We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OMG what a dirty hole !!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Punch House Monmouth
Ranked #16 of 21 Monmouth B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I realise you get what you pay for, and at £40 a night this wasn't the Savoy, so one could excuse the tired decor and rotting window frames, but there is no excuse for dirt and filth.
The pillows and duvets were filthy, albeit in clean covers, however they were rank. The final straw was breakfast where the floor was covered with the previous night's mess and my glass was actually stuck to the table. Good news is that they refunded the prepayment for the second night when we booked out early. This pub/hotel is part of a brewery owned chain "Brains" surely they dont want their name associated with such a terrible establishment . My daughter and son in law also stayed and their experience was even worse I'll leave it to them to offer a report

Room Tip: book another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (266)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

220 - 226 of 266 reviews

Reviewed March 10, 2013

We visited The Punch House just for food. It was a very friendly pub with a good amount of tables. We were greeted at the bar by friendly staff and locals. The food was delicious and the chef had no problem amending my order on account of my allergy!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K1mbo84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Although extremely convenient, the cleaning regime was clearly non existent. Having looked forward to a lie in I could not stay a minute longer than was necessary. Also very noisy due to road traffic. Nothing would endear me to either go back or to recommend it!

Room Tip: Don't book here unless you specifically ask them to clean it first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alex A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Dirty room - no soap and very little toilet roll. Ordered a red wine and the bar woman smelt it before giving it - it was awful. Ordered a new bottle and thar wasn't very good either. Ordered the famous mixed grill and that was about the worst I ever tasted, very dry and they forgot the agg. Won't be returning

Room Tip: Very good for the town centre
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WGaywood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

a lot of other reviews have focussed on the low price and the tag line "you get what you pay for". whilst often true, this hotel is beyond good value. you do get what you pay for, and a whole lot more. beautifully maintained classic rooms, a real georgian feel to the hotel. The views from the rooms will stretch the length of monmouth and the rooms themselves lend more towards a 3 or 4 star hotel than a B&B. Staff are fantastic, as friendly as the rest of Monmouth. Had a really good stay and will be back again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eddievanhalen66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

An outstanding venue, was in a fantastic room. Felt compelled to set up an account to rave about this place. Stayed here for a birthday getaway, and it came up trumps. The staff were a fountain of local knowledge and were always ready to give help and advice. Will definatly stay here again, my next birthday cant come quick enough, I would most certainly reccommend, the punch house to anyone, planning next trip already.

Room Tip: Room 4 has an amazing 4 poster bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Valda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Quaint hotel in central location very homely welcoming although some issues when booking online deals sa brain website hotel on 30 dec arrival and on previous visit not conversant with the owners deals on line and had made at least 3 phonecalls emails confirming the price to still be greeted with confused staff although presenting proof of price of deal on web . staff after sorting this in particular manager and teresa very helpful and friendly .the rooms are nice beds clean comfy .bathrooms need deepcleaning.or refurbishing tiles shower bases etc .an excellent venue for new years eve staff were lovely very efficent and meals good fast service .we have stayed in aug twice previously and pub retains good atmosphere with hard working staff .issues need addressing on deals via web as ive had huge issues back and forth as i cancelled 1 room and they cancelled room on deal rather than full price one initially i booked much later and the response when arriving was dont worry we will sort it as a dark haired girl was asking me for vouchers which do not exist !!!!! you book rooms on line at deal price namely 59.00 for two nights hotels price is 80.00 and now applys to online price .not that hotel are on check in doing me a favour giving it at that price i make a point of printing proof of price had same deal same response sept 2010 thomas arms Llanelli .we all want relaxed breaks not hassle on arrival even if it is sorted quickly the same girl i had tel conversation with and asked her to put manager on to phone i lived in a sabrain pub for 20 yrs and my parents would never have had this situation other than that a great stay

Room Tip: four poster room 4 nice all rooms similar all very very warm can be noisy but soon become quiet afte...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank morocco10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monmouth
0.4 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#1 of 1 in Monmouth
184 reviews
9.0 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#3 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
401 reviews
11.2 mi away
Glen-yr-Afon House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
#7 Church Street
#7 Church Street
#9 of 21 in Monmouth
207 reviews
0.2 mi away
Queen's Head Monmouth
Queen's Head Monmouth
#8 of 21 in Monmouth
115 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mayhill Hotel
Mayhill Hotel
#5 of 21 in Monmouth
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Punch House Monmouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punch House Monmouth

Address: 4 Agincourt Square, Monmouth NP25 3BT, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Monmouthshire > Monmouth
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Monmouth
Price Range: $90 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Punch House Monmouth 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Punch House is on Agincourt Square in the centre of the historic border town of Monmouth, in south east wales.An old coaching inn, the Punch House has undergone a full transformation and is now Punch House Cafe Bar.It has 11 ensuite letting rooms offer comfortable good value accommodation right in the heart of the town. Your neighbourhood cafe bar is perfect for every occasion, whether it be a leisurely breakfast or a business lunch, afternoon coffee or an evening of tapas & wine, they’ve got it all covered. The friendly team will be on hand to make sure that you are well looked after and when you don’t want to leave you can check-in to one of the luxurious rooms for the night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Punch House Monmouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punch House Monmouth Hotel Monmouth
Punch House Monmouth Wales, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing