We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A home from home!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Heulwen Guest House
Ranked #1 of 1 Llanfachreth B&B and Inns
Nuneaton, UK
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A home from home!”
Reviewed April 28, 2014

I returned to Wales to attend a funeral and stayed at Heulwen Guest House in the Lovely Village of Llanfachreth. I arrived late in the evening, and was tired and a little nervous about the next day, but Andy and Lwli were amazing! They made me feel welcome, comfortable and put me at ease!

The attention to detail that this lovely couple have is amazing! Lwli noticed that I didn't eat my crusts of my sandwich that evening, and when I had my breakfast the next morning I ordered 2 Poached Eggs on Toast, to my surprise, when Lwli brought out my breakfast, the crusts were already cut off! I asked her did she always cut the crusts off, and she said "I noticed last night you didn't eat your crusts, so I cut them off"
Now to some, this kind of attention to detail would be ignored, I for one was amazed!

The room was spacious, and the bed was incredibly comfortable, Lwli had even put two hot water bottles in the bed (It was mid December!) which was lovely to climb into a warm bed!

I was blown away by the shared bathroom! It was like one of those you see in a movie! A huge bath in the corner, a massive shower! I wanted this bathroom at home!

The guest living room was lovely (and because it was nearly Christmas, a Lovely Christmas Tree stood in the Corner, and I believe that Lwli spends a good day decorating it, and you could tell!)

The furniture screams quality, as with all of the Guest House!

To wake up to a view as I did from my bedroom window was amazing! Such peace and quiet!

Thanks to Andy and Lwli as well, they gave me wifi details, so I could use my Facebook on my phone as Mobile Phone signals are not easily come by in Llanfachreth.

It was a wonderful stay, and the next time I stay at Heulwen Guest House, I hope I have visited for a different reason!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RobBranaghan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
27
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Salford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic nights sleep, lovely hosts and great location.
We stayed in room 3, the views when we woke in the morning were breathtaking. Close to Dol, we had no idea how stunning this little village is, set amongst lovely forestry and streams, we were blown away by the beauty that lay right on the doorstep of this fantastic guest house.
Fantastic value for money, and a great breakfast, the Watts' are a lovely family and we'll be recommending this B&B to our friends and family.
Lots of activities in easy access, including biking, hiking, rafting, coast walking, zorbing, and a GoApe not far away. Of course if relaxing is more your thing, the property is set in plenty of land and there are a number of quiet sitting areas just outside the patio doors.
Looking forward to returning in the summer!!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank kirstyb83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Looking for a decent place to stay to get the best two days MTB in the local areas I am very glad we came upon this place. Heulwen and Andy are lovely hosts, welcoming and make you feel at home. The bedroom was clean and spacious with a little settee and TV should you want to stay in your room. However we opted for the lounge area which had a lovely fire, comfy sofas and TV - just what you want after a day’s riding!
Being Autumn/Winter we didn’t take advantage of the lovely patio area, but the views were beautiful from all rooms. Breakfast was good with plenty to eat and we left feeling looked after ready for the new days riding ahead.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fizzyplay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenhan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Five of us stayed here recently for 3 nights. Our daughter - who was with us - had been several times before and had highly recommended it. How right she was! It was lovely and the owners were so kind and friendly. We had two Spanish speaking relations with us and they didn't speak any English but our hosts were most helpful and even managed some greetings in Spanish. We are in the bed-and-breakfast business ourselves so we are not uncritical but we couldn't fault Heulwen and would love to return.

Room Tip: All the rooms were very spacious and spotless.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeorgianChelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bermuda
Level Contributor
89 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Spent two nights at this delightful B & B outside of Dolgellau. The previous TripAdvisor postings did not disappoint. Hosts were lovely, two rooms we had were large, well
appointed and breakfast was terrific. Would recommend to anyone wanting to spend
time in area. Easy access to bunch of great walks ( esp liked the Precipice Walk).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TouringOnion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mansfield.UK
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

we stayed 2 nights and wish we could have stayed longer. every thing was superb, we have recommend it to numerous friends and we are sure they will enjoy it as much as we did.the views from any of the rooms are stupendous, and to be able to sit outside your own bedroom on the patio, you would paid an awful lot of money in any other place other than Heulwen. thanks heulwen and andy keep up the good work.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lorrainemanfield_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

As a mountain biker I'd travelled to the area on numerous occasions and have stayed at Heulwen on more than few occasions. So when my wife wanted to go away for a weekend I felt very confident in the choice...... (obviously the fact that it is so near to the premier MTB trail centre in the UK was merely coincidental!).
Suffice to say she was over the moon with the experience, and I am now looking for a suitable bike for her to be able to progress. I owe this in large part to the warmth and kindness of Andy and Heulwen over the weekend that served in large part to veil my thinly disguised scheming.
The upshot being wifey can't wait to go back, and my view that this is without doubt one of the best B & B's I've stayed in anywhere was confirmed once more in spades.
If you are going to the area stay here. You will not regret it.

Room Tip: Book early, being as good as it is demand is high.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanfachreth
1.9 mi away
Plas Dolmelynllyn Hall Hotel
16.7 mi away
Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa
Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Llanwddyn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,438 reviews
2.3 mi away
Pandy Isaf Country House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Dolgun Uchaf  B & B
Dolgun Uchaf B & B
#12 of 33 in Dolgellau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
2.8 mi away
Dwy Olwyn Bed & Breakfast
Dwy Olwyn Bed & Breakfast
#23 of 33 in Dolgellau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
3.4 mi away
Plas Gwyn B&B & Cottage
Plas Gwyn B&B & Cottage
#3 of 33 in Dolgellau
5.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heulwen Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heulwen Guest House

Property: Heulwen Guest House
Address: Llanfachreth | DOLGELLAU, Llanfachreth, Snowdonia National Park, Dolgellau LL40 2EB, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Dolgellau > Llanfachreth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Llanfachreth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Heulwen Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heulwen Guest House lies on the outskirts of Llanfachreth, a tiny village close to the centre of the Snowdonia National Park 31/2 miles from the old market town of Dolgellau. It is owned and run by Heulwen and Andy Watts, who established the business in 1985.The spacious south-facing bungalow is set in its own landscaped garden with magnificent views of the mountains and forests. This tranquil setting offers you the choice of forest walks, hill climbing, fishing, mountain biking or just touring the area by car. All Guest rooms have TV-DVD, clock radio alarms and beverage facilities.An ideal centre for exploring the beautiful Snowdonia National Park ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Heulwen Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing