We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply stunning!!”
Review of Bryniau Golau

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Llangower
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bryniau Golau
Ranked #1 of 1 Llangower B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 15, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Bryniau Golau for two nights in July. On our arrival we were greeted by Katrina and were instantly made to feel most welcome.Before being shown our room,the Arening,Katrina showed us the dining room and lounge areas.The standard of decor throughout is second to none and yet so homely.Our bedroom was really comfortable and the ensuite palacial.The views from our bedroom,over LLyn Tegid(Bala Lake) westward towards the mountains was simply stunning and this is the case from the lovely garden areas and terraces.Katrina brought us a lovely pot of tea and homemade ginger cake on the shady terrace.Breakfast the next day we met Peter and sampled his homemade marmalade, honey and Katrina's granola, as part of a really first class breakfast.Bryniau Golau is ideally located to explore this beautiful part of Wales or simply chill out with the peace and tranquillity that can be enjoyed in this fabulous Victorian house and beautiful garden.We can not thank Katrina and Peter enough for having made our stay such a memorable one. Diolch yn fawr.(Peter and Brenda Jones,Pontarddulais).

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PBJ0nes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (54)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 54 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2013

Absolutely thrilled to have stayed at Bryniau Golau and enjoyed the wonderful, relaxed but attentive hospitality of Peter and Katrina. The house is beautifully stylish and very comfortable, set in a stunning location enjoying views over Lake Bala. We were blessed with wall-to-wall sunshine and one evening had a delicious meal in the delightful, tranquil garden washed down with a bottle or two of Peter's excellent wine. Each day, set up with a fabulous breakfast, we headed off to discover the local area including Snowdon, Portmeirion and Beddgelert to name a few. On the last day did a long and strenuous walk from Bryniau Golau then caught the Bala Lake train back for another of Peter's delicious meals. We have nothing but praise for this establishment and our hosts and hope to revisit them very soon. A truly memorable stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JayJoe56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We have just returned from our third trip to Bryniau Golau. The amazing location overlooking the lake was enhanced by the snowy hills providing a picture postcard scene. Peter and Katrina are the perfect hosts and yet it feels like a visit to close family. On arrival we were given tea and cakes to eat round the roaring fire.
Peter is more than happy to recommend local places to eat and will happily drive you into Bala town centre.
Breakfasts were excellent and Peter is more than happy to accommodate unusual requests, in fact I think he likes a challenge! All the produce is local and Katrina's home made granola is gorgeous.
We had a meal in on Easter Sunday and chose a Hawaiian dress theme which the hosts took part in and the meal that was prepared was fantastic.
We enjoyed a great afternoon on the snow covered lawn, chilling the wine in the snow whilst having a snowball fight and making a snowman, the first one on the lawn for sometime.
We have already booked our rooms for Easter 2014 and it cannot come soon enough.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mikesimpson121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

This wonderful Bed and Breakfast property sits in an elevated position overlooking Lake Bala. The house is delightful as are the owners, Peter and Katrina who cannot do enough to ensure that their guests have an enjoyable stay. This was my second visit in the last two years with two friends. On arrival, we were offered tea and home-made cake. There are three bedrooms, two double-bedded and one room which can be either a twin or a double. All are beautifully appointed with large modern bathrooms with bath or bath and separate shower. I loved waking up in the morning to a view over the lake. We even had electric blankets on our beds.

Breakfast is wonderful with home-made granola, fresh orange juice and usually either fresh fruit salad or poached fruit, yoghurt etc. all beautifully cooked to order. Peter cooked dinner for us on two of our three nights by special request and he is a top-class cook. The meals were delicious!

There is plenty of scope for walking in the area as the house is situated outside the town and it is a haven for those who love peace and quiet. There is a pleasant sitting-room overlooking the lake but also comfy seating in the bedrooms for those who just want to be alone.

I cannot recommend this property highly enough and I would love to return for a third visit. It's just wonderful!

Room Tip: All the rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lferstendik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

I found this gem of a B&B what a beautiful place and so welcoming.
My family were staying at Llangower in a caravan and had asked me to help with the Grandsons
We had a great time,but as Nannas dont do caravaning this was my little bit of luxuary.
Katrina was the perfect host and the whole house is beautiful.
I had the Berwyn room and felt like a Princess.
Huge four poster bed and wonderful bathroom with spa bath great after a muddy day with two small boys.Breakfasts were amazing and filled me for the day.
The veiws from my room were beautiful and as a very early riser it was fantastic to make a cup of tea and watch the lake as it was getting light.
I would and have recomended Bryniau Golau to every one it is a supurb B&B and I hope to return next year

Room Tip: Berwyn room has the most amazing views,and the bathroom is sumptuous
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Penny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Had a brilliant time here on the August Bank Holiday weekend. My boyfriend and I were kayaking on the Treweryn, and it was amazing to come back to Bryniau Golau after a long day on the river. Lovely room, beautiful views, amazing food!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rach_P_Sheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

This is a really hard review to write when so there was so many positives. The hosts, Katrina and Peter, were welcoming, helpful and friendly; the setting was lovely, the rooms spacious and the breakfast delicious. With a 5* rating, though, comes certain expectations... and no matter how warm the welcome, it's regrettable that our stay was let down by some frustrations which marred an experience which would otherwise have been wonderful.

We booked for 2 nights to celebrate my wife's 30th birthday in July, and did extensive research to find a boutique or luxury bed and breakfast in the area... the sort of place where the owners make you feel like members of their family and what they offer couldn't be further removed from the type of chain hotel you find in the cities. Initially, Bryniau Golau ticked every single box. A wonderful welcome, cake and tea on arrival, magnificent rooms - and even the offer to drive us into town to help us find somewhere for dinner. We were so delighted. Soon, though, some cracks began to show.

First of all, it was really important to us that we found somewhere which had a spa or jacuzzi bath - some pampering for my wife's big birthday, and one of the reasons we did lots of research and ended up choosing Byrniau Golau. Sadly, though, we ran the spa bath, and despite 3 attempts, were confronted with large amounts of dirt (grime, hair, all sorts) being ejected from the pumps and into the bath water. We wondered if we could swap rooms with my father-in-law, and use the spa bath there - after all, the website advertises spa baths in every room - however, that was not possible because his room did not have a spa bath. Furthermore, the website should have made it clear that the bath in that room was a stand-alone bathtub, because we would not have opted for this room had we known it would be hard for an elderly guest to bathe and shower.

The next day, we chose to have dinner at the house, where Katrina had kindly offered us the chance to use their BBQ. She told us she or Peter would be in all day, so we went into Bala in the afternoon to buy some meat, which they said we could keep in their fridge. When we returned, neither of them were there. We knocked and knocked, we rang the bell, and no-one answered. No mobile number was offered to us, so all we could do was call the house phone, and then leave a voicemail message. We didn't want to spend the rest of the day hanging around, whilst we waited for them to return, so we left the fresh meat on the landing, following our message in which we asked them to store it in the fridge for us.

When we returned, all the meat was still there. I asked Peter why he hadn't heard the message and he just said he hadn't picked any messages up that afternoon. Isn't that essential if you're a B&B owner? What if he was losing prospective business? Anyway, when I then suggested the whole BBQ plan was a write-off, he asked what type of meat it was... and said "it'll probably be alright, won't it? After all, they don't refrigerate it in the butcher's when it's on display". Not only was that irrelevant and probably wrong, but it completely missed the point. Raw chicken left out for 5+ hours is asking for trouble, so to avoid getting food poisoning and ruining the rest of the holiday, we had no option but to throw it away and make do with the remaining burgers etc - which was taking a risk in itself.

If this was really a 5* operation, it should have been possible to contact the hosts by mobile if they weren't at home, and then the mix-up over the BBQ meat wouldn't have happened. Similarly, offering a paltry £10 discount at the end of a 2 room/2 night stay did not really compensate for the fact the spa bath was completely unusable, which was more than just a shame, given the jacuzzi was a major reason why we chose the Bryinau Golau for my wife's 30th to start with. Finally, it's really not appropriate to advertise "Luxury en-suite bathrooms all with spa baths" on the website's homepage, neither is it true that "The bathroom has a spa bath with an overhead shower" in the Aran Room, nor is it right to have photos on the website which don't reflect the current decor. The reality is that a 5* hotel, however soulless, would not stand for this, and neither should a B&B purporting to offer the same level of quality.

All these things were such a shame because we came away with a real sense that Bryniau Golau doesn't really offer what it prides itself in offering. If we'd been staying with members of our family, reminiscent of the sort of friendly welcome which Katrina and Peter gave us, it'd be outrageous to criticise... but we weren't staying with family... we were paying customers of a business which advertises itself as 5*. Whilst the setting is wonderful, the house is lovely and the food is delicious, it's just a shame that the whole experience couldn't offer everything we'd been looking forward to. In writing this review, I do hope things will improve and that Bryniau Golau will soon demonstrate all the components of the 5* luxury it seeks to provide.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Nomad099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bryniau Golau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bryniau Golau

Address: Bryniau Goleu Bryniau Golau | Bala, Llangower, Snowdonia National Park, Bala LL23 7BT, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Bala > Llangower
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Llangower
Hotel Class:5 star — Bryniau Golau 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bala Lake, two miles from the historic market town of Bala, has a charm all of its own. It's a peaceful haven in the breathtaking scenery of Snowdonia National Park, but when you add to this the welcome and hospitality of Bryniau Golau you have the ingredients for a truly memorable experience. - Stunning lake views- Tranquil, secluded location- Garden with terraces overlooking Bala Lake- All bedrooms have full lake view- Luxury en-suite bathrooms all with- spa baths- Two rooms with antique four poster beds- Colour TV, tea and coffee facilities- in all rooms- Guest lounge with TV- Log Fires in chilly weather- Walkers and Cyclists welcome - Secure canoe/cycle storage- Convenient for touring Snowdonia, North and Mid-Wales - Special diets catered for- Goose down duvets- Dual-control electric blankets- Weekly rates - Drying facilities- 2 miles from Bala- Fly fishing locally - Guided fishing by arrangement. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bryniau Golau Bala/Llangower, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing