We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Idyllic setting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Afon Rhaiadr Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 34 Dolgellau B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Idyllic setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2014

We have just returned from a two night 'KGB Deal', fantastic value. Drive slowly on approach or you may drive past as we did, ha ha. The gardens and surrounding area are beautiful. We stayed in room 3, small but tastefully decorated, only downside was not having en-suite, even tho it has a private bathroom, which is down the hall, and was very nice and roomy, it's a bit annoying in the middle of the night. On saying that I would'nt let it stop me from going back. BREAKFAST! and what a breakfast, we have travelled around on these deals alot and this has got to be the tastiest we've had, good produce and you can tell, go here if only for breakfast! Sorry we did'nt get to meet the owners (except to return keys, lady said she had been ill so I'll let her off) but Claire gave us a warm greeting and served us breakfast with a smile. Do go here.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank linda13whitlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Afon R, Owner at Afon Rhaiadr Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Hi both, thanks for lovely review and sorry I didn't get to meet you, but believe me you didn't want to catch my horrible virus. I'm better but Martin has it now !! See you again in the future and don't forget we have other rooms that are en-suite and superior suites if you want to upgrade.
Best wishes, Jan & Martin & the lovely Clare.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    25
    8
    0
    1
See reviews for
12
195
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
cheshire
Level Contributor
71 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

My partner and I stayed in this beautiful house for one night. It's very tastefully decorated throughout with everything you need to make it a very special break. It's set in beautiful gardens with a waterfall! We had dinner which was excellent and a very good selection was offered for breakfast the following morning. Lots to do and see in the area so I strongly recommend a visit. The only downside is that the place isn't licensed but you can bring your own alcohol and they charge £5 corkage per bottle of wine with dinner so it's not really a problem.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank geraldocheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Afon R, Owner at Afon Rhaiadr Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review, your comments are very much appreciated and we look forward to your return. Jan & Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014

Recently stayed here on a 2 night 'deal'. Lovely peaceful setting but handy for everything. Great room, very clean with all facilities you need. Hosts were friendly and nothing too much trouble. Ate here for the 2 nights and food was exceptionally good, restaurant quality, and plenty of choice at breakfast. Look forward to staying again in the future. Would recommend.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karenp5656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Afon R, Owner at Afon Rhaiadr Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Thank you so much for your review - much appreciated. Jan & Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malpas, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
153 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014

Lovely dog friendly Country House Bed and Breakfast.
We stopped just one night, in room 2, which was excellent.
Great shower room, big comfortable bed and well furnished.
Breakfast was good with wide choice, including vegetarian
Just off a main road, there is a little road noise at the front of the house.
Grounds also very nice, which our dog greatly enjoyed.
We will be back !

Room Tip: Room 2 was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnMalpas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Afon R, Owner at Afon Rhaiadr Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review, much appreciated and we look forward to your return. Jan & Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aston Clinton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014

On arrival on Saturday afternoon, we where greeted by the lovely Claire,who asked us if we would like to dine in with them that evening,then showed us to our room and explained the spa bath settings,before asking us if we we would like 10 minutes to unpack before we went down for our tea and cake. Some ten minutes later we went to the lounge to find our tea already and a lovely warmed chocolate cup cake which was just enough to keep us going until dinner. Dinner was a set menu of soup, quail and seasonal vegetables followed by a crime brûlée which was expertly cooked by Martin (Owner and Chef). (A vegetarian option was available.). Both days breakfasts where good and well cooked and presented. - Full Welsh for me and Porridge for the lady.
Our bedroom - Foxglove was classed as a Superior and was really well appointed with a Spa Bath, the only downside was if you like to stand in a shower then there was no overhead shower however there was a hand held fitted so you could wash etc whilst sitting in the bath.
The hotel has lovely grounds with a stream running through it ,with a waterfall and you are welcome to walk around at your leisure.
The owners Martin and Janet have done a really great job with this hotel and are very attentive as are the rest of the staff at all times.
I would have no hesitation in recommending this guesthouse to anyone.

Room Tip: Room 1 Foxglove if you want the spa bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Afon R, Owner at Afon Rhaiadr Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review, much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Jan & Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

We very much enjoyed our one-night stay here, and would certainly stay again! The room was huge and extremely comfortable (though we did ask for the upgrade) the bathroom was luxurious too. We opted to dine at the restaurant on our night there, and although there were no choices (luckily it was fish that night as I don't eat red or white meat!) it really was great quality, tastefully done, with lovely ingredients. We met the owner (Janet) though not her husband (who I understand is the chef) but he was probably busy in the kitchen! The only downside (and I see I'm not the only one who has said this) is that part of the deal that we had opted for was for hot chocolate and cake on arrival: this was a rather sorry supermarket affair of a chocolate swiss roll and very watery hot chocolate. Neither of us enjoyed that much I have to say! The other thing was that we were given a complimentary bottle of wine, which we were told we could eat at dinner. The wine had a Co-op label on it, and was only very, very average. The worst part was that we were charged £5 corkage for the privilege of drinking it! I doubt the bottle even cost that, so felt a little let down. But not enough for it to affect the fact that I have given a 5-star review - highly recommended, extremely charming place.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chloe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Afon R, Owner at Afon Rhaiadr Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Thank you for all your lovely comments on the room, setting and food, much appreciated. We put the fish on especially for you as you had advised us (as requested) that you didn't like meat. I'm sorry you were not able to have any of Martin's home made cake - we have been so busy that we sometimes have to buy in. Clare and I have a competition to see who likes our hot chocolate the most - she's winning at the moment as she makes it quite strong. As stated we charge corkage for wine with dinner to cover service and guests are usually pleased that we are able to offer this facility. We hope to see you again in the future and are glad that you enjoyed your stay enough to give us top marks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014

We purchased an Amazon deals voucher that was great value for money. 3-miles outside the town with good walks nearby. Unfortunately it was too wet for us to explore the beauty of the area. We had very comfortable room and a luxurious bathroom across the hall. Everyone was very welcoming and breakfast was delicious. Top quality local products in correct portion size that left me feeling very nourished. Will certainly go back to the area next time we visit old friends who live nearby. Lots to do and very picturesque.

Room Tip: Rose has the bathroom across the hall
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trevor R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Afon R, Owner at Afon Rhaiadr Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review - lwe look forward to meeting you again on your return and will try and sort out some decent weather for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dolgellau
5.0 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
15.6 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,392 reviews
3.4 mi away
Y Meirionnydd
Y Meirionnydd
#1 of 3 in Dolgellau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Tan y Gader
Tan y Gader
#2 of 34 in Dolgellau
5.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
1.9 mi away
Pandy Isaf Country House Bed & Breakfast
3.6 mi away
Plas Gwyn B&B & Cottage
Plas Gwyn B&B & Cottage
#3 of 34 in Dolgellau
5.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Afon Rhaiadr Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Afon Rhaiadr Bed and Breakfast

Property: Afon Rhaiadr Bed and Breakfast
Address: Glanrafon A494, Snowdonia National Park, Dolgellau LL40 2AH, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Dolgellau
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Dolgellau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Afon Rhaiadr Bed and Breakfast 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victorian Boutique 5* Gold Award Country House in 3 acres with garden, woodland&waterfalls.Stylish décor, luxury bathrooms, luxury bedding, towels robes etc.Set in stunning scenery of Snowdonia near mountains and coast.Walkers paradise. Cyclists & Adventure attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity and LateRooms so you can book your Afon Rhaiadr Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Afon Rhaiadr Bed And Breakfast Dolgellau, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing