We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“week end escape”
Review of Bryniau Golau

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Llangower
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bryniau Golau
Ranked #1 of 1 Llangower B&B and Inns
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“week end escape”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

I found this gem of a B&B what a beautiful place and so welcoming.
My family were staying at Llangower in a caravan and had asked me to help with the Grandsons
We had a great time,but as Nannas dont do caravaning this was my little bit of luxuary.
Katrina was the perfect host and the whole house is beautiful.
I had the Berwyn room and felt like a Princess.
Huge four poster bed and wonderful bathroom with spa bath great after a muddy day with two small boys.Breakfasts were amazing and filled me for the day.
The veiws from my room were beautiful and as a very early riser it was fantastic to make a cup of tea and watch the lake as it was getting light.
I would and have recomended Bryniau Golau to every one it is a supurb B&B and I hope to return next year

Room Tip: Berwyn room has the most amazing views,and the bathroom is sumptuous
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Penny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
37
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Had a brilliant time here on the August Bank Holiday weekend. My boyfriend and I were kayaking on the Treweryn, and it was amazing to come back to Bryniau Golau after a long day on the river. Lovely room, beautiful views, amazing food!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rach_P_Sheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

This is a really hard review to write when so there was so many positives. The hosts, Katrina and Peter, were welcoming, helpful and friendly; the setting was lovely, the rooms spacious and the breakfast delicious. With a 5* rating, though, comes certain expectations... and no matter how warm the welcome, it's regrettable that our stay was let down by some frustrations which marred an experience which would otherwise have been wonderful.

We booked for 2 nights to celebrate my wife's 30th birthday in July, and did extensive research to find a boutique or luxury bed and breakfast in the area... the sort of place where the owners make you feel like members of their family and what they offer couldn't be further removed from the type of chain hotel you find in the cities. Initially, Bryniau Golau ticked every single box. A wonderful welcome, cake and tea on arrival, magnificent rooms - and even the offer to drive us into town to help us find somewhere for dinner. We were so delighted. Soon, though, some cracks began to show.

First of all, it was really important to us that we found somewhere which had a spa or jacuzzi bath - some pampering for my wife's big birthday, and one of the reasons we did lots of research and ended up choosing Byrniau Golau. Sadly, though, we ran the spa bath, and despite 3 attempts, were confronted with large amounts of dirt (grime, hair, all sorts) being ejected from the pumps and into the bath water. We wondered if we could swap rooms with my father-in-law, and use the spa bath there - after all, the website advertises spa baths in every room - however, that was not possible because his room did not have a spa bath. Furthermore, the website should have made it clear that the bath in that room was a stand-alone bathtub, because we would not have opted for this room had we known it would be hard for an elderly guest to bathe and shower.

The next day, we chose to have dinner at the house, where Katrina had kindly offered us the chance to use their BBQ. She told us she or Peter would be in all day, so we went into Bala in the afternoon to buy some meat, which they said we could keep in their fridge. When we returned, neither of them were there. We knocked and knocked, we rang the bell, and no-one answered. No mobile number was offered to us, so all we could do was call the house phone, and then leave a voicemail message. We didn't want to spend the rest of the day hanging around, whilst we waited for them to return, so we left the fresh meat on the landing, following our message in which we asked them to store it in the fridge for us.

When we returned, all the meat was still there. I asked Peter why he hadn't heard the message and he just said he hadn't picked any messages up that afternoon. Isn't that essential if you're a B&B owner? What if he was losing prospective business? Anyway, when I then suggested the whole BBQ plan was a write-off, he asked what type of meat it was... and said "it'll probably be alright, won't it? After all, they don't refrigerate it in the butcher's when it's on display". Not only was that irrelevant and probably wrong, but it completely missed the point. Raw chicken left out for 5+ hours is asking for trouble, so to avoid getting food poisoning and ruining the rest of the holiday, we had no option but to throw it away and make do with the remaining burgers etc - which was taking a risk in itself.

If this was really a 5* operation, it should have been possible to contact the hosts by mobile if they weren't at home, and then the mix-up over the BBQ meat wouldn't have happened. Similarly, offering a paltry £10 discount at the end of a 2 room/2 night stay did not really compensate for the fact the spa bath was completely unusable, which was more than just a shame, given the jacuzzi was a major reason why we chose the Bryinau Golau for my wife's 30th to start with. Finally, it's really not appropriate to advertise "Luxury en-suite bathrooms all with spa baths" on the website's homepage, neither is it true that "The bathroom has a spa bath with an overhead shower" in the Aran Room, nor is it right to have photos on the website which don't reflect the current decor. The reality is that a 5* hotel, however soulless, would not stand for this, and neither should a B&B purporting to offer the same level of quality.

All these things were such a shame because we came away with a real sense that Bryniau Golau doesn't really offer what it prides itself in offering. If we'd been staying with members of our family, reminiscent of the sort of friendly welcome which Katrina and Peter gave us, it'd be outrageous to criticise... but we weren't staying with family... we were paying customers of a business which advertises itself as 5*. Whilst the setting is wonderful, the house is lovely and the food is delicious, it's just a shame that the whole experience couldn't offer everything we'd been looking forward to. In writing this review, I do hope things will improve and that Bryniau Golau will soon demonstrate all the components of the 5* luxury it seeks to provide.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Nomad099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Usk, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2011

This was our fourth visit to Bryniau Golau in as many years and we have never been disappointed. The house itself is a gem with beautiful gardens and fine views over the lake to the mountains beyond. Katrina and Peter are charming hosts who go out of their way to be helpful. Guests are welcomed with tea/coffee and home-made cake, though there are also tea-making facilities in the rooms. Excellent dinners are available for those who want to eat in (and, frankly, there is not much in Bala itself to tempt you out). You can bring your own wine or choose from the house list. Breakfasts (full Welsh, if you want it) and dinners are communal, which may not suit everyone, but has not (so far) been a problem for us. We choose the Berwyn room which is spacious and commfortable, but guests would be advised to seek Peter's instructions on getting the TV to work!
We have every intention of coming back next year.

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank AnnLynnM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LLanelli
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 17, 2010

My partner and I stayed at this B&B for three nights in August 2010. We were greeted by Katrina who welcomed us into her home, sadly we were unable to meet Peter as he was away. Katrina apologised as he was apparently the main chef, Katrina however does not give herself much credit as the meal she prepared for us on the first night was delicious. Without my knowledge my partner was proposing to me that evening and Katrina was so helpful in making every effort to ensure that my partners plans went without a hitch! It was perfect. We stayed in the Berwyn Room which was luxurious and spacious. The Jacuzzi bath was the icing on the cake, wonderful!
We had free taxi service from the Plas y dre restaurant in the town, The food there was gorgeous and the hospitality was second to none.
We were lucky to have our last day spending it in the glorious grounds of Bryniau Golau, where the sun was shinning while we drank our wine in the garden, the house was ours to spend as we pleased!
Over all an excellent weekend break, where we shall be returning each year for our wedding anniversary, We are getting married August 21st 2011, almost a year to the date that we got engaged! A big thanks to Katrina, she was brilliant! Louise and Mathew x

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MathewLouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney. Australia
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2010

What a fantastic B&B with the best hosts. From the moment that we arrived we knew this would be an experience to remember. Katrina escorted us to our rooms and then had a wonderful afternoon tea awaiting us in the relaxing lounge room. We had also arranged for dinner at Bryniau Golau that evening . Sitting in the dining room with our friends ,we were extremely relaxed in this beautiful setting overlooking the lake. Next we met Peter who had prepared our delicious evening meal.
Our rooms were just so comfortable and the beds divine. The setting here is FANTASTIC.
We stayed 3 nights and explored most that Snowdonia has to offer.
Being quite well travelled , this is one B&B that we would hope to come back to next time we are in the UK.
Thank you Katrina & Peter for sharing your wonderful home with us. We have already recommended Bryniau Golau to family and friends.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Advicetogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2010

My wife and I stayed at Bryniau Golau B&B for three nights at the end of July/beginning of August, whilst on a motorcycle touring holiday of Wales and were really pleased that we did.

Describing it as merely a B&B does not do justice to Bryniau Golau and if you were merely selecting on price would probably pass it by without further ado. If however you are looking for a couple of days in a fantastic setting with five star accommodation hosted by two really great people then you couldn't do much better than here.

Bryniau Golau is on the south of Lake Bala near Llangower but it's only 1.5 miles into Bala which is walkable for a lot of people - and a lot of walkers do stay here. Obviously if you are disabled or unable to use your own transport then this would be a problem. Taxis are reasonably priced however and one Bala restaurant runs a free service if you dine with them.

Back to Bryniau Golau, when we arrived, Katrina and Peter gave us a fantastic welcome with a clotted cream tea which was delivered up to our room, more of which later. Nothing was ever too much trouble for them and they even dropped us into town on our first night. Peter also owns a motorcycle and kindly allowed us to share his garage for the duration of our stay. Car parking is "on road" outside Bryniau Golau but as it's pretty secluded, this shouldn't be a problem.

The "room" we stayed in was actually an amazing suite affording beautiful views over the lake and gardens with a four-poster bed, large en-suite with jacuzi and seperate shower, double sinks/mirrors - I've posted some pics (sorry about the quality). Everything was beautiful but initially we were a little intimidated by the white bedroom carpet as we arrived wet and soggy from a fairly typical Welsh downpour. However, far from being concerned about us walking all over their beautiful house in wet, grubby bike gear, Katrina led us on a short introductory tour through the house and never blinked an eyelid.

The breakfasts were fantastic - all the food was obviously of the highest quality local produce (and plenty of it) - and we were both barely able to get our bike kit back on when it was time to leave.

Bryniau Golau was a great holiday experience and rather than say that it was expensive we'd call it value for money!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bryniau Golau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bryniau Golau

Property: Bryniau Golau
Address: Bryniau Goleu Bryniau Golau | Bala, Llangower, Snowdonia National Park, Bala LL23 7BT, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Bala > Llangower
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Llangower
Hotel Class:5 star — Bryniau Golau 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bala Lake, two miles from the historic market town of Bala, has a charm all of its own. It's a peaceful haven in the breathtaking scenery of Snowdonia National Park, but when you add to this the welcome and hospitality of Bryniau Golau you have the ingredients for a truly memorable experience. - Stunning lake views- Tranquil, secluded location- Garden with terraces overlooking Bala Lake- All bedrooms have full lake view- Luxury en-suite bathrooms all with- spa baths- Two rooms with antique four poster beds- Colour TV, tea and coffee facilities- in all rooms- Guest lounge with TV- Log Fires in chilly weather- Walkers and Cyclists welcome - Secure canoe/cycle storage- Convenient for touring Snowdonia, North and Mid-Wales - Special diets catered for- Goose down duvets- Dual-control electric blankets- Weekly rates - Drying facilities- 2 miles from Bala- Fly fishing locally - Guided fishing by arrangement. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bryniau Golau Bala/Llangower, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing