We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nantcol waterfalls camping site”
Review of Nantcol Waterfalls

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Llanbedr
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Nantcol Waterfalls
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nantcol waterfalls camping site”
Reviewed June 25, 2012

A fantastic well kept camp site. Clean toilets, wash room, showers and washing up point. camp fires are allowed and dogs are welcome. The customer service is outstanding. The owner of this camp site is an absolute gem and I will be back! being on this camp site is being close to nature with a beautiful waterfall near by and a stream flowing through the camp site. A****

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    35
    7
    5
    1
See reviews for
79
41
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lechlade, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2012

As a group of 7 adults and 1 child arriving on different days and leaving on different days, we thoroughly managed to confuse the campsite but we got there in the end (after a quick tent move) and had an absolutely wonderful time here.

We were not in the field next to the river as we had asked for electric hook up for our fridge (we glamp it!) but this was fine as our field was a little quieter than the other one - we were also closer to the toilet and shower block.

We spent our days exploring nearby and our evenings cooking barbecues and making log fires in front of our (very large) pitch.

The river was a brilliant place for splashing around (me and toddler), fishing (the men folk) and sitting near and relaxing (the women folk).

The showers and toilets were very clean and although the campsite was fairly full, there was never really a queue for anything.

This is an excellent site for families or groups who want to be able to sit in front of a camp fire and spend some time relaxing.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2012

I've been coming here for 10 years - lots of change, but the heart of the place and friendly feel has always been there. All facilities are Excellent!

Beautiful surroundings. Book well in advance to get a pitch!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James_81_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at Nantcol waterfalls over May bank holiday and this was my first camping trip so was quite reserved about going. The facilities at this site were really good with a large toilet block, separate washroom so you don't have to clean your teeth near the toilets and nice clean, new showers. My only slight negative I could mention is that only 3 showers for women and 2 for me is not enough, having to queue every day. Perhaps it was just bad timing but I think a few extra showers would be good. There is a handy shop o. Site selling logs, ice cream, eggs, marshmallows etc and was always staffed by nice friendly people. It was a very relxed site letting you have fires directly on the field right next to your pitch. There is a beautiful waterfall and stream running along the side of the site which is very handy for keeping dogs and children alike very entertained. The nearest pub is about 3 miles away which seemed like a lot but took just under an hour to walk to and was a very picturesque walk. The pub was well worth a visit with a great menu. All in all a very relaxing weekend and has left me wanting to go camping again even after all my reservations.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank KimAndrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2012

The car park appears to belong to a campsite however only a couple of touring caravans and no members of staff working, just a sign asking you to leave £3 for parking in a box if no one is around. This was a little bit tricky to find as one of the little bridges you go over was only marked for vehicles to turn out of so we did not think we could cross it, but this appears to be the only way to it so we did and then was pretty straight forward from there. There is a board with a map showing different walking routes, these are easy to follow as on your walk you come across marker posts with the colour walk you picked. Ours was light blue, we went right up the side of the waterfalls then across some fields with sheep with lovely views and then down through a forest. We did this with our 3 year old daughter who did really very well in walking all the way, this does include a bit of climbing and uneven grounds also a bit muddy so you will need wellies on. Lots of photo oppertunities on the route and we were the only ones there at the time so was really lovely and peacefull (in fact I enjoyed this most out of all the other attractions we did whilst visiting North Wales). If your passing then this is worth a visit, cheap day out and plenty of places to stop and eat a picnic.

Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank bubbstervj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2012

We recently returned from one of our favourite sites and we thought that we should share our review, so here goes.

The Campsite
Is set in a valley amongst the hills and next to a beautiful waterfall. There are excellent picnic areas with seating and tables around the river. Which ever way you walk out of the grounds you are met with an adventure and there are winding paths through the woods next to the waterfalls. The campsite itself never feels over crowded even when fully booked. You can always find a secluded area for yourself or group. You can have open fires in your camp and the site sells logs daily or you can take your own.
Facilities
There is a brand new shower and wash room block which is very nice, always clean and there are plenty of toilettes including disabled facilities. You do need to purchase tokens for the showers at 50p each for aprox 5 mins, well worth it as they are modern and hot. There is also a washing up area with running hot and cold water.
The site also has a reception where you can purchase the shower tokens, ice cream, milk and eggs etc. The owners are very polite and welcoming.
Overall we feel that this is a great site and accomodates for all and within a short drive of beautiful beaches and sites of local interest

Room Tip: Make sure you have a good pair of boots as some walkes are uneven and there are lots of hills Keep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank darrylpaula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2011

I found this to be a very noisy site but mostly the noise is from children laughing, screaming and shouting with delight so if you have kids it's probably ideal but if not I'd suggest visiting outside school holidays. As we didn't have kids with us I felt this was really not the site for us.

I prefer my holidays to be be peaceful and this certainly wasn't! This was exasperated by the fact that the there was a group of 3 families next to us, including 8 children and yet there is a notice at the entrance saying that they don't accept group bookings! I can only assume that they mean they don't accept groups of single people and yet these families were probably noisier than single people with the adults sitting outside until late at night.

The surroundings are beautiful with lovely walks straight from the site but again the area by the river is noisy. The site allows campfires and this adds a nice touch. Reception sells a nice selection of ice cream!

The owner admits that the current facilities are inadequate and there is a notice showing the plans for a new facilities block but if they know there aren't enough facilities why take so many bookings? I find this to be very greedy.

Currently there are only 2 washbasins in the ladies toilet block and frequently I found there was nowhere to wash my hands because these basins were being used by those cleaning their teeth. I also found it tedious to have to queue for a washing up sink and 1 morning I queued 40 mins for a shower. However, they do state the new facilities will be available in 2012.

I probably won't return!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tibbytnt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanbedr
6.2 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
1,419 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ty Mawr Hotel
Ty Mawr Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanbedr
139 reviews
21.2 mi away
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Dinas Caravan Park, Camping & Glamping
20.7 mi away
Bwch-yn-Uchaf
Bwch-yn-Uchaf
#3 of 15 in Bala
54 reviews
20.4 mi away
Plas Curig Hostel
Plas Curig Hostel
#1 of 1 in Capel Curig
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nantcol Waterfalls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nantcol Waterfalls

Property: Nantcol Waterfalls
Address: Cefn Uchaf, Llanbedr, Snowdonia National Park LL45 2PL, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Llanbedr
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Llanbedr
Number of rooms: 62
Also Known As:
Nantcol Waterfalls Hotel Llanbedr
Nantcol Waterfalls Llanbedr, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing