We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”
Review of Ffynnon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ffynnon
Ranked #4 of 34 Dolgellau B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 23, 2013

After a very windy walk up Cader Idris in the afternoon, what a great way to relax in Ffynnon's outdoor hottub. With lovely views and the sun out it was amazing. We stayed in room Annis. The decor was based on the Orient and was beautiful. It is the first place I have stayed where you get a pillow menu! To sum it up, the staff and the hotel was perfect and we would definitely reccommend and return.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chrissy4930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (553)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

207 - 213 of 553 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2013

Believe all the other reviews. This place is really very good

All the rooms are decorated well (we stayed in Annis). The communal areas include a downstairs sitting room with a piano, honesty bar, papers and light music playing. Upstairs by the rooms is a butlers pantry, with tea and coffee facilities (should you wish to pick from a wider range of tea and coffee than provided in the room), microwave and fridge (with room tags in the drawer to mark your goods).

Free wifi is provided on a fair usage policy. This worked fairly well, though it seemed to struggle to connect at times.

All the staff and the owners are very friendly, and first name terms are established immediately. Emma is a great front of house, welcoming you into Ffynnon and setting your stay off on the perfect start.

Ffynnon is perfectly positioned for exploring Snowdonia.

Three tips:

1. If you have a wide or long vehicle, don't blindly follow the sat nav up the very narrow lanes right by Ffynnon (Love Lane and Plas y Bryn). It is easier to approach from a couple of roads down (Springfield Street - Meyrick Street - Mount Pleasant Road).

2. If you have the window open at night (and another guest also does), use the heavy door stopper in the room to stop the old, original door from rattling in the jamb.

3. If staying more than one night, remember to put your unmentionables away before you go down to breakfast. The housekeeping is done during breakfast so your room is clean and tidy when you return.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SpookH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We booked this hotel to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary. We stayed in Sydney. It was beautiful. The furnishings & artwork are lovely. Very handy for the little town of Dolgellau which has a good selection of places to eat & drink. We will return.

Room Tip: A lovely shower in Sydney room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

The reviews before we came were excellent and everything lived up to our expectation. The hotel was spotless and the welcome from Steve was great. The only comment would be that we had to ring the mobile number in the day to book the hot tub as there was no one on site. That said no problem connecting and our request was immediately actioned. The hotel has a very clever system for managing guest requests whilst maintaining minimum staff levels. Did not affect our stay at all..I would highly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johnathan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Our children bought us a break at Ffynnon for our wedding anniversary and we could not have chosen a better location or accommodation.
Great hospitality, superbly equipped room, relaxing sitting areas and first class breakfast.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oldnick50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

This beautiful hotel was just perfect, everything had been thought of.
The beds and bed linen were unbelievable!! I could have stayed in bed all day! The interior is just sensational.
We would certainly stay here again. We felt so at home, after a lovely welcome and and a heart felt farewell. Staff were so attentive.
We left this beautiful and talked about how wonderful it was the whole way home!
We highly recommend this place for a couple wanting to escape in pure luxury.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kimberleylott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We went to this hotel for our joint b'day and it was absolutely perfect for us as a romantic weekend away....the staff couldn't do more for us and even gave us candles in our breakfast! we stayed in the Aimee room which was adorable and had a jacuzzi bath as a bonus. The room was very clean and bright and airy with lovely views of the countryside. The included breakfast was also of a very high standard and generous (you can have smoked salmon) and an honesty bar - but they don't mind if you take your own drinks long as it's in the room. There is also an added plus of a hot tub for just £10 extra for an hour - where you're also allowed to drink. The village is very quiet so this hotel is ideal if you're looking for a peaceful getaway as you probably won't want to leave the hotel! 10/10

Room Tip: worth looking thoroughly at the pictures of the indvidually themed rooms to see what style you want!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexarc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dolgellau
1.8 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
343 reviews
24.5 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
788 reviews
24.2 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Pandy Isaf Country House Bed & Breakfast
1.4 mi away
Dolgun Uchaf  B & B
Dolgun Uchaf B & B
#13 of 34 in Dolgellau
138 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Royal Ship Hotel
The Royal Ship Hotel
#7 of 34 in Dolgellau
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ffynnon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ffynnon

Address: Ffynnon, Love Lane, Snowdonia National Park, Dolgellau LL40 1RR, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Dolgellau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Dolgellau
Price Range: $189 - $215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Ffynnon 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Ffynnon, we give you a special place to unwind and relax in complete comfort. Situated in Southern Snowdonia, we offer sumptuous accommodation from which to explore or enjoy time with family or friends. Whether you choose to curl up with a good book from the library, enjoy afternoon tea or a glass of something stronger from our honesty bar or relax in your luxurious room – an indulgent mix of the classic and contemporary awaits. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MrandMrsSmith, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ffynnon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ffynnon Hotel Dolgellau
Ffynnon Dolgellau, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing