We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ty Mawr”
Review of Ty Mawr Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ty Mawr Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Llanbedr
Waalre, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Ty Mawr”
Reviewed August 16, 2012

During our little trip to Snowdonia we had lots of rain, so we spent quite some time in our hotel, Ty Mawr. I can not say that I really like Ty Mawr, but I certainly don't hate it. The garden with the picknicktables is lovely, but because of the bad weather there wasn't much opportunity to sit there. Our room was the only room in the hotel with internet-connection, and you only had a connection if you sat in the bathroomwindow. The hosts were very friendly and the room was ok, but not really clean (especially underneath the beds). It was nice to have a good tv and facility to boil water and make tea.
The evening meal was very nice, the breakfast was ok, but not very special.

Room Tip: Our room was the only one with internet connection. I forgot the room-number but it is the first roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TieskeSch S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    42
    17
    6
    9
See reviews for
45
53
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Bar staff were knowledgeable about their ales and ciders and had a good variety of drinks as they were CAMRA Member and sold CAMRA ales and ciders.

Friendly Atmosphere, welcomed dogs in the bar and was clean. Staff were well presented and helpful.

Good location close to Shell Island and Waterfalls. Big outdoor garden, clean benches with parasols. Specify pints or you get half pints.

Reasonable prices for food and drink, option to eat in the bar or resteraunt

No mobile signal which was slightly annoying but not their fault.

The waitress who served us looked scruffy and untidy, should have uniform or something smart.

Treacle tart was cold with hot custard which was a bit odd, ruined the meal. However all other deserts were perfect.

There was some music, empty without it but annoying genre of music.

Cost: 4.5/5
Food quality: 4.5/5
Service: 4/5
Atmosphere: 4/5

Overall: 4/5

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JellyBunny_x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lichfield
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

We regularly stay in this area but had never before been to Ty Mawr. On arrival the bar area was busy mainly it appeared with local guys who were not very accomodating to us as new arrivals in 'their zone'.

However we looked at the menu and it appeared to offer a good selection of home made food. We ordered our drinks and food and took a seat. While we waited we were able to take in more of the surrounding bar area which was generally scruffy and indeed dirty in places not least in the table top rebates. Our food arrived quickly, we had both ordered the home made steak and ale casserole with new potatoes and vegetables. I can only describe the casserole as a bowl of thin brown liquid with not more than 5 chunks of beef floating in it, the vegetables had clearly been prepared well in advance and then re-heated in a microwave and were dry and tasteless. During the course of our visit we were never asked if we were happy with our meal and the overall service was poor.

I can honestly describe this as the worst bar meal we have experienced in over 30 years of our married life! At the start of this review I said this was our first time at Ty Mawr, I can now assure you it will also be our last!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 30tcman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
184 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We regularly stay at nearby Shell Island and have found ourselves in here for a pint on more than one occasion. The owners are very friendly and accommodating.
More recently we decided to have a pub lunch and it far exceeded expectations, the food was to a high quality, freshly prepared with fresh vegetables. I would highly recommend the fish pie.

Perfect if you're camping and get sick of the barbecue!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

we came across this place by acccident - I must admit it wasn't our first choice, but we will go again. We wanted to eat out but everywhere was busy so a friend we were out with suggested this place up the lane. I could easily have eaten any thing on the menu as every meal sounded appertising. The food was well presented , tasy and freshly made - we plan to go again very soon - the staff were friendly, the bar was not too crowded and the background miusic welcoming .

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jackie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Level Contributor
71 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

We had pre-booked a group of 10 fiends for lunch with the proprietor via email weeks in advance. I had annoyingly emailed changing the numbers many times, but Jane the owner was quite happy to amend every time I did so. Llanbedr is a charming little village, and Ty Mawr is conveniently located down a little lane. Beautiful location. We were greeted by the charming brother and sister owners and seated in the restaurant as our party was too large for the bar area, due to it being so full. There was a great buzz in the bar area. We were glad to be sat separately, as it was good for our cozy group!

All the meals were home made and tasted really good. Prices were very fair for the standard of food. Service was attentive. We thoroughly enjoyed our venue and all meals.

Would love to return again and spend more time in the gardens on a summer's day. Unfortunately the weather on our visit did not allow us to make the most of the hotel, although it was June!

Would highly recommend the Ty Mawr, Llanbedr.

Room Tip: Did not stay at the hotel. Lunch only.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nmj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bath
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2012

friendly, fuss free welcome which was great after a 7 hour journey. stayed in room 3 which was really comfy and quiet. could have done with a blind and a fan as quite warm so slept with windows open but then the birds woke us in the early hours.
breakfast was really good and lots of choice but only served until 9.30am. had a meal in the garden on one evening which was really tasty and good value for money.
all staff and dogs really friendly and helpful!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Birdymoo84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanbedr
22.2 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.0 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
20.4 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
6.3 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Bryn Eglwys Country House Hotel
22.2 mi away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
6.4 mi away
Ty'r Graig Castle
Ty'r Graig Castle
#1 of 4 in Barmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ty Mawr Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ty Mawr Hotel

Property: Ty Mawr Hotel
Address: Llanbedr, Snowdonia National Park LL45 2NH, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Llanbedr
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Llanbedr
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Ty Mawr Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ty Mawr Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ty Mawr Hotel Llanbedr, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing