We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to eat let alone the adventure!”

Coed y Brenin Visitor Centre
Ranked #2 of 2 things to do in Ganllwyd
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Stop here before entering the Forestry Commission park just south of Snowdonia National Park.
Wales
Level Contributor
68 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Great place to eat let alone the adventure!”
Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

We visited here just to stop for something to eat, 2nd time now and its been excellent.

Cafe area and toilets - all very clean and tidy. Staff were helpful as well.

I did pay for the parking even though we were only having food and were not that long - places like this need every penny to maintain, its home of the UK's largest mountain biking trails.

There's plenty to do with the kids even if you don't have a bicycle - although we hope our next visit will include trying out the "Ape" experience which was closed due recent storm damage.

I plan on bringing the bike here without the kids - looks like there's plenty of trails to get stuck into, with the option to shower in the cafe area after.

Good setup, a hidden gem in the middle of a fforest.

Try the Venison Burger.

Helpful?
Thank Wheresmychips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    10
    5
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Harlech, Wales
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Terrible”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Visited on bank holiday Easter Sunday. never been before. Car park price is reasonable at £5.00 a day but only had two options either pay a full £5.00 or £1.00 for and hour. Wasn't too busy. we didn't go with bikes just a walk and a picnic. We are far from snobbish but the toilet's ( only 2 available- mixed male and female) where disgusting! Pee all over the floor. Not suitable for young children! with every car park full at £5.00 you would expect to have more facilities

After going for a nice walk we when to the visitor centre to have a look in the shop with the children to get a small gift only to find it closed at 3pm.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank cjbra1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great fun”
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Fun for all here, the mountain biking is really great, some tough hills and some very fun descents, this is trail biking at it's best. Some people don't like trail riding, that's their choice, I love it simply because it's always great fun riding with friends and meeting people en-route, it's not just about the trails (which in my opinion are great anyway). I love visiting this place and try to go at least twice a year!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MattC455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brecon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely place... Great Pasty!!!”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Had some lovely walks in the forest. Nice selection of healthy food and 'treats' in the cafe. Particularly lovely Mushroom & Cranberry Pasty (fab choice for a veggie who only ever gets cheese & onion!!) Don't take them off the menu as I'll have another next time we visit

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Brecon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport,Gwent,UK.
Level Contributor
117 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“A hiker or a biker's paradise.”
Reviewed December 17, 2013

Try and pick good weather,it's a lot more fun.Teenagers on bikes will be in their element,and if you have any problems with the bikes,--the "bike-shop" will sort it out.Very popular in the summer.
The walking trails are clearly marked,but you do need good footwear,and pack waterproofs.Out
in the forest,there's no shelter,so go prepared.The cafe supplied good food,some would consider
it pricey,--but you are in the back of beyond.Tidy and clean,with good service.I will be going there
again,as there is a lot I haven't seen.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coed y Brenin Visitor Centre also viewed

Dolgellau, Snowdonia National Park
 
Dolgellau, Snowdonia National Park
Dolgellau, Snowdonia National Park
 

Been to Coed y Brenin Visitor Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing