We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good all round stay”
Review of The King's Head

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The King's Head
Ranked #13 of 21 Monmouth B&B and Inns
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good all round stay”
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Had an enjoyable three nights. Room was larger than expected with an extremely comfortable bed with feather duvet and crisp white cotton bedding. Bathroom was clean with fresh towels provided each day. All usual items in room.....tea/coffee, biscuits, bottles of water, hair dryer...with nearby mirror! Food in the restaurant is very good value....the Sunday roast was very good and the Tuesday steak club was excellent value. Service was prompt. The Breakfasts were also good with a large selection to choose from.
Very well situated pub with good access to lots of attractions. Returning again soon!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank harrison77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    119
    49
    19
    15
See reviews for
44
126
15
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mid Glam South Wales
Level Contributor
99 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2012

Booked for 1 night as a base to explore Monmouth. Easy to find, just off main road through town, sideways on to the museum. Parking is in a public car park but as we stayed on a Sunday parking was free, I went and paid £1.20 for 3 hours on Monday morning just to cover us to midday, sorry I didn't notice how much it is to stay for 24hrs.

Check in was not available until 2pm so we wandered around for a bit and went and parked the car. Although it seems that the car park is a distance from the hotel there is a short cut through an archway at the top end, which leads onto the road on which the hotel is sited. So no distance at all to carry a bag.

Receptionist very helpful and checked that our room was ready before issuing our room key card. We had a room on the first floor overlooking the front. Room had tea/coffee making facilities and complimentary bottles of still/sparkling water and biscuits,a TV, and a hairdryer conveniently placed next to a mirror (how many times do you go to a hotel and the hairdryer is either in the bathroom, which gets steamed up so you can't see to style your hair, or the power point is nowhere near a mirror!). Bathroom had handwash and shower gel provided, plenty of towels and was very clean. Plenty of spare pillows and one of the most comfortable beds I have experienced for a while. The room was large enough for a third single bed - I know because there was a put up bed folded in one corner, it might have been nice to have it removed if there is only double occupancy but it was no bother really. Not many coat hangers or storage space but we were only there for 1 night so it was ok for us. Room also very clean.

Only down side is that the windows are not double glazed so all street noise can be heard from early in the morning.

Access to Weatherspoons pub is through the corridor with the help of your room key card, so no need to leave the Lodge and go through main pub entrance. We had Sunday lunch and breakfast the following morning there. Both meals were excellent value and very good portion sizes, my only bug bear is that both times the plates were cold, and with the air con on full blast the meal went cold very quickly. Waiter/waitress service efficient and prompt as were the bar staff.

Go and enjoy this wonderful historic town its many pubs, individual shops and surrounding area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BluebirdFACup08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

Contacted the pub before we went asking for a big room, had requested a twin room, as we were staying 3 nights, but have to say...if that was a big room I wouldn't have wanted a small room! It upsets me when I visit a site, am "invited in" by the advertising only to find the rooms are nothing like those advertised. The pub itself is strangely laid out, being on three different levels and with at least 4 different dining rooms...the main one being on the first level. It's a nice room but it is positioned directly in line with the front door so it was quite draughty when we were there. Now all this sounds like we didn't enjoy our stay but that wasn't the case. Yes it was annoying having to get up early to put a ticket in the car in the nearest car park but if you're clever you can park in the roads near the pub and get an hour for free which gives you a chance for a bit of a lie-in. But what made this pub, like all the other Wetherspoons we've stayed in, is the staff. From the moment we arrived to the day we left the staff, in all areas, were friendly and extremely helpful. It's these bits that make the stay because, after all, the room is just a base. The food was the usual Wetherspoon selection but I was pleasantly surprised to find a selection of Welsh food on the menu. My husband had the Welsh 'meatballs' (site doesn't like correct word) and I had the Welsh cawl..twice it was so nice. So, if you're thinking of staying here, and aren't too worried about how big the room is or that being so old the stairs are slopping and so to are the rooms, then this is ideal base for sight seeing etc.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2012

Enjoyed my stay the staff were friendly and the room clean, comfy and modern. The pub downstairs has character and the food good value too. Definite recommendation.

Stayed June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Stillrowmin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2012

The hotel is an old coaching inn and retains many of its original features. It is very well placed in the centre of Monmouth, though car parking is a little bit of a pest - its 300-400 yards to the town car park and about 500 yards if you want to park for free. Notwithstanding the parking inconvenience, the rooms are modern and well equiped and the service from all the staff is excellent. We have stayed at this hotel twice in the last year and would thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paul b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tredegar
Level Contributor
164 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2012

Stayed here two nights for the olympic torch relay.Right in the middle of town,clean,cheap,and you only have to walk downstairs for a pint!!

Room Tip: Try for a room overlooking the square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank picture1Tredegar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2012

Good rooms. - but be prepared its a weatherspoon so you hear people from the pub below. Very good service from the dude man at the desk. Would reccomend.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbs111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monmouth
0.3 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#1 of 1 in Monmouth
172 reviews
9.0 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#3 of 13 in Ross-on-Wye
375 reviews
19.7 mi away
The Queens Hotel, Newport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Punch House Monmouth
Punch House Monmouth
#11 of 21 in Monmouth
247 reviews
0.1 mi away
#7 Church Street
#7 Church Street
#7 of 21 in Monmouth
198 reviews
0.2 mi away
Queen's Head Monmouth
Queen's Head Monmouth
#9 of 21 in Monmouth
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The King's Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The King's Head

Property: The King's Head
Address: 8 Agincourt Square, Monmouth NP25 3DY, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Monmouthshire > Monmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Monmouth
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your The King's Head reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Head Wetherlodge Hotel Monmouth
The King's Head Monmouth, Wales, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing