We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value & very central”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Punch House Monmouth
Ranked #6 of 23 Monmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Newport, S.wales
Level Contributor
266 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
“Good value & very central”
Reviewed June 26, 2012

Right in centre of town opposite wetherspoons.
Scruffy looking pub and sullen welcome didn't bode well but it was all up hill from there.
Room was Large with dated decor and lumpy matresses but for the price was acceptable.
View out onto Agincourt Square was great but it did mean some noise late at night.
The windows weren't double glazed but it IS a very old pub.
Breakfast was goood value and an optional extra.
Perhaps women might find the place shabby but for an overnight stop and a few drinks it was just the job.
perhaps a refurb soon though??

Room Tip: Parked in long stay park just around corner which will carry over parking from 6pm until charging re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stueeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    58
    36
    17
    14
See reviews for
40
112
12
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2012 via mobile

Sad to say i won't be staying here again . its central.location means it id very noisy . street sweepers at 5.30 am people shouting and swearing outside drinking until late and rooms that here incredibly hot. also sadly spoilt by the other noisy drunk guests being an eclectic mix of the scum of industrial England. the shower was dirty and had a flow rate less than my 96 year old uncle when passing water. staff were friendly

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cymro0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2012

I have family in Monmouth and each time I come here I always stay and each time I question why I do!!

The pub itself is very quaint and full of the locals so you can certainly get a feel for the town - which by the way is adorable!!!

The restaurant is questionable and after reading the reviews on here I can see my 'experience' wasnt just a one off which is a shame however I agree that the attitude of some of the bar staff I've come across has been disappointing - perhaps its a "well your not a local" thing???

Ive probably stayed in every room in the Punch House and each one has been OK, but not to the standard I expect from a hotel at all.... some of the matresses on the beds has been like sleeping on pure wire and others have been like sleeping on the wood below, but saying that the towels have always been freshly laundered.... this place could really benefit from a re-furb and new carpets / curtains and matressees - it would then be a really lovely like hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WorldTravellerBaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2012

We stayed one night. The Punch House staff are very welcoming .The bedroom was large and the bed comfortable .Sheets and towels very clean however the room and en suite needed a really good scrubbing - marks on the radiator, dust in corners, stains on the flooring etc. Nothing that couldnt be sorted with time and elbow grease.
We had a great nights sleep despite being on the front of the hotel and the breakfast was good .We also had a great Thai meal at the Whole Earth Cafe Bistro - where we had eaten before and the food is extremely good.
We may return to Monmouth but not to the Punch House as the level of cleanliness put me off what could have been a good stop over.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank torchello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2012

We did not stay in the Punch House, but took our friends there for a meal. We had booked a table, but there was no need as it was quite quiet.

We ordered, then waited, and waited, and waited. Eventually the starters arrived after 50 minutes. Having eaten these, and ordered more drinks we were told (90 minutes after ordering) that one of the main courses wasn't available. The waiter was rude and dismissive when we questioned why they'd only just found this out. The main courses were eventually served 105 minutes after ordering, and they were average at best, poor at worst (too long in the microwave), with no garnish (apparently they'd run out of salads).

The huge wait preventing us from doing anything else with the day, and it was embarrasing that we'd taken our friends there. The worst was the appalling attitude of this particular member of staff.

I only give a poor rather than terrible rating as some of the food was reasonable, and the other member of staff (a girl) was much more pleasant. That said, I still would recommend you stay well away from the Punch House.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2012

Enjoyed a swift and enjoyable stay - paid £39.95 for a double room so were wary but definitely needn't have been. Bar lady/hotel receptionist extremely friendly and helpful in providing eating out recommendations - there was a live band playing until 11.30pm but not intrusive and pub crowd dispersed quickly - was expecting more road noise due to it being on the high street but absolutely fine. Thought Monmouth was a lovely town.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CATHIE2705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bewdley, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2012

Found an ideal place to stay at a very reasonable price. Although beware of live music nights if your above the bar and don't have a sense of fun. Don't forget this is also a locals pub so dont expect five star luxury but you can expect politeness and a decent pint or three. Very friendly especially when disclosed we were enroute to Cardiff to watch Wales play Italy. Room was very Olde Worlde with a more than comfy bed. Breakfast is very good but don't forget it is on top of the booked price for the room. Monmouth itself proved to be a place we now want to return to explore further a place we've driven past so often before. Thanks for a good stay we will be back.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Che G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monmouth hotels
0.4 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#1 of 1 in Monmouth
167 reviews
0.0 mi away
#7 Church Street
#7 Church Street
#8 of 23 in Monmouth
193 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mayhill Hotel
Mayhill Hotel
#4 of 23 in Monmouth
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Coach House Inn
The Coach House Inn
#5 of 23 in Monmouth
73 reviews
0.2 mi away
Queen's Head Monmouth
Queen's Head Monmouth
#10 of 23 in Monmouth
102 reviews
0.0 mi away
Church Farm Guest House
Church Farm Guest House
#20 of 23 in Monmouth
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Punch House Monmouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punch House Monmouth

Property: Punch House Monmouth
Address: 4 Agincourt Square, Monmouth NP25 3BT, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Monmouthshire > Monmouth
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Monmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Punch House Monmouth 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Punch House is on Agincourt Square in the centre of the historic border town of Monmouth, in south east wales.An old coaching inn, the Punch House has undergone a full transformation and is now Punch House Cafe Bar.It has 11 ensuite letting rooms offer comfortable good value accommodation right in the heart of the town. Your neighbourhood cafe bar is perfect for every occasion, whether it be a leisurely breakfast or a business lunch, afternoon coffee or an evening of tapas & wine, they’ve got it all covered. The friendly team will be on hand to make sure that you are well looked after and when you don’t want to leave you can check-in to one of the luxurious rooms for the night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Punch House Monmouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punch House Monmouth Hotel Monmouth
Punch House Monmouth Wales, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing