $131 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Steppes Farm 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Steppes Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Steppes Farm Monmouth, Wales, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing