We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a real find - great rooms, food, walks, garden. Unmissable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Plas Dolmelynllyn Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ganllwyd
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 26, 2013

just returned from a one night stay - gorgeous room, old oak beams, super comfy beds, crisp linen, spa bath. We had our evening meal at the hotel - great steak, homemade burgers, local lamb - even tried welsh gin for my g&t. The staff really could not do enough; breakfast in the morning was also a hearty affair - We went with our two boys who loved playing the games in the conservatory, roaming round the gardens, walking through the woods - as my youngest said "do we have to go home?" - sadly we did but I can't recommend this place enough.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thesuchys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (136)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 136 reviews

Reviewed April 29, 2013

Much better than the website shows. Fantastic setting with lovely walks in and around the garden. A truely wonderful hotch potch of architecture spanning many centuries of alteration and evolution. Great stop off for a driving / cycling trip too.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarcanndKate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

We were staying in a nearby cottage and did not want to spoil our relaxing short break with cooking. We were looking for a place with good food, period features and a friendly atmosphere. We didnt have to look far. This place was at the end of a short woodland walk. The food was varied and tasty, the owner and staff were all very good company. We will go back next time we are in that area.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank barbara f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

We have just returned from a fantastic long weekend away, staying in the most unique hotel we know. This is our second visit to Dolly Hall and can say categorically it is as good, if not better than the first time. The room, meals, views and grounds are stunning, however the largest jewels in the Hall's crown are the people. Alan, Martin, Mark and Anghared just cannot do enough to help and make you feel for a short while like you are part of the Dolly Family!
If you are looking for somewhere very special, this is simply the place.
Paul & Meg

Room Tip: Call the Hall directly so Alan can pick the best one for your stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

We were staying one night while we cleared our nearby holiday home ready for the builders. Normally we leave our 3 dogs in the car but it was minus 7 outside and getting colder. Alan was absolutely unperturbed when we asked if it might be possible to bring in 3 retrievers " wouldn't have it any other way - far too cold outside". Not many country house hotels are this accommodating. We spent a fair time on hands and knees picking up hairs so I hope we left the room ok but many thanks anyway. BTW the rest of our stay was very pleasant too!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank win12chester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Just returned from three nights at Dolmelynllyn, staying in the newly re-decorated 'Arran' room. We had a really great time, very well looked after by Alan, Martin, Anghared and Mark. Very happy with all aspects of our stay - accommodation, food, warmth of welcome, general hotel, gardens and grounds etc. Great value for money. The location is superb - a lovely Victorian building in what is one of the most beautiful places in the world. I've been visiting this area for more than 40 years but this is the first time staying in this hotel. It won't be the last. Thanks everyone for making our precious few days away so enjoyable.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DianaGolding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Stayed one night on business. Fantastic old building with plenty of character. Really "open house" feel to it.
Warm welcome on arrival and decided to put my boots on and explore a little bit of Snowdonia. Lovely short walk to waterfalls from the hotel car park. Unfortunately got caught in a storm and got soaked to the skin. No problem though as my wet things were taken and placed in the drying room overnight.
Dinner was very good as was breakfast but my overwhelming feel was that this was a truly unusual, fascinating place that I would certainly stay at again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeH81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ganllwyd
11.7 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 2 in Portmeirion
1,526 reviews
3.8 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
343 reviews
8.6 mi away
Ty'r Graig Castle
Ty'r Graig Castle
#1 of 4 in Barmouth
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Min-y-mor Hotel
Min-y-mor Hotel
#2 of 4 in Barmouth
339 reviews
16.4 mi away
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
#2 of 6 in Criccieth
303 reviews
20.1 mi away
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plas Dolmelynllyn Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plas Dolmelynllyn Hall Hotel

Address: Coed-Y-Brenin, Ganllwyd LL40 2HP, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Ganllwyd
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ganllwyd
Price Range: $116 - $207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Plas Dolmelynllyn Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestling in Snowdonia National Park is Dolmelynllyn, a Victorian Gothic hotel with over 1000 years of history. With the mountain biking and walking trails of Coed-y-Brenin on our doorstep and surrounded by several waterfalls, gold and copper mines that nestle within the surrounding forest. A warm and relaxed hotel in which to unwind and with some of the purest air in Europe! We do accept well behaved insured dogs in some rooms but will make an additional charge if you try to check into the hotel with your dog without contacting us first, as we would not be ready for them. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Book Direct Rooms, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Plas Dolmelynllyn Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing