We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great Hosts, Great Location,” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Heulwen Guest House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Heulwen Guest House
Ranked #1 of 1 Llanfachreth B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Hosts, Great Location,”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

I thought I had written a review as I stayed here in June when a friend and I were running in the Trail Marathon Wales. The location is wonderful in a tiny little village and we were welcomed by Heulwen and Andy with a warm smile and a pot of tea.

Great hosts, very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The breakfasts were a feast in themselves and the view from the room wonderful.

Coed Y Brenin is nearby so handy for MTB'ers walkers or anyone going to visit Go Ape. Barmouth with its sandy beaches is only 20 minutes away so you really are in a great location.

Will be staying there in 2013 providing it's not already booked up!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gareth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
25
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Stamford
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

Heulwen and Andy are truly the most wonderful hosts making us feel warmly welcomed, nothing was too much trouble. Luxurious house, stunning views, fresh, home-cooked and delicious food what more could anyone ask for? This is our third visit, bringing with us this time, our daughter, son in law and two young grand children.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wallacerowena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

What a find ! More than home from home coupled with a wonderful freshly cooked breakfast (the sausages were divine !). Highly recommend to the weary traveller in need of a good rest in beautiful and quiet surroundings, close to a town and walking and other facilities. Evening meals are available by arrangement too.

Room Tip: We had the 'deluxe' - ground floor level, so easy access for disabled clients. But all roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichaelD947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

Dollgellau Tourist Information sent us here when our pre-booked B & B let us down (had gone away)!. Heulwen was heavenly - we really felt we had fallen on our feet. the view was fantastic from the garden and we then found we had the same view from our room which had double doors out onto the lovely garden. It was very peaceful with views of Cadir Idris in the distance and the sound of the stream in the field below the house. Everything was absolutely spotless and the breakfast was great. Heulwen is also the name of the hostess and she was a ray of sunshine. We would definitely stay there again and hopefully for longer next time.

Room Tip: If not pre-booked anywhere visit the nearest Tourist Information Office. They have vetted, inspected...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

We have just returned from a 2 night stay here and Heulwen & Andy could not have made us feel more welcome. Friendly and attentive without being too intrusive, all our needs where catered for. A very charming b&b in an idylic setting in the hillside. Our room was ensuite and large enough for a small 2 seater sofa in front of the tv, very comfortable bed and the sheets smelt divine. Our veggie breakfast was scrummy and plenty of it.
we stayed due to its location for the trail race in coed y brenin which in itself was well worth a visit and only 5mins in the car.
Thankyou for making our stay relaxed and welcoming. Tricia & Paul

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tricialpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2012

This was our second stay at Heulwens, the first was at the end of March 2012 and to come back to a lovely log burner and hot drink waiting was superb. Our return was in May and after all the rain we had the weather finally broke for us, it was glorious. We chose this place as our base to walk Rhobell Fawr, the accommodation is excellent very clean and comfortable with that homely feeling. Andy and Heulwen are superb hosts, nothing is too much trouble even to making us packed lunches for the hill walk, which were lovely, the rooms are clean and the beds very comfortable. Breakfast is anything you want really, a selection of cereals, toast, to a full fry up. After our walk we sat out on the balcony to superb views over the valley and hills drinking tea and talking about the days walk.
The Sun was beating down and it was just perfect. There is a hose down area to wash your kit and the mountain bikers who stay regularly make full use of cleaning their bikes. Heulwen will let you store them in the garage to save loading and unloading them each day.
We opted for our evening meal at the accommodation rather than venture into Dolgellau.
Again this was a three course meal with coffee and mints which at £17 per head was much cheaper and probably nicer than in town. All home cooked and trust me you will leave the table very full!
The lounge area has two sets of sofas with board games and a flat screen TV. Its hard to explain but you feel so relaxed and comfortable it really is home from home, the area is picturesque and generally the other residents are outdoor types mountain bikers walkers and climbers on our stay and always decent people who know how to behave.
Will I return …….most defiantly, Andy and Heulwen have so much return business you have to book in advance of when you want, I’ve seen all the rooms there and all are of a high standard. But rooms 3 and 4 have patio doors which open to the garden area and are ideal for sorting your kit out.
Great hosts, super food can’t say anymore than book it now…!


Ric and Dean plus the girls!

Room Tip: Ask for rooms at the end of hall as they have patio doors to outside garden area with superb views a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ric F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2012

Just returned from a short stay here. What a lovely guest house! Much nicer than we expected. Very cosy, peaceful and clean. Heulwen was lovely, very friendly and welcoming! We'd all love to stay here again. The beds were so comfortable and we were provided with everything we needed like tea and coffee making facilities, clean fluffy towels and hot water bottles to warm the bed :)

The living room with the open fire was lovely, we kept it going with the wood and coal through the night while we watched tv. In the morning heulwen made the 4 of us a delicious cooked breakfast too. Could not fault it here!

I'd definitely recommend staying here and definitely stay again! It's only a 5 minute drive from dollgelau too.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen_1505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanfachreth
1.9 mi away
Plas Dolmelynllyn Hall Hotel
4.2 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
2.3 mi away
Pandy Isaf Country House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Plas Gwyn B&B & Cottage
Plas Gwyn B&B & Cottage
#3 of 34 in Dolgellau
5.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
1.9 mi away
Afon Rhaiadr Bed and Breakfast
3.3 mi away
Tan y Gader
Tan y Gader
#2 of 34 in Dolgellau
5.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heulwen Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heulwen Guest House

Property: Heulwen Guest House
Address: Llanfachreth | DOLGELLAU, Llanfachreth, Snowdonia National Park, Dolgellau LL40 2EB, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Dolgellau > Llanfachreth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Llanfachreth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Heulwen Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heulwen Guest House lies on the outskirts of Llanfachreth, a tiny village close to the centre of the Snowdonia National Park 31/2 miles from the old market town of Dolgellau. It is owned and run by Heulwen and Andy Watts, who established the business in 1985.The spacious south-facing bungalow is set in its own landscaped garden with magnificent views of the mountains and forests. This tranquil setting offers you the choice of forest walks, hill climbing, fishing, mountain biking or just touring the area by car. All Guest rooms have TV-DVD, clock radio alarms and beverage facilities.An ideal centre for exploring the beautiful Snowdonia National Park ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Heulwen Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing