We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pleasant”
Review of Ivy House

Ivy House
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ivy House
Ranked #15 of 33 Dolgellau B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
144 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“pleasant”
Reviewed March 13, 2012

Greeted by Duncan and shown to room 4 on quiet side of building: double bed, flat screen TV on wall, kleenex, enough hangers, two chairs, hair-blower. No clock radio.
Nice bed. Pleasant room. Sink in room, but no towel rods. Shared toilet and toilet/bath/shower room (bathtub and shower fixture). Minor repairs (loose screws, etc.) and dusting required in rooms. Toilet wasn’t clean when I arrived.
Pleasant breakfast room. Hot breakfasts served hot on warmed plates. No fruit, but a good choice of cereals. Vegetarian and vegan items available.
Wi-fi doesn’t work in rooms but is fine in ground floor lounge.
Street parking in front has a one-hour limit during the day, but overnight is okay. Location, once found in the maze of narrow and sometimes one-way streets, is good – right in the town centre but quiet at night.

Room Tip: not facing the street (although it seems a quiet area at night anyway)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LCNtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    30
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
29
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Higham Ferrers, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 15, 2011

We found Ivy house on line and were not at all disappointed. A warm welcome greeted us at the door and our small twin room was comfortable and spotlessly clean. The breakfast was to die for, with a choice of one or two fried eggs and sausages - everything cooked to perfection, and at £72 for the night was well worth the cost. 3-star rating with 4-star treatment!
If I ever go back to stay in Dolgellau, it will be at Ivy House, with Y-Sospan restaurant just across the road.
Stay: 18th September 2011

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank warlandtrevor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
netanya
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2011

As we entered we weren;t immediately impressed and then Duncan the owner a gentle giant greeted us with such warmth and openess, that we were made to feel immediately at home in a bed and breakfast, both clean and comfortable and with some very nice touches,bathrobes,a selection of biscuits and a delicious cooked breakfast..A great base for exploring Snowdonia national park..

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank happyjeffg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brixham
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

Stayed one night whilst on motorcycle tour with two others. Friendly greeting by Duncan. Rooms comfortable and breakfast excellent. Managed to get the three bikes off road as nearbye parking a bit tight. Ideally, centrally situated with good places to eat within a few paces. Would return.

Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank PatSBrixham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2011

Ivy House was a lovely experience, located in a nice small town. It is more like a hotel than a B&B, but still quite home-like. It was quite good value for money and rooms were very tidy. A massive plus was that the place offered a proper vegetarian/vegan breakfast (cooked: tom./mushrooms/beans/veg.sausage!) and had soy milk available even we booked just a day in advance. Had a TV, ensuite, tea/coffee making facilities, etc... and the room was 72£ a night. No parking but street parking available from around 5pm to 9am.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank j4mm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
61 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2011

We were wellcomed on arrival with a smile.
We were biking so were shown an area in the basement to lock the bikes away.
The rooms were excellent quality, no mould in the bathroom, no complaints with the B & B at all.
The breakfast was good, and could have done with loacal real sausages rather then the usual bland multi buy pack.
Overall excellent B & B, great town, vwery wellcoming by the locals in the pubs, Indian was average.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ManchesterGlen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2010

The Good:
1. Homely, I made friends with one of the cats!
2. Pleasant and professional staff. Unlike some B&Bs they don't want to be your new best friend, but you know they are there if you have any requests.
3. The girl waiting on the tables was particularly pleasant, and very good at her job. She was always smiling, and remembered your breakfast prefrences.
4. The location is great, right in the middle of everything.
The Bad.
1. The decor is a bit dated. Although it is a charming and historic house, the interior could do with a bit of a gee up.
2. There is a greasy smell of frying
all day. It hits you as soon as you open the door.
3. I know it's not an essential, but a bigger TV would be nice.
The Ugly.
None!

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank seasidedg70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dolgellau hotels
1.9 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
0.1 mi away
Y Meirionnydd
Y Meirionnydd
#1 of 3 in Dolgellau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Royal Ship Hotel
The Royal Ship Hotel
#7 of 33 in Dolgellau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Plas Gwyn B&B & Cottage
Plas Gwyn B&B & Cottage
#3 of 33 in Dolgellau
5.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
1.3 mi away
Dolgun Uchaf  B & B
Dolgun Uchaf B & B
#12 of 33 in Dolgellau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
1.6 mi away
Pandy Isaf Country House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ivy House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ivy House

Property: Ivy House
Address: Ivy House Finsbury Square, Snowdonia National Park, Dolgellau LL40 1RF, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Dolgellau
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Dolgellau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ivy House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your Ivy House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ivy House Dolgellau, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing