We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little find!!”
Review of Y Meirionnydd

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Y Meirionnydd
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dolgellau
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights from Saturday 25th May.... its a very cozy, beautifully decorated small hotel with extremely friendly staff. We arrived very late on the Saturday night and nothing was too much trouble.. we were found a table in the restaurant and from that day on the food was fantastic.. breakfast also. Our room was lovely.... overlooking the front of the hotel. The main things I look for in a hotel is lovely decor, clean rooms, welcoming people and good food... this has it all.... and more.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gailebennett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (322)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

196 - 202 of 322 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights at the beginning of May. Lovely friendly staff. Comfortable, clean rooms - the beds were very comfortable. Breakfast was great - poached eggs on toast were perfect. The food in the restaurant was superb and so reasonable. Good choice of wines too. A relaxing stay in a brilliant hotel. Look forward to returning there soon.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PurpleMavis71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

Friendly and welcoming staff, very good bar and restaurant, nice cosy room (Cadair). Welsh produce used wherever possible. I enjoyed the Welsh whiskey and beer. A special mention for ground coffee and fresh milk in the room.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Firstly thank you once again to all contributors to Trip Advisor. Your efforts have made travelling and choosing places to stay much easier. Once again the trip advisor community has got it right. Stayed here on the advice of previous guests and it was terrific. It is a clean, well managed hotel in a beautiful and friendly welsh rural town. The management and staff have turned a quirky old building (used to be above the historic Jail House which is now their restaurant) into a fine Boutique hotel. They have thought of all things that a five star hotel would provide - Bath robes, quality complimentaries, comfortable beds etc. Well decorated rooms and even though my room faced the main square, no noise of a nighttime. Management and staff knowledgeable and very friendly.

Breakfast was well made and served.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sithlonny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dolgellauhost, Owner at Y Meirionnydd, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2013

Hello Sithlonny
Thank you so much for a really great review, it was kind of you to take the time to do so.
We use TripAdvisor ourselves to guide us towards making the right decision when we travel, it's a very valuable tool both for the traveller and the establishment owner. We try to put as much into our rooms as we can to make your stay with us comfortable as possible, and we're pleased you dined in our rather special restaurant too.
We look forward to welcoming you again soon,
Marc, Nick and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Lovely place- very clean and stylishly decorated! Very comfortable and warm room. Food was delicious and service great! All staff were welcoming and friendly- we had a great stay- would definitly reccomend and we cant wait to go back! Thank you very much!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tamara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dolgellauhost, Owner at Y Meirionnydd, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2013

Thank you Tamara for your lovely review, we're so pleased you had such a wonderful few days with us. Glad you appreciated the service and of course the food, all critical to us. We really look forward to seeing you both again,
Marc, Nick and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

A wonderful hotel, sparkling clean, warm environment, friendly and approachable owners and staff with a great sense of humour especially over breakfast, I can still taste that smoked salmon and scrambled egg, excellent way to start the day. Restaurant amazing, wonderful food, served with that personal touch, freshly cooked to your requirements and delicious in serene environment. Rooms bright and delightful and very welcoming. Can't wait to go back.
Jan & Paul

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jan499
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dolgellauhost, Owner at Y Meirionnydd, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Hello Jan & Paul
Thank you for your brilliant review and thanks for taking the time to write it too, we really appreciate it.
So glad that you enjoyed our restaurant for dinner and especially breakfast, as you say always a great to start to the day. We look forward to welcoming you both again,
Marc, Nick and the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Needed to find somewhere to stay while walking in the Cambrian Mountains. There are some highly rated hotels nearby but stay in this one for great service, local food, welcoming staff and stylish rooms.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank OG648
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dolgellauhost, Owner at Y Meirionnydd, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Hello to both of you from Hampshire, we're pleased you had such a lovely stay with us and enjoyed the restaurant as well. We never forget you have a choice in the area, keeps us on our toes! We really look forward to welcoming you again very soon,
Marc, Nick and the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dolgellau
1.9 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
345 reviews
24.4 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
801 reviews
16.7 mi away
Plas Yn Dre
Plas Yn Dre
#1 of 2 in Bala
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.8 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 2 in Portmeirion
1,540 reviews
3.9 mi away
Plas Dolmelynllyn Hall Hotel
24 mi away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Y Meirionnydd? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Y Meirionnydd

Address: Smithfield Square, Snowdonia National Park, Dolgellau LL40 1ES, Wales (Formerly Clifton House Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Dolgellau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dolgellau
Price Range: $117 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Y Meirionnydd 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The five star Y Meirionnydd Townhouse is a beautiful place to stay with the bonus of its own restaurant and bar in the centre of this beautiful Snowdonia town. Our three bedrooms and two suites are all en suite of course and feature White Company toiletries, bathrobes and slippers, free Wi Fi as well as many other little touches to make your stay as comfortable as possible.Add in superb, personal service, a lovely full breakfast and of course our superb restaurant for dinner and you have the makings of a perfect getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Y Meirionnydd reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Y Meirionnydd Dolgellau, Wales
y Meirionnydd Hotel Dolgellau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing