We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Griffin Inn
Nearby Hotels
Ty Mawr Hotel(Llanbedr)
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$102
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Min-y-mor Hotel(Barmouth)
$109
$106
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Moelwyn(Criccieth)
$107
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Caerwylan Hotel(Criccieth)
$151
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Y Branwen(Harlech)
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Penmaenuchaf Hall(Penmaenpool)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
SeaBanks B&B(Criccieth)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Reviews (38)
Filter reviews
38 results
Traveler rating
23
9
1
1
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
23
9
1
1
4
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 38 reviews
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Under new management and well worth visiting this popular local and village inn. The food is excellent and you'll receive a warm welcome and pleasing level of personal service. Parking is easy, plenty of room and you're only five minutes from the centre of medieval Ruthin.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Manc-Holidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

My wife and I were on our way to the welsh coast for a day out when came upon The Griffin. We were taken by its quirky old looks and decided to pop in for a cold drink.
Well I love old pubs and the Griffin was just great. We sat outside in the sunny beer garden taking in the beautiful surroundings when I decided that we should stay the night (if they had rooms left). I'm not the most impulsive person but we just loved the place. I had a chat with the very friendly landlord and he said that he could sort a room out for us by 3pm. Fantastic! Of we went for a walk around Ruthin. On arrival at the hotel the room was ready and waiting for us. The room itself was very nice. Very large (family room) and extremely clean. The bed was very comfy. We were told that food was served until 8pm (it was a Sunday). The food was great. Real good pub fair. Decent portions and the chips (hand cut) were fantastic. Service was very good too.
Overall we really enjoyed our stay. Our only regret was that we forgot to ask about room availability over New Year's Eve.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shrew4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We had a wonderful meal at the Griffin on Saturday 29th June 2013. The staff were excellent and made us feel very welcome, the food was done to perfection, and although other reviews on here said about the decor being old fashioned, we actually felt this added to the ambience of the Pub, the atmosphere was electric and buzzing but also very relaxing, a truly wonderful evening. We will be most certainly returning in the near future.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Joan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We called on Thur 13th June for lunch,at 12 the car park was full a good sign the ale was very good the service good and a nice lunch well worth a visit when in the area it offers Bed and Breakfast excellent for walkers near offa's dyke New landlord 2 mths.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

extremely warm Welcome by the landlord Hugh his wife ffion and there beautiful baby Nena, nothing was to much trouble, rooms excellent and very clean, food excellent and plenty of it, excellent for walkers especially those walking the Offa's Dyke path. Landlord was happy to pick up and drop off from Celtic Gate Restaurant (closed and up for sale) or the parking area at Bwlch Penbana. It was one of very few on our twelve day walk of the Dyke that left a lasting impression and we are planning a day out in that area soon and will defiantly plan to call in for lunch. I have no hesitation in advising anyone to stay here if looking for accomadation in the area. Stewart & Sandra Huxley, Llynclys

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stewart H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews