We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very dog friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Plas Dolmelynllyn Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ganllwyd
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“very dog friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

We were staying one night while we cleared our nearby holiday home ready for the builders. Normally we leave our 3 dogs in the car but it was minus 7 outside and getting colder. Alan was absolutely unperturbed when we asked if it might be possible to bring in 3 retrievers " wouldn't have it any other way - far too cold outside". Not many country house hotels are this accommodating. We spent a fair time on hands and knees picking up hairs so I hope we left the room ok but many thanks anyway. BTW the rest of our stay was very pleasant too!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank win12chester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    33
    8
    8
    4
See reviews for
23
77
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Buxton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

Just returned from three nights at Dolmelynllyn, staying in the newly re-decorated 'Arran' room. We had a really great time, very well looked after by Alan, Martin, Anghared and Mark. Very happy with all aspects of our stay - accommodation, food, warmth of welcome, general hotel, gardens and grounds etc. Great value for money. The location is superb - a lovely Victorian building in what is one of the most beautiful places in the world. I've been visiting this area for more than 40 years but this is the first time staying in this hotel. It won't be the last. Thanks everyone for making our precious few days away so enjoyable.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DianaGolding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

Stayed one night on business. Fantastic old building with plenty of character. Really "open house" feel to it.
Warm welcome on arrival and decided to put my boots on and explore a little bit of Snowdonia. Lovely short walk to waterfalls from the hotel car park. Unfortunately got caught in a storm and got soaked to the skin. No problem though as my wet things were taken and placed in the drying room overnight.
Dinner was very good as was breakfast but my overwhelming feel was that this was a truly unusual, fascinating place that I would certainly stay at again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeH81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

On our first visit to this hotel for Easter 2011 my partner and I said 'if we ever get married, it will be here', we last weekend on the 15th September we kept that promise to ourselves. I simply cannot praise Alan, Martin and the staff enough for making it so faultless and perfect. They converted the breakfast room into the perfect location for the service and then we poured a champagne fountain and had drinks on the lawn. Following the group photos we were whisked away for photos by our photographer whilst the guests tucked into home made heart shaped scones (cream teas). During this time the Shelley (breakfast) room was then converted into a massive table to seat our 26 guests...being a small intimate wedding, we wanted to be seated all together, and this worked perfectly in this room. The staff decorated the table beautifully and the food was perfect. Following the meal we retired to the bar and the old dining room was refurnished with sofas and chairs and our guitarist/ singer set up. Everything was done in the background and was faultless. The staff are polite, attentive and all lovely, they make a great team, headed up by Alan, who as always is charming and the perfect host, and Martin who is a wonderful chef. In total we spent a week there and most of our guests stayed for 2-3 nights each. Most of them have already mentioned returning to the hotel at some point to explore the wonderful area and spend more time in this beautiful old hotel. Thankyou Alan, Martin and Julie and all the staff. Looking forward to seeing you again in the not too distant future. x

Room Tip: Mawdacch...the most romantic room with the most perfect views on 3 aspects and a 4 poster. Eden is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenLinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

Our party of 6 had a great time at the "Dolly" Hotel. We occupied 3 rooms all of which were extremely comfortable. The restaurant was extermely well priced especially if, like us, you have a deal with the room. Breakfasts also good. Staff put themselves out to help and advise about the area. Walking from the hotel is superb, with nearby waterfall and National Trust preservation area. All in all a great few days. Highly recommended if you like walking, good food and great countryside.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveFAW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

More than anything I have to complement the staff at Plas Dolmelynllyn as they were excellent. The two women covering the desk and the bar on Friday were very friendly, helpful and great conversation. I believe one of the owners was also working that evening (Martin?) and he seemed very friendly as well.

The room was good, though the bathroom needed a little work by way of cleaning (the grout especially). The shower seemed incredibly hot, even at the lowest settings, though I suspect that may have been a mistake on my part as I was in a rush when using it and probably just needed to let it settle down. Evening meal was delicious too.

From a mountain biking perspective (purpose of the trip), Plas Dolmelynllyn is only about 5 minutes away from Coed Y Brenin making it pretty much the perfect location if you're visiting the centre. Amusingly one of the staff used to work there too, so I was able to get a lot of useful information that way as well. There was a dedicated place to lock the bikes up, under cover and apparently with CCTV (though I didn't actually see the camera). My only complaint would be that the bike rack wasn't actually bolted into the stone / concrete shelf it was on meaning that in theory you could carry off it and any bikes attached to it... assuming you could get through the door with it anyway. Would have been nice to see it bolted in even if it just meant that it was easier to get the bikes in / out without having the rack move all over the place.

Overall, would easily recommend.

Room Tip: The superior room I booked had two single beds and a jacuzzi bath with a (very hot) shower. It had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012 via mobile

Serene location, best evening meal I've had in a long time and for £20 per head excellent value for money, room was nice and the staff very welcoming, all in all one to definitely visit?
I booked a cheese board and a bottle of wine for our arrival and it was reasonably priced, no mobile signal there so it's an ideal getaway

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ganllwyd
3.9 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
11.7 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,394 reviews
8.6 mi away
Ty'r Graig Castle
Ty'r Graig Castle
#1 of 4 in Barmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Bae Abermaw
Bae Abermaw
#3 of 4 in Barmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
18.5 mi away
Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa
Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Llanwddyn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,424 reviews
20.1 mi away
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plas Dolmelynllyn Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plas Dolmelynllyn Hall Hotel

Property: Plas Dolmelynllyn Hall Hotel
Address: Coed-Y-Brenin, Ganllwyd LL40 2HP, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Ganllwyd
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ganllwyd
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Plas Dolmelynllyn Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestling in Snowdonia National Park is Dolmelynllyn, a Victorian Gothic hotel with over 1000 years of history. With the mountain biking and walking trails of Coed-y-Brenin on our doorstep and surrounded by several waterfalls, gold and copper mines that nestle within the surrounding forest. A warm and relaxed hotel in which to unwind and with some of the purest air in Europe! We do accept well behaved insured dogs in some rooms but will make an additional charge if you try to check into the hotel with your dog without contacting us first, as we would not be ready for them. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Plas Dolmelynllyn Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing