We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location and great cottage”
Review of Steppes Farm

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Steppes Farm
Ranked #16 of 21 Monmouth B&B and Inns
Stoke on Trent
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic location and great cottage”
Reviewed April 11, 2012

This was our second visit to the cottage in Monmouth, and it was just as enjoyable as the first time.

Unfortunately on our way down we were involved in an RTA and our car was not drivable. I contact the owners of the cottage Peter & Rita to ask if they knew of any car hire places in the area. The problem was it was Easter weekend and the majority of places had closed for the weekend!!! Anyway Peter was able to find us a car hire company in Ross on Wye, who delivered the car when we arrived and we were therefore able to carry on with our holiday. This was greatly appreciated as we would not have been able to continue with our holiday and the children would have been really disappointed.

The cottage has everything that you need for a self catering holiday and the facilities are great, both Peter & Rita are extremely helpful on what to do in the area.

On site there is an excellent restaurant called the Stone Mill, the food, service and hopsitality are excellent and I would highly recommend that you book a table when booking a cottage.

The cottage is in a fantastic location, we are keen cyclist so it was a great base for cycling. We cycled for two days out of the four days. The first route we did was Symonds Yat which is along the river and called in at the Saracens Head Pub (good ale!!!) and the second ride we did was in the Forest of Dean.

One of the days was raining so we visited the Clearwell Caves (which the girls found very interesting), and then visited The Palace Cinema to watch a movie, it was a very old fashioned cinema/theatre it was like stepping back in time.

Overall considering we'd been involved in an accident, the holiday turned out great and we had a lovely time. We'll definately be returning.

Thanks for all your help too!!!

Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Ericsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    13
    4
    10
    3
See reviews for
22
19
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2012

I stayed here last year with the wife and kids. The cottages are stunning inside and very comfortable. A good nights sleep was had by all and getting up in the morning sat outside the cottages with a coffee overlooking the fields was amazing. Owners were lovely and contrary to other reviews were non-intrusive. On the Sunday as a final treat before driving home we had Sunday lunch in the restaurant. The meal was fantastic...the beef was to die for and according to the lady that runs the restaurant all local reared. Definitely going to book again next year and do a bit more walking rather than just up and down the beautiful main street in Monmouth. 10/10

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeeMo123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2011

We needed a place to stay for the weekend as we had w a wedding nearby and picked this place at random. After we booked it I looked up the reviews on trip advisor and was a little nervous about what i would find but I struggle to fault it.

The setting is beautiful, surrounded by hillsides, beautiful views and a few sheep. Idyllic. The cottage we stayed in was for 3 people, a beautiful room with a loey double bed and a single room which was well equiped and pretty. The shower was fantastic and the kitchen had everything we needed. The living room is beautiful and the whole cottage has a lovely feel to it.

Paying for the electric was a little annoying (it ran out just as I was hoping to dry my hair...) but so long as you come prepared with pound coins you can't go wrong.

The restaurant which is on site is fantastic and great value for Sunday lunch! Beautiful food and friendly staff.

We can't wait to return!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joeykettle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2011

My wife and I were married here and had the most amazing day thanks to Steppes Farm and The Stonemill.
The food and beautiful attraction were what first attracted us, but it was the accommodating staff and snow, yes snow, that made it so memorable.
The restaurant serves local, seasonal food and has an ever changing menu and you really get five star service without five star prices.
It snowed the morning of the wedding, which made the setting even more spectacular and the owners jumped to the rescue with grit to ensure everyone could get up the driveway.
My family stayed in one of the larger cottages for the full week and really enjoyed their stay. The Xmas decorations were a great touch too.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Llandaffian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2011

Attended an old friend's wedding bash here last month - and this place is certainly a great venue for those kind of events: pretty helpful staff, comfortable enough accommodation (cottages are very twee, which city folk like me appreciate) and within easy reach of Monmouth.

Best thing about the place: the Stonemill restaurant (on-site). Excellent food made from local produce. (You don't have to stay here to eat there)

Worst things about the place: the shower in our cottage was the weakest I've ever experienced. Barely a drizzle. Also, the beds - or my bed at least - was super soft, which sounds good, but this was comically so. It didn't really matter much on the second night though: after the amount I drank at the wedding, I could have hunkered down in the neighbouring field and still got eight hours.

Overall: recommended for big social events, but I'm not sure I'd bring my wife on a romantic weekend away (not that we do that any more :)

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank golfer78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2011

Our golfing group from the USA and Britain (we play a Ryder Cup style event over several days both here and in America) have stayed here twice and it is absolutely wonderful! The Americans regard it as a film set of the Britain they love to see in old movies but with all the mod-cons they insist on and we Brits love it too. Peter and Rita are so helpful too. The on site restaurant bis superb and the location just about as good as it is possible to be. Go there - try it!

David Tart British team Captain

Room Tip: They are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidTart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2011

We stayed in one of the cottages. The walls and floors are paper thin - so none of us got any sleep. Everywhere was clean but the beds were uncomfortable by any standard. The bath water ran cold after 2 inches. The electricity meter ate up £1 coins. The owners went into our rooms when we were out and moved our belongings around. They seemed to keep checking the cottages even though they weren't vacated. The restaurant is nothing special although the ingredients seemed to be good quality and food was fairly well presented. We are good cooks - so found it lacking - or maybe we were just too tired to taste the food. The service in the restaurant was generally good and the staff there very nice but it did not make up for the rest. We would never go there again.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Margaret186233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMonmouthWebmaster, Public Relations Manager at Steppes Farm, responded to this review, May 31, 2011
This is clearly a fictitious, malicious review, possibly from a competitor. To say the walls and floors in our properties are "paper thin" is an outright lie. Our cottages are 17th Century barn conversions with 2 ft. thick walls and oak beamed floors, you would be hard put to find accommodation with thicker walls and better sound insulation!

Our properties have been recently reviewed and awarded 5 stars by the Welsh Tourist Board which includes a thorough check of the condition and comfort of all mattresses. To say they were "uncomfortable by any standard" is ridiculous as they are clearly comfortable by Welsh Tourist Board standards!

Our coin meters are installed in accordance with Welsh Assembly guidelines for green, sustainable electricity and are rated at the same rate as a domestic electricity supply.

We consider guests at our properties to have the right to privacy during their stay with us and under no circumstances would we enter any of our cottages when occupied, unless invited or in the case of an emergency. Again this is fictitious bordering on paranoia.

The "reviewer" may be a "good cook" but the reality is that you don't get a Michelin listing and 2 AA Rosettes for being "nothing special"!

We expect guests to be dissatisfied from time to time, as would any accommodation provider, however if this list of complaints were genuine surely there would be significantly more negative reviews of our properties and there is no way we would be able to attain the accolades that we have!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monmouth
0.9 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#1 of 1 in Monmouth
175 reviews
0.9 mi away
#7 Church Street
#7 Church Street
#7 of 21 in Monmouth
199 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Coach House Inn
The Coach House Inn
#6 of 21 in Monmouth
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Mayhill Hotel
Mayhill Hotel
#5 of 21 in Monmouth
54 reviews
1.8 mi away
Church Farm Guest House
Church Farm Guest House
#19 of 21 in Monmouth
19 reviews
3.6 mi away
Inglewood House
Inglewood House
#1 of 2 in Redbrook
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steppes Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steppes Farm

Property: Steppes Farm
Address: Rockfield, Monmouth NP25 5SW, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Monmouthshire > Monmouth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Monmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Steppes Farm 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Steppes Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Steppes Farm Monmouth, Wales, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing