We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay because place is run by caring people”
Review of Y Meirionnydd

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Y Meirionnydd
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dolgellau
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 25, 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay with Marc and Nick. They are great hosts and tried their up most to make our stay as lovely as possible. Little touches like good quality table ware, soft bed linen, excellent coffee and a good, tasty breakfast cooked to order make such a difference. We laughed a lot and will recommend to anyone heading into deepest darkest mid Wales...thank you.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bartoninthebeans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dolgellauhost, Owner at Y Meirionnydd, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2011

Thank you for your great review, we really enjoyed having you to stay and I think most guests in the restaurant found your laughter infectious - we certainly did!
We look forward to seeing you again next year,
Marc & Nick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (314)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

271 - 277 of 314 reviews

Reviewed September 10, 2011

A Fantastic property, very friendly staff and superb quality of service. Restauarnt menu and cooking were both outstanding

The merion room at the top is a fatastic room with large exposed beam and brickwork

Will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Merion is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NaxLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dolgellauhost, Owner at Y Meirionnydd, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2011

Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review, we really do appreciate it. We are so pleased you had a great evening with us both staying overnight and dining in our restaurant and we really look forward to welcoming you both again.
Marc & Nick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2011

My husband and I went here for our anniversary meal on September 2nd. What can I say ? Wonderful service, excellent caring staff who made us feel special. Good quality tasty food,quirky, quaint restaurant downstairs in the old jailhouse....and lovely atmosphere! A wonderful choice and hightly recommended . I must nt forget what good value for money the whole experience was. Thank you to everyone. .....

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jane52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dolgellauhost, Owner at Y Meirionnydd, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2011

Thank you for your very kind review. Of course we had to make a fuss, 40 years together is a wonderful milestone and we really enjoyed helping you both celebrate it!
Here's to the Golden anniversary!
Marc & Nick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2011

Travelling between Caernafon and West Wales on a family road trip we stumbled across Y Meirionydd on Trip Advisor. What a fantastic little place it is! The welcome from Marc and Nick was warm and inviting, nothing was too much trouble especially as we had two tired young children. The room was modern and spacious with a very comfortable bed and glorious shower. We chose to eat in the restaurant which was excellent and reasonably priced. Once again we were well looked after and special dining arrangements were made for the children. Following a great night's sleep and hearty breakfast we were sorry to leave, but rest assured we will return again!! Thank you Marc and Nick!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lyndon_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dolgellauhost, Owner at Y Meirionnydd, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we do appreciate it. Sometimes the best part of travelling around is stumbling on a new place that comes as a real surprise, we are glad we had a room available for you all and the children had a lovely time too. We look forward to welcoming you all again.
Marc & Nick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2011

Very central location, with comfortable stylish room.
We didn't eat in the restaurant but sat in the bar and saw meals come out of the kitchen and they looked good.
Breakfast was fine.
would stay again

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2011

My husband and i visited Y Meirionnydd for our anniversary weekend away and we were not disppointed, our room was lovely and spacious and tastefully decorated. Steve, Nick and marc were very hospitable and made our stay very comfortable and welcoming. The breaskfast was superb and the restaurant was lovely and very reasonably priced and had a lovely atmosphere. Would definetly recommend to anyone wanting a nice weekend away
Thanks
Louise & harvey

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cbr600g1rl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dolgellauhost, Owner at Y Meirionnydd, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2011

Thanks Louise and Harvey, we love providing a setting for guests to celebrate something special, especially a wedding anniversary!
I've passed on your comments to our staff and we all look forward to welcoming you both again.
Marc & Nick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2011

We had the pleasure of spending two nights at the Y Meirionnydd in mid August and can’t recommend it highly enough. The hospitality of Marc, Nick and Steven was warm, welcoming and efficient and we were really made to feel at home.

Our room (Cadair) was full of character with exposed beams and a view to the hills at the rear as well as being peaceful, comfortable, spacious and spotlessly clean. We enjoyed great food and wine in the restaurant on both nights and sampling the local ales at the bar. Breakfast was lovely and plentiful – perfect before a day out in the hills!

Overall a fantastic weekend in a wonderful setting – we will certainly be back!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Remark-a-Bull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dolgellau
1.9 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
342 reviews
3.9 mi away
Plas Dolmelynllyn Hall Hotel
24.4 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Dolserau Hall Hotel
Dolserau Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Brithdir
157 reviews
24.0 mi away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
688 reviews
23.9 mi away
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Y Meirionnydd? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Y Meirionnydd

Address: Smithfield Square, Snowdonia National Park, Dolgellau LL40 1ES, Wales (Formerly Clifton House Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Dolgellau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dolgellau
Price Range: $96 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Y Meirionnydd 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The five star Y Meirionnydd Townhouse is a beautiful place to stay with the bonus of its own restaurant and bar in the centre of this beautiful Snowdonia town. Our three bedrooms and two suites are all en suite of course and feature White Company toiletries, bathrobes and slippers, free Wi Fi as well as many other little touches to make your stay as comfortable as possible.Add in superb, personal service, a lovely full breakfast and of course our superb restaurant for dinner and you have the makings of a perfect getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Y Meirionnydd reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Y Meirionnydd Dolgellau, Wales
y Meirionnydd Hotel Dolgellau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing