We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice location, good service, decent lunch (and breakfast)” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Victoria Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Victoria Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Llanbedr B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
168 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Nice location, good service, decent lunch (and breakfast)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

We visited the Victoria Inn twice, once for lunch, and once for breakfast. On both occasions the staff were very friendly and the service was good.

We had a decent lunch, good pub food in a nice atmosphere. The Victoria Inn also serves a good breakfast between 8.30 to 11.30 - so not too early!

One of the attractions was the advertisement that the pub used its own produce from its gardens - didn't see evidence of this on the menu, so perhaps more could be made of this. But overall nothing negative to say about the Victoria Inn, recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travellingfrogs2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    60
    27
    16
    6
See reviews for
53
68
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wetherby
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

We tried the Victoria Inn whilst staying at a cottage in the village for a week, the pub was not too busy the first night that we tried it in the early evening, a bit disappointed with a limited menu but found enough on it to satisfy us. The food was ok but not as good as the price charged. Decided to give it another try the next night but felt the same and so we didn't return, shame really as it was so handy and had good atmosphere.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tonlyone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
235 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

Been her many times. Much better out of season, as in holidays very busy. Latest meal, lunch, as expected. Good pub food, prompt and friendly service. Good value. Nice mix of bars and good gardens on bank of river. Tend to come her for lunch whenever in area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vickers55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thailand
Level Contributor
91 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stayed 4 nights over 2013 August Bank Holiday weekend - rooms, breakfast and food as nice as ever but WiFi connection needs urgent attention. It was EXTREMELY busy for meals and staff coped well with some awkward customers (and their undisciplined brats of chidren) who seemed to expect a 5-star experience in a place that by its very nature can never provide that - all I can say in response to some of the negative reviews (and this after staying there many times) is that I have always had very good food and drink served by nice friendly staff. There is a delightful outside garden area. I thoroughly look forward to my next stay there.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Justinthai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

I have huge fond childhood memories from this place. It was great to see my children enjoy the garden like I did all those years ago too.
We actually ate here twice during our holiday. It was very busy and the staff, rightly so, seemed a little stressed each time. Basically it felt like there were too many washing glasses rather than serving.
Steaks, beef pie; great. Welsh quiche; Gorgeous! Burgers were on the dry side.
Value for money. Watch out for queue podgers at the bar though!!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank ShirazGirl69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

Positives - the beer garden is lovely and caters for everyone - large covered terrace / play area for kids / raised waterside area alongside the river. Beer was good and seemed well kept

Negative - The food frankly was appalling. I am unsure of how any pub these days can get away with serving such dross. Do the proprietors not eat out anywhere else ? Do they not do any research about what may pass as acceptable pub food. Prices are mid range (10gbp ++) for main but the food resembles something you'd get at a chain for a fiver & a pint thrown in.

Landlord - if you read this please take some time out to go & research your business, stop offering condiments in "own brand" sachets, employ someone who can cook & not just operate a microwave and a deep fat fryer.

Room Tip: Good for a pint sat by the river & somewhere for the kids to play - give the food a miss
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bookertmgs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemma B, Owner at The Victoria Inn, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you for your review and I can only apologise for your bad experience with us, had you come to me in person I would of resolved your problem on the day.
Answer to your question YES we do eat out when we're not working 70 hours a week and I am fully aware of what the city restaurants are offering but we are not a gourmet restaurant but a village pub that serves bar meals. We can serve up to 400 meals a day in the summer so yes we serve fast food and homemade food that is easy to dish out. Our menu is very clear it states which dishes are homemade and our prices are reasonable. We use the best butchers in the area and unlike other pubs we grow our own vegetables and salad.
The Victoria has been our family business for over 20 years and we are still very busy, my guess is that we are doing something right!
Hopefully if you decide to return we'll have a new menu that will satisfy your needs
Kind regards
Gemma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melton Mowbray
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

We booked a table for dinner while we were staying nearby in August this year. We had passed the pub earlier in the week and seeing that they had a very large vegetable patch, thought the food would be really good. How wrong we were! We specifically booked to eat in the dining room, thinking (wrongly) that this would mean a more extensive menu and also table service. The menu was exactly the same and you still had to go and order at the (very busy) bar. I completely accept that we had chosen the busiest time to eat, but why tell us there was a half hour wait for food when it was in fact three quarters of an hour? It eventually arrived at the table with a muttered "sorry" and it was just about OK. We couldn't face repeating the process for dessert, so we didn't bother. It was such a shame really as the pub had a beautiful garden and covered seating area, ideal for families and being so close to the coast, I imagine lots of people get caught the same way we did. If the pub owners/manager reads this, I recommend you make sure someone is clearly in charge, managing the bar and restaurant and also take about £2 of each dish on the menu - you'll be amazed at how the reviews improve.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 28LadyC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanbedr
0.1 mi away
Ty Mawr Hotel
Ty Mawr Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanbedr
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
6.3 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,376 reviews
2.5 mi away
Y Branwen Hotel
Y Branwen Hotel
#1 of 1 in Harlech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.4 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
7.6 mi away
Royal Sportsman Hotel
Royal Sportsman Hotel
#2 of 2 in Porthmadog
4.0 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
6.4 mi away
Ty'r Graig Castle
Ty'r Graig Castle
#1 of 4 in Barmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Victoria Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Victoria Inn

Property: The Victoria Inn
Address: Llanbedr, Llanbedr, Snowdonia National Park LL45 2LD, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Llanbedr
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Llanbedr
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Victoria Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Victoria Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Llanbedr
The Victoria Inn Llanbedr, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing