We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ffynnon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ffynnon
Ranked #4 of 34 Dolgellau B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights in October as part of our honeymoon. All I can say is wow, this is the best B&B/Hotel I have ever stayed in, you would be perfectly happy staying in the building for the duration of your visit. We stayed in Sydney which has the novelty of having a bath in the bedroom and was fantastic but I gather every room is similarly impressive! The living room with honesty bar is brilliant and we used that rather than go to a pub in the evenings as it’s a lovely room to be in. Id recommend the Meirionnydd just around the corner to eat which was also excellent. I can’t really think of anything negative to say about the place other than you might struggle to get a large vehicle up the very narrow lanes and into the car park although it wasnt an issue in our car my wife refused to attempt it! I’ve never been back to the same place twice before but we are already thinking about returning for our anniversary!

Room Tip: Im sure they are all fantastic, Sydney has a bath in the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ffynnon, Owner at Ffynnon, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Hi Andrew,
Many thanks for your kind words. We're pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us at Ffynnon and that you're already planning your return. We look forward to seeing you soon.
Best regards,
Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    480
    34
    4
    4
    2
See reviews for
69
384
13
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Beautifully presented accommodation with an excellent greeting from the Proprietor. The whole premises were very clean and beautifully kept/maintained. My wife and I could not have chosen a better location for our 40th wedding anniversary. We would recommend a stay at Ffynnon to anyone and have done so.

The fact that Ffynnon is located in such magnificant surroundings is a bonus.

Room Tip: All rooms beautifully presented.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ffynnon, Owner at Ffynnon, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Hi Bert.
It was great to meet you and we're really pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We are lucky to live and work in such a beautiful area as you say. Thanks for your review.
Kind regards,
Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Just come back from spending a week at Ffynon and we stayed in Emily and Sydney..both absolutely stunning rooms with the comforts your heart desires. Was a perfect getaway with stunning scenery and nice long walks, really tasty local restaurants and and comfy bed to throw yourself into and watch a good old chick flick at the end of the day! Really could not recommend this enough to people looking for a cosy comfy getaway, hands down the best hotel we have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ffynnon, Owner at Ffynnon, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Hi Charlotte,
Many thanks for your review. It was great to finally get to meet you both and we're thrilled that you enjoyed staying in Emily and Sydney (which was your favourite?). We hope to see you again in the future.
Best wishes,
Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 28, 2012

What a treat - a last minute break at this lovely hotel- beautifully decorated = fabulous room with the best bed linen that we have ever seen!this is a real find , would love to come back when the open fire is lit as would then spend longer in the luxurious lounge area.Thouroughly recommend staying here

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jackie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ffynnon, Owner at Ffynnon, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Hi Jackie,
It was lovely to meet you.We're really pleased that you enjoyed staying with us and we hope to see you again soon.
Thanks for the review,
Regards,
Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester,england
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

After a frought and perilous drive through the Welsh countryside we arrived at Ffynnon to a warm welcome and a cosy room.

Our room (Aimee) was luxurious and perfect, with gorgeous views over the hills, once the morning fog had cleared.

The hotel is beautifully decorated and the honesty bar a welcome treat (and very reasonably priced).

We will definately be recommending Ffynnon to our friends and would love to stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank georgiapoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ffynnon, Owner at Ffynnon, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Hi,
It was great to meet you and we're really pleased that you enjoyed your stay in Aimee. Thank you for your review and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Best wishes,
Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

My husband and one year old son stayed at Ffynnon for a week in Oct - choosing the new Hazel suite giving us a separate bed/playroom for our toddler. The room was beautifully and tastefully appointed, as was the rest of the impressive building and we enjoyed a luxurious stay. Despite 'boutique' standards, the warm and genuine hospitality extended to us by Steve and Debra, and their staff, made us feel welcome and relaxed immediately - our toddler being treated as an equally important guest.
We would go back in a flash and recommend this stylish B&B to parents of young children who are looking to avoid the tacky downsides of a 'baby-friendly' break but with all the conveniences and amenities of one. Happy days indeed.

Room Tip: The Hazel suite has a separate living room which was converted for our purposes to a bedroom for our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NextYearsBride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ffynnon, Owner at Ffynnon, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Hi all,
We're thrilled that you enjoyed staying in the new suite at Ffynnon and that everything met your needs. Many thanks for your review.
Best wishes,
Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We have stayed in many lovely hotels and guest houses and this was certainly up there with the best! Our room was beautifully decorated, finished to a v high standard, had DVD player, iPod docking station, lovely comfy bed, gorgeous bathroom and overall we couldn't fault it! The service was great, the breakfast was delightful and would recommend anyone and everyone to book in here for a relaxing and luxurious break!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheHappyTravellers01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ffynnon, Owner at Ffynnon, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Hi both,
Many thanks for your review .It was great to meet you and we're really pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Kind regards,
Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dolgellau
1.8 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
315 reviews
0.2 mi away
Y Meirionnydd
Y Meirionnydd
#1 of 3 in Dolgellau
289 reviews
24.1 mi away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tan y Gader
Tan y Gader
#2 of 34 in Dolgellau
134 reviews
0.0 mi away
Plas Gwyn B&B & Cottage
Plas Gwyn B&B & Cottage
#3 of 34 in Dolgellau
180 reviews
1.7 mi away
Pandy Isaf Country House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ffynnon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ffynnon

Property: Ffynnon
Address: Is y Ffynnon Love Lane, Snowdonia National Park, Dolgellau LL40 1RW, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Dolgellau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Dolgellau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Ffynnon 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Ffynnon, we give you a special place to unwind and relax in complete comfort. Situated in Southern Snowdonia, we offer sumptuous accommodation from which to explore or enjoy time with family or friends. Whether you choose to curl up with a good book from the library, enjoy afternoon tea or a glass of something stronger from our honesty bar or relax in your luxurious room – an indulgent mix of the classic and contemporary awaits. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Ffynnon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ffynnon Hotel Dolgellau
Ffynnon Dolgellau, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing