We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding accomodation”
Review of Ffynnon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ffynnon
Ranked #4 of 34 Dolgellau B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 6, 2013

I would recommend this hotel to anyone. We stayed in the Sydney room (each of the six rooms have a different theme) which was styled beautifully. The staff were welcoming and Steve the owner went out of his way to book us restaurants and taxi's. It's pure luxury at an affordable price. Extremely clean and well looked after throughout. It really is heavenly....

Paulina and Richard Borrell

Room Tip: It doesn't have a swimming pool but has a great hot tub!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Firesprite_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ffynnon, Owner at Ffynnon, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Hi Paulina and Richard,
Many thanks for taking the time to review us. It was great to meet you both and we're pleased you had a lovely stay. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Best regards,
Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (555)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

234 - 240 of 555 reviews

Reviewed February 4, 2013

A Christmas present from our daughters, a weekend stay at Ffynnon. We were looking forward to our stay Annis the room with a super king size bed, and an oriental theme was the room we picked. We were extremely impressed with the service prior to our arrival when we were contacted to ask if they could book any restaurants and that they were looking forward to our arrival. We arrived mid afternoon, greeted by a very friendly and helpful receptionist and we had tea and welsh cakes in the lounge..... A very cold lounge, one could not stay very long before one's teeth started chattering. The room was lovely and big and the bed was extremely comfortable - lovely nights sleep, but there was nowhere to hang clothes properly, even a shirt was too long for the hanging facilities available. The room was freezing (suggest turning the heating on BEFORE guests arrive) so much so that we had to have a bath to warm up (just as well as Andy was too tall for the shower) which meant that the walls became wet with condensation resulting in the housekeeper opening the windows! Having said all this the house was beautiful, the breakfast delicious and the staff very friendly and welcoming. Put the heating on and it could be perfect!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maria H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ffynnon, Owner at Ffynnon, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Hi Maria,
We're pleased you enjoyed your stay at Ffynnon but apologise that you were cold. All of our rooms have fully adjustable heating which is on all day and extra heaters can be provided if required. Unfortunately during your stay you didn't let us know that you were cold and hence we didn't know there was a problem. As it turns out, the previous guests had obviously been too hot and had turned the heating down, a simple thing to adjust had we known. It does also mention in the room guide how to adjust the heating and that extra heaters are available.
Other than that, I'm pleased that you had a great and welcoming stay and hope you will return at another time.
Kind regards,
Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Just to say that a very warm welcome is offered by Steve and Debra at this boutique style hotel

My room was lovely, and the bed very comfortable. The breakfast was very nice and plenty of it

The only issues that I had was finding it, and as in previous comments the roads and access are a little narrow, but this would not put me off staying again. Many thanks to both Steve and Debra for an enjoyable stay

Room Tip: Don't use the satalite Navigation, use the map that Steve provides
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve57hereford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ffynnon, Owner at Ffynnon, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Hi Steve,
It was great to meet you and we're thrilled you enjoyed your stay at Ffynnon. Thanks for the review and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Regards,
Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We booked a night here after good reviews on tripadvisor, and were not disappointed. Steve was an excellent host, with a friendly air on this cold, grey, wet evening. (we stayed on 10th jan). The place is not that easy to find, and the roads around it are very tight to access, but we got there in the end. The big old house is lovely inside and our room was nicely laid out.
We had a good night's rest (dinner at Dylan's down the road, see review) and set off in the morning well refreshed and after a nice breakfast made by Debbie (Steve's other half). Dolgellau is about as grey a place as you can find in January, and Ffynon was a pleasant and colourful choice. Interior is very 'arty' in style, and as we turned out to be their only guests that night, the fact that everything was available & sorted, was actually quite a surprise. Well done Ffynon.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tim99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ffynnon, Owner at Ffynnon, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Hi Tim,
Many thanks for posting a review. It was great to meet you both and we're really pleased you had a great stay. As you say, we are tucked up a road away from the centre of town (only a 3 or 4 minute walk) but it does mean we are in a lovely, quiet area.
We hope to be able to welcome you back soon.
Kind regards,
Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Had lovely night here with husband and 3 kids (age 6-13). The hot tub was very special and the whole family was made to feel welcome. We were reccomended to an excellent local bistro. The welsh breakfast was delicious, Classy and comfy.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TESS M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ffynnon, Owner at Ffynnon, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Hi Tess,
We're so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us at Ffynnon and hope the rest of your holiday was just as successful. Thanks for the review and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Regards,
Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed at Ffynnon over New year and had booked for two nights but loved it so much we stayed a third night.I was impressed with butlers pantry and us of jug to fill with fresh milk as required which is much better than normal facilities.The quality of furnishing is high.There is a thoughtfulm pillow menu.The roll top bath was quality and views from the bedroom were fantastic.Breakfast was top quality and I was impressed with the varied menu available.Would highly recommend .

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maza808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ffynnon, Owner at Ffynnon, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Hi both,
Many thanks for taking the time to post a review. We're thrilled you had a great New Year with us at Ffynnon and were glad we could accommodate the extended stay. We hope to see you again soon.
Best regards,
Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Ffynnon is one of the most relaxing and utterley pleasant places I have ever stayed. From start to finish the staff and the quality of the facility was superb. The owners are very freindly helpful and informative. My room was one of the best I have ever stayed in, comfortable and very relaxing. Amazing value for money, in one of the most beautiful places in the World. Fynnon is deserving of all acholades it acheives and I look forward to returning very soon.

Room Tip: All rooms are fantastically appointed and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ffynnon, Owner at Ffynnon, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Hi Steve,
It was lovely to meet you and we're so pleased you had a great stay with us. Thanks for the review and the glowing praise and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards,
Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dolgellau
1.8 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
343 reviews
24.5 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
792 reviews
0.2 mi away
Y Meirionnydd
Y Meirionnydd
#1 of 3 in Dolgellau
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Pandy Isaf Country House Bed & Breakfast
1.4 mi away
Dolgun Uchaf  B & B
Dolgun Uchaf B & B
#14 of 34 in Dolgellau
140 reviews
3.5 mi away
Afon Rhaiadr Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ffynnon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ffynnon

Address: Ffynnon, Love Lane, Snowdonia National Park, Dolgellau LL40 1RR, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Dolgellau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Dolgellau
Price Range: $198 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Ffynnon 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Ffynnon, we give you a special place to unwind and relax in complete comfort. Situated in Southern Snowdonia, we offer sumptuous accommodation from which to explore or enjoy time with family or friends. Whether you choose to curl up with a good book from the library, enjoy afternoon tea or a glass of something stronger from our honesty bar or relax in your luxurious room – an indulgent mix of the classic and contemporary awaits. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ffynnon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ffynnon Hotel Dolgellau
Ffynnon Dolgellau, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing