We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely place to stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Afon Rhaiadr Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 33 Dolgellau B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A lovely place to stay.”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Stayed at the end of August in the "Rose " room, lovely comfortable bed, very modern detached toilet room. Absolutely no complaints. Janet and Martin were fantastic hosts, joining us for a chat one evening after a superb dinner. (The Bread and Butter pudding was to die for !!). The location of the House is close to Dolgellau on the Bala Road.. Very quiet with lovely gardens. I will not consider staying anywhere else when I visit Snowdonia.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Afon R, Owner at Afon Rhaiadr Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We look forward to meeting you again. Best wishes Jan & Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    27
    8
    0
    1
See reviews for
13
200
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Overall, lovely character country house in quiet secluded position offering excellent Welsh hospitality, lovely room & breakfast, representing great value via Buy a Gift offer. Good touring base, but slightly remote so need a car for town (3 miles), pubs & walking etc. Room 3 well equipped if a little cramped. Separate luxury bathroom with fab shower. Breakfast choice & quality is fine, although evening meal menu & corkage seemed pricey.
Definitely would return.

Room Tip: Room 3 is lovely if cramped, but excellent separate bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Afon R, Owner at Afon Rhaiadr Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We look forward to meeting you again. Best wishes Jan & Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey Uk
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

A lovely secluded location in it's own grounds with a woodland walk by a beautiful stream - make sure you take a few minutes to have a wander.
The room we stayed in was very clean and comfortable, with a great shower. The breakfast's were great (our only regret is that on neither of the nights we stayed dinner was available).
Both Janet and Martin were very helpful and friendly. They even dropped us off and picked us up on our first night at a local pub, because there weren't any taxis available over the bank holiday weekend.

Room Tip: Only tip I can think of, is to try and make booking when dinner is being served (Wednesdays to Satur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keithSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Afon R, Owner at Afon Rhaiadr Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We look forward to meeting you again. Best wishes Jan & Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle-under-lyme, staffs
Level Contributor
157 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for two night's, the 1st & 2nd Sept, This is a Country House in a lovely setting, and is just an amazing place to stay, our room , "honeysuckle" was very very comfortable, beautifully decorated, and a lovely shower/bathroom. We arrived late Sunday afternoon, and Janet, the owner offered us tea in the lounge, proper tea, in fine bone china ware, both lounge and conservatory are very nicely furnished rooms to wind down and relax in. By arrangement they cooked dinner for us, which is not usually available on Sunday's, superb food!, If your staying here try and choose night's when dinner is available, its a must!. There's nothing negative to say about this place, everyone was very friendly and helpful in making our two night's stay very memorable.

Room Tip: room 2 Honeysuckle, its a large room, with a super shower/ bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Afon R, Owner at Afon Rhaiadr Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We look forward to meeting you again. Best wishes Jan & Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

This B and B is one of the best We have ever visited. Friendly and welcoming. Clean, spacious rooms in keeping with the farmhouse style. Excellent service from beginning to end.

All food served was of a high standard. We booked in for an evening meal which was outstanding. Definitely recommend to eat here.

Overall a great place to stay. Close enough to Dolgellau, Barmouth and plenty of other places nearby. Highly recommended and can't wait to return

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vhancock82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet J, Owner at Afon Rhaiadr Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank you both for taking the time to write such a lovely review. Much appreciated and we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to meeting you again. Jan & Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 21, 2013

A great place to stay. We loved the room which was incredibly clean and well laid out, we thought the food was Biblical! We selected the Snowdon get away which was great value for money including a magical cream tea upon arrival and a lake side steam train ride. Both hosts, Janet and Martin, were incredibly friendly, welcoming and polite. Would defiantly recommend and return.

Zoe & Liam

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet J, Owner at Afon Rhaiadr Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Hi Zoe & Liam -
Thank you for a lovely review. The steam train break has been very popular and we will run it again next year - hopefully we will see you again and as a valued returning guest we will add another little gift to your break. Take care of yourselves and best wishes from Jan & Martin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belper
1 review
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We have just had the most relaxing stay at the Afron Rhaiadr. The house is beautiful, calm and peaceful and the owners are very friendly. We stayed in one of the superior rooms which was gorgeous and very comfortable. Breakfast was amazing, with so much choice. We dined on one evening and the food was fantastic, in fact it looked and tasted very special. Would recommend this hotel to anyone and we will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sutrapenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet J, Owner at Afon Rhaiadr Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to meeting you again. Best wishes from Jan & Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dolgellau
5.0 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
15.6 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,407 reviews
3.4 mi away
Y Meirionnydd
Y Meirionnydd
#1 of 3 in Dolgellau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Tan y Gader
Tan y Gader
#2 of 33 in Dolgellau
5.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
1.9 mi away
Pandy Isaf Country House Bed & Breakfast
3.6 mi away
Plas Gwyn B&B & Cottage
Plas Gwyn B&B & Cottage
#3 of 33 in Dolgellau
5.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Afon Rhaiadr Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Afon Rhaiadr Bed and Breakfast

Property: Afon Rhaiadr Bed and Breakfast
Address: Glanrafon A494, Snowdonia National Park, Dolgellau LL40 2AH, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Dolgellau
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Dolgellau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Afon Rhaiadr Bed and Breakfast 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victorian Boutique 5* Gold Award Country House in 3 acres with garden, woodland&waterfalls.Stylish décor, luxury bathrooms, luxury bedding, towels robes etc.Set in stunning scenery of Snowdonia near mountains and coast.Walkers paradise. Cyclists & Adventure attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Afon Rhaiadr Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Afon Rhaiadr Bed And Breakfast Dolgellau, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing