We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another wonderful stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Afon Rhaiadr Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 34 Dolgellau B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Telford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Another wonderful stay”
Reviewed February 7, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights after using a gift voucher. We have stayed here before and I have to say it was just as lovely the 2nd time.
We were greeted by Claire who dealt with us and 2 other couples checking in at the same time quickly, friendly and politely and shown to our room. We had paid extra to to upgrade to a superior room as we did last time and again it was fantastic and worth it.
Breakfast was fantastic, best porridge ever, and hubby's full English looked amazing.
Would fully recommend this place if your looking for somewhere comfy, cozy & just pure luxury this is the place

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank lisamb38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Afon R, Owner at Afon Rhaiadr Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Thank you again for your wonderful comments - we look forward to your return again in the future. Janet, Martin & Clare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    27
    8
    0
    1
See reviews for
15
204
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rochdale
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 4, 2014

It was great to find Jan and Martin again. We last met them at their hotel Tyn Rhos near Carnarvon and were thrilled to find that they are now the owners of this delightful B and B! They are experienced hoteliers and have lived up to their reputation in Afon Rhaiadr! Lovely real fires in the dining room and lounge,fantastic breakfast,wonderful fine dining in the evening,attentive service make this lovely house a real find.Thankyou for the warm welcome........ We will be back!
Pat and Trevor Owe

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Afon R, Owner at Afon Rhaiadr Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
It was just great to see you again and to know that you remember us from our time at our previous hotel. We are so glad that you enjoyed your birthday celebration with us and we enjoyed catching up. Looking forward to the next 'catch up' when you come again. Jan & Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014 via mobile

My partner and I had been treated to a weekend at Afon Rhiadar by a friend and, based on the website photos, it was something we really looked forward to.

We arrived about an hour early and easily found the house just off the road from Bala to Dolegllnau. It is surrounded by woods with a stream in a small gorge at the back flowing through the grounds. Because we were early we weren't sure they would be ready for us and we thought we might not get the promised hot chocolate and cake upon arrival. Although we were early, however, the young woman who welcomed us told us the room was ready and that she would light the fire in the lounge and prepare our hot chocolate.

She showed us to the Iris Room, one of the smaller rooms but beautifully furnished and appointed, with a view out over the woods and stream at the back of the house. The double bed was enormously comfortable with high quality Egyptian cotton bed linen that was extremely comfortable. The bathroom had slate tiling on walls and underfoot, a walk-in shower with an overhead rain fitting and also a wall-mounted hand shower. The floor had underfloor heating and there was a heated towel rail and an anti-misting mirror (which worked a great once we remembered to switch it on!). There were plenty of towels, toiletries and a courtesy tray with real china cups, saucers and a tea pot.

After setting in we went downstairs to the lounge where the fire had indeed been lit and found hot chocolate in a silver cafeteria, chocolate chip biscuits and, again, proper china cups. It was lovely to relax and feel welcomed in this way.

We slept well with the sound of the small waterfall in the grounds drifting in to us. Being on the river side of the house we did not get any traffic noise but I suspect this would be minimal on the front of the house anyway as it is set back about seventy metres from the road and the traffic is only that of a country road.

We got up in the morning and enjoyed the excellent bathroom facilities and then went down to breakfast. The breakfast room is beautifully appointed and a coal fire was burning on both days which was absolutely lovely to breakfast with. There was a full buffet of the usual cereals, fruit, yoghurt, juices etc, which we sampled. I then opted for the full Welsh cooked breakfast whilst my partner had the smoked haddock with a poached egg. Both were beautifully cooked and really set us up for the day. There were also lovely little "trees" of preserves and honey and a pot of what looked like homemade marmalade. Plenty of tea and coffee as well. On the second morning my partner opted for the porridge which came in a huge helping and was beautifully cooked.

During out stay we took the opportunity of walking around the grounds of the house which were wet due to the weather but beautifully appointed with several benches and a gaggle of (metal) geese to greet us. I imagine the gardens would be beautiful to sit in in the summer.

All in all this was a beautiful stay in a lovely house which the owners obviously take great pride in. It is what all B&Bs should be but sadly, seldom are.

We plan to return and will be opting for the glorious looking Foxglove room with its spa bah and kingsize bed.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank DamianHamill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Afon R, Owner at Afon Rhaiadr Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Wow. what a wonderful review we are delighted that you appreciated all our hard work and the little touches that we have added for guests comfort. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We spent two nights here in the middle of December and had a very pleasant stay. The double room was furnished and decorated to a high standard, and despite being quite small was very cosy. The en-suite was very modern and clean with a dual shower head!

Being in Snowdonia National Park, the surroundings were really beautiful and we were able to visit many other areas of the park during our stay. The only downside to the location is being unable to walk to the nearby pubs in the evenings!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Afon R, Owner at Afon Rhaiadr Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for your comments. Best wishes Jan & Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evenley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2013

We spent two nights recently at this B&B with a gift voucher for my wife's birthday.We could not have chosen better.On arrival Jan showed us around our room and the house and then served us tea and hot mince pies in the lounge.That set the tone for a super stay.The room was well furnished and spotlessly clean,soft furnishings were of a high standard and added a bit luxury.
Breakfast was beautifully presented,tasty and satisfying.

We had booked for meal on our second night ,and wow we're we surprised.Martin is a gourmet chef and did not disappoint,it was truly superb.We provided our own wine and corkage at £5 was very reasonable.

All in all a first rate B&B which we can wholeheartedly recommend.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrackleySid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Afon R, Owner at Afon Rhaiadr Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments - we look forward to your return in the Summer months.
best wishes. Jan & Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

My wife and I had a two night break. A warm welcome, a very clean and fresh room ( Rose )
and a luxurious bathroom. Breakfasts are excellent and freshly cooked as desired. The hosts are very friendly and helpful. Would return in the summer to explore the area more fully. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gobinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Afon R, Owner at Afon Rhaiadr Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments, we look forward to seeing you again in the Summer. Best wishes Jan & Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathgate
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights on our trip to N.Wales.
We had a very warm welcome from Jan and Martin on the first night and a lovely dinner was waiting upon our arrival. The food was excellent (cooked by the host himself) and even a top quality restaurant would be pleased to serve it. Menu is a bit limited but it's understandable considering that cottage only serves 5 rooms when fully booked, and I'm sure Jan and Martin would make sure that even the fussiest guest gets feed. The cottage is lovely and decorated with fine taste for antic furniture. Dining room has a great real fireplace which adds to the atmosphere and Jan made sure for relaxing music to play in the back ground - it's hard to find more romantic setting for couples to have a short break in Snowdonia. We stayed in room 4 with a very modern and clean en-suite. The bed was big and very comfy almost like home. Breakfast was exceptional with great choice of continental or cooked food and all very tasty. We didn't have much time to admire the gardens as we were out early doors and back late at night and the sunlight hours aren't great in October. Overall I would definitely recommend this place and I will go back on my next trip to N.Wales.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cezar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet J, Owner at Afon Rhaiadr Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you both for your lovely review, much appreciated. Thank you for your appreciation of the time and attention to detail given to providing a 'set menu' meal rather than trying to offer a choice menu and not being able to give the attention than Martin likes to devote to each course and the selection of vegetables all individually prepared and with their own delicious flavours.We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Best wishes Jan & Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dolgellau
5.0 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
327 reviews
3.4 mi away
Y Meirionnydd
Y Meirionnydd
#1 of 3 in Dolgellau
308 reviews
4.0 mi away
Plas Dolmelynllyn Hall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Pandy Isaf Country House Bed & Breakfast
3.5 mi away
Tan y Gader
Tan y Gader
#2 of 34 in Dolgellau
145 reviews
2.2 mi away
Dolgun Uchaf  B & B
Dolgun Uchaf B & B
#13 of 34 in Dolgellau
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Afon Rhaiadr Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Afon Rhaiadr Bed and Breakfast

Property: Afon Rhaiadr Bed and Breakfast
Address: Glanrafon A494, Snowdonia National Park, Dolgellau LL40 2AH, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Dolgellau
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Dolgellau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Afon Rhaiadr Bed and Breakfast 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victorian Boutique 5* Gold Award Country House in 3 acres with garden, woodland&waterfalls.Stylish décor, luxury bathrooms, luxury bedding, towels robes etc.Set in stunning scenery of Snowdonia near mountains and coast.Walkers paradise. Cyclists & Adventure attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Afon Rhaiadr Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Afon Rhaiadr Bed And Breakfast Dolgellau, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing