We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Stunning Cottage and location”
other travelers have booked this property
Llys Cadwen is a beautiful grade II listed cottage in Dolgellau, Snowdonia
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Llys Cadwen is a beautiful grade II listed cottage in Dolgellau, Snowdonia
Llys Cadwen is covered in wisteria and looks beautiful in the springtime Originally 3 small cottages, Llys Cadwen has  been tastefully renovated into a single home
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
Llys Cadwen is a beautiful grade II listed cottage in Dolgellau, Snowdonia
Llys Cadwen is covered in wisteria and looks beautiful in the springtime
Originally 3 small cottages, Llys Cadwen has  been tastefully renovated into a single home
View from master bedroom to the courtyard garden and the river, with Cader Idris in the background
The sunny back garden has wonderful views and the sound of the river
The fully equipped kitchen
The kitchen has a dresser and vintage postcards from the area on the wall
There's plenty of worktop and storage space in the kitchen
The comfortable lounge with plenty of seating
The lounge has a wood burning stove, we'll leave you some logs to get you started
The dining room seats 6 comfortably, and has a gas stove and plenty of maps and books of the area
Plenty of room for reading and relaxation
The master bedroom with king size bed
The master bedroom with king-size bed
En-suite bathroom to master bedroom, with roll-top bath
The second double bedroom is above the lounge
The en-suite shower room to the double bedroom
There is a bunk bed room, also with an en-suite
Dolgellau is a stunning town in the Snowdonia National Park
One well-behaved dog welcome is at the cottage - here's ours, Ralph, on his first trip to Llys Cadwe
New for 2016 - a games room in the cellar with dart board and slate-bed pool table
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Dolgellau, Snowdonia National Park, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Nicola V
1 review
“Stunning Cottage and location”
Reviewed June 13, 2018 for a stay in June 2018

Beautiful cottage with everything you could need. Great location and there is plenty of space for 6 adults , would recommend this cottage to anyone

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen M
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Brilliant 18th Century Grade ll listed 'Tardis'”
Reviewed January 10, 2018 for a stay in January 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Llys Cadwen is a 18th Century Tardis. (It was three cottages knocked into one). Fully detached. Who would not want to stay in a Grade ll listed traditional Welsh cottage. It was absolutely fabulous. From the white washed walls, exposed oak beams & wood burner. 3 double bedrooms, all ensuite. With a front courtyard area, rear garden, overlooking the river Wnion.

5 of us and our dog were very comfortable during our three night stay. With some very nice touches added to make you even more comfortable, White Company linen, Dualit appliances, John Lewis towels, range cooker, wood burner & other gas fire.

The basement games room is a lovely touch, it was a hit with all of us. Pool table & dart board. We used it every evening & some mornings, for practise.

The location is ideal more or less in the centre of Dolgellau. A traditional Welsh market town in Snowdonia. Perfect for walking the Mawddach Trail & Cader Idris. We recommend both.
We also recommend visiting the Torrent Inn Hotel in the town and The George lll Inn Penmaenpool. On the Mawddach trail by the toll bridge.

The hosts Gavin & Liz were brilliant. They kept us updated & were very prompt with answers to our enquiries. Thank you guys.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michal B
1 review
“Christmas Break”
Reviewed January 5, 2018 for a stay in December 2017

Nothing but praise.Lovely location. Cottage is very well appointed, clean and tidy. Having a games room and on site laundry is a great extra.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jettingjh
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Charming Cottage ”
Reviewed September 19, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We had a wonderful long weekend at Llys Cadwen. The cottage is so full of character. Beautifully decorated and immaculately clean. For a group of 5 ladies it was the perfect base for a walking weekend and provided everything we required to cook some delicious meals whilst being close enough to Dolgellau that we also had plenty to choose from within easy walking distance if we chose to eat out.
The cottage is very private and very quiet. The information and directions received from Liz prior to our arrival were excellent. Highly recommended.
Don't miss the Precipice Walk when in Dolgellau. Stunning.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doonoodle...
Didcot, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A wonderful week in Dolgellau”
Reviewed August 3, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

What a lovely cottage to base your holiday in! Very nicely decorated and comfortable downstairs communal rooms, with spacious bedrooms with fluffy towels and cosy duvets. We were lucky to enjoy great weather in our week; on our one rainy day we made great use of the pool table and dart board (which to be honest were the clinchers when we booked!)
Liz the owner is super helpful in sending plenty of information in advance, and quickly responding to queries when you're there.
A great find. Thank you for your hospitality!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebekah S
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Cottage”
Reviewed June 5, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Amazing cottage, very cosy with great décor and everything you need for an enjoyable stay. Great location too for fun days out.

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
conradkol...
Marlow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect location”
Reviewed May 22, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Our group of 5 people stayed for 4 nights.
The cottage had everything we needed and was within walking distance of great shops and restaurants. Home away from home and will definitely recommend. Plenty of fabulous hikes on the doorstep. Will stay again ! Thanks to Liz for being so helpful and great service!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing