We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Plas Gwyn B&B & Cottage
Ranked #6 of 34 Dolgellau B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Booked our stay after looking at reviews and was not disappointed! Stayed in the Miss Gladys and Miss Margaret room - the red room, and decor of this room is stunning. Lovely en suite which was spotlessly clean, and had super shower in it!

Breakfast was first class and very tasty, and can recommend the homemade yogurt!

The attention to detail that the owners show throughout is to be commended, and getting to this standard in a short space of time is a real credit to them. Fresh flowers in room, and fresh flowers at breakfast is a nice touch too.

Wouldn't hesitate to recommend and will definitely return.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (191)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

134 - 140 of 191 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2013

Just stayed for 1 night and it was wonderful. Our room on the top floor had the most
amazingly comfy bed and pillows with every attention to detail. Beautifully appointed shower
room and everywhere was spotless. I am not a b & b sort of a person, but definitely want
to return here. Also the breakfast was superb nothing was too much trouble. Perfectly situated -
Looking forward to coming back

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Linda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stayed for two nights for my husband's birthday - chosen at random on internet but looked at reviews first. It was everything I could have hoped for : luxury feel, beautiful furnishings, attentive service and small-scale so very personal experience. I booked surprise candle-lit dinner for my husband Sat night... Sole use of dining room, delicious food and even a cake with candle and a chorus of Happy Birthday! Superb stay! Thank you so much! Cannot recommend enough!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank catemogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Superb is how we would describe Plas Gwyn! We've just returned from a 6 night stay at this lovely B&B in Dolgellau Snowdonia and can honestly say its one of the best B&B's we've stayed in (and over the years we've stayed in a few!). We stayed in the Wynne Williams Room (the green one). The room and bathroom were spacious, quiet, comfortable, spotlessly clean, all mod cons and as the rest of the B&B, tastefully and beautifully dressed and decorated. You even have the choice of feather pillows a rarity and real treat in a B&B! Breakfasts in the lovely dining room were delicious and plentiful; we also enjoyed the company of various other guests from around the world! The owners are charming, nothing seems to be too much trouble. They so richly deserve to continue the success of this their first season after so much hard work in creating this exceptional B&B. We would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dianne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

.......this would be the one they did. A truly lovely stay in a beautiful house brimming with style and character. The bedrooms and bathrooms are immaculate throughout with soft bed linen and lovely thick towels. Mineral water and milk provided in the fridge in the room and plenty of modern touches such as WiFi and iPod stations. The breakfast was top quality local produce with a good selection of cereals, jams and a full cooked choice too. Our hosts were really helpful and knowledgeable about the local area. great trip. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SuzieC1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Lovely B & B with very friendly hosts. Shades of traditional Welsh cottage decor with modern features in the bedroom. Bathroom was beautiful and modern even with it's exposed oak beams. House with a lot of history and ideally situated. Recommended

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 96Rifles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

A wonderful B&B where everything is thought of. Bottles of mineral water and fresh milk in your own fridge, IPod docking station, toiletries in the bathroom, a map of the town with recommended restaurants etc Bedrooms are beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean. Only problem was that at 6ft tall my fiance was a little too large for the quite small beds. Delicious breakfast too!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KipperQueenstown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dolgellau
1.8 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
342 reviews
3.9 mi away
Plas Dolmelynllyn Hall Hotel
1.7 mi away
Pandy Isaf Country House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Royal Ship Hotel
The Royal Ship Hotel
#7 of 34 in Dolgellau
503 reviews
3.6 mi away
Afon Rhaiadr Bed and Breakfast
0.0 mi away
Ffynnon
Ffynnon
#4 of 34 in Dolgellau
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plas Gwyn B&B & Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plas Gwyn B&B & Cottage

Address: Cader Road, Plas Gwyn, Snowdonia National Park, Dolgellau LL40 1RH, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Dolgellau
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Dolgellau
Price Range: $93 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Plas Gwyn B&B & Cottage 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Plas Gwyn and Plas Gwyn Cottage are two grade 2 listed buildings just off the High Street in Dolgellau, offering excellent quality accommodation be it in the B&B or the Holiday Cottage. We pride ourselves in providing excellent customer service as well as serving a great breakfast lovingly cooked with local produce only. Dolgellau is located some 20 minutes away from the Barmouth Beach and 25 minutes away from Mount Snowdon. Plas Gwyn is located at the foot of Cader Idris for those who are keen on walking and cycling we are the absolute perfect spot ! We offer free private parking, free Wi-Fi, Mini Bar, Alarmed Bicycle Storage and Bicycle Workshop, Tea & Coffee making facilities. All guests are welcome to explore our Garden. We're looking forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Plas Gwyn B&B & Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plas Gwyn B&B & Cottage Dolgellau, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing