We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Punch House Monmouth
Ranked #16 of 21 Monmouth B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 11, 2014

I stayed here with work colleagues at very short notice. Staff were very accommodating and friendly. The rooms were well equipped, comfortable and were very clean. Large range of food and good quality and value. Enjoyed my stay, will be back.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
Thank Tired T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (260)
There are newer reviews for Punch House Monmouth
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

192 - 198 of 260 reviews

Reviewed February 7, 2014

Enjoyed a tasty and quality breakfast of freshly squeezed orange juice, grilled bacon on sourdough bread and coffee which was very well presented and good value for money. The restaurant has a very comprehensive and affordable menu and the staff are friendly and attentive. There has been a recent complete refurbishment and the place looks great! We asked if it was possible to have a look at the accommodation and were willingly shown several rooms which are all very well-appointed. As it is an old building the layout is rather quirky which adds to the charm and the decoration compliments the surroundings. Well worth a visit!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Reiver2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Newly refurbished, tasteful & spotlessly clean room, comfortable bed and at £40 per night an absolute bargain! Breakfast not included but quality food available in the restaurant at a very reasonable price. The only criticism would be the efficient but rather brusque welcome - having said that the guy did seem rather busy. Would definitely recommend without hesitation.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elaine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Stayed in a newly refurbished room on New Years Eve. We were Welcomed by Sarah who was brilliant in helping with checking us in early and advising the best places to park. Room looks fantastic, price was amazingly low, especially for a New Years Eve. Only criticism would be, double bed is a little small, but I am 6ft 3in !

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Russey22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

we had been here on 6 ocassions previously ,NEW YEARS EVE 2012 ,was a great evening full of party atmosphere nice food we were a party of 8 and had booked 2 nights and a table for 8pm pub stayed open until 12 for everyone to see in 2013 .we then in jan decided to book to return .,i had been trying to contact punch house in nov to no avail .by phone ,i went on website and saw it was closed refurb ,i contacted BRAINS twice spoke to 1 man and was given a name of a manager JOHN GLEASON whom i eventually managed to speak to ,as 2 of 4 rooms i needed to cancel .as friends couldnt come .it took weeks to do this but i had confirmation and also confirmed table was booked for new years eve ,we were looking forward to seeing newly refurbed PUB !!!! on entering it looked all very nice .we checked in girl seeing to us said with enthusiasm "theres no tvs no entertainment but jazz night in future " we looked a bit puzzled as been expecting a singer etc for new year eve like last year .rooms were fine .we came down for a drink and noticed a lot of wooden tables a chairs squeezed in every space ,not many comfy chairs old.restaurant area full of them .bar that was same ,no real drinking areas anymore like a big coffee shop .all comfy seating along windows gone ,no stools at bar area .it had no atmosphere and was quieter than we remember .NEW YEARS EVE ,my friend was asking about table etc to find we didnt have one reserved although i had email stating it ,we thought better of it as it was so flat in there ,so went outside to eat on returning we found out it was closing at 11pm !!! so no seeing NEW YEAR IN HERE !!! I ASKED STAFF as we were residents she said no more drinks we are closed at 11pm and only open till 12 fri /sat as normal i replied new year eve on a mon 2012 stayed open till 12 then .we retired to bedrooms could have done that home .previously rooms were 40.00 a night now 70.00 with breakfast .no hairdryer in room i found out after showering !!! standard requirement really poor hospitality tray only earl grey tea did ask staff behind bar but he didnt bother no biscuits .either .very dissapointed with what should have been a special evening ,to sum up girl with long dark hair im not hurrying you but can you drink up 11.03pm obviously she was heading off to somewhere more exciting to see in 2014 .

Room Tip: friends had 4 poster ,room 4 larger than no 1 but light shade is inside four poster so if you want t...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank morocco10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Stayed here on New Years Eve, What a fantastic hotel, right in the centre of Monmouth, The hotel has recently been refurbished and the rooms are absolutely superb, spotlessly clean and very nicely decorated, the bed was sooooo comfy. The staff were very friendly and welcoming and I have to say the two chambermaids we spoke to this morning were absolutely great. wishing us Happy New Year and having a laugh with us. We arrived at 11.30 am knowing check in wasn't until 3pm but called in on the off chance and our rooms were ready for us. We only paid £40 a room !!!! on NYE what a bargain. I definitely recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank juliemalcolm006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2013

We are regular visitors to the Punch House and have observed the changes with the bar area now extensively refurbished, with the old bar areas converted to a dining room. This change has been very well done and I'm sure many will like the new presentation but some character has been lost and there is a feeling of being in 'any pub, any where'. It is a shame that some part of the pub could not have been left in a more traditional style, capturing the history of previous centuries rather than all being converted to a modern bistro format.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank KJR21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monmouth
0.4 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#1 of 1 in Monmouth
182 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Paddocks Hotel
The Paddocks Hotel
#10 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
137 reviews
0.0 mi away
#7 Church Street
#7 Church Street
#7 of 21 in Monmouth
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Queen's Head Monmouth
Queen's Head Monmouth
#9 of 21 in Monmouth
110 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mayhill Hotel
Mayhill Hotel
#6 of 21 in Monmouth
62 reviews
0.8 mi away
Torlands B&B
Torlands B&B
#8 of 21 in Monmouth
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Punch House Monmouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punch House Monmouth

Address: 4 Agincourt Square, Monmouth NP25 3BT, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Monmouthshire > Monmouth
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Monmouth
Price Range: $77 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Punch House Monmouth 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Punch House is on Agincourt Square in the centre of the historic border town of Monmouth, in south east wales.An old coaching inn, the Punch House has undergone a full transformation and is now Punch House Cafe Bar.It has 11 ensuite letting rooms offer comfortable good value accommodation right in the heart of the town. Your neighbourhood cafe bar is perfect for every occasion, whether it be a leisurely breakfast or a business lunch, afternoon coffee or an evening of tapas & wine, they’ve got it all covered. The friendly team will be on hand to make sure that you are well looked after and when you don’t want to leave you can check-in to one of the luxurious rooms for the night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Punch House Monmouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punch House Monmouth Hotel Monmouth
Punch House Monmouth Wales, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing