We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Ideal place to get away from the rat race”
other travelers have booked this property
Ysgubor (The barn).
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Ysgubor (The barn).
View from garden and BBQ area, lambs can be seen in Spring-time The log store
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
37 reviews
Ysgubor (The barn).
View from garden and BBQ area, lambs can be seen in Spring-time
The log store
Cottage 2 Ty Golchi's garden
Bluebells on the drive up to the cottages
Torrent walk, accessible from the cottage
View from cottage towards a hill Moel Caerynwch
Cregennan Lake nearby
Overlooking Barmouth from Cregennan Lake
Cregennan Lake on the foothills of Cader Idris mountain
Cader Idris above the clouds
Aran fawddwy
Diffwys
Games Room
View from Ysgubor Patio.
Ysgubor fireplace.
Ysgubor
Ysgubor.
Ysgubor Patio doors
Ysgubor twin bedroom.
Ysgubor
Ysgubor double beamed bedroom.
Games Room
Y stabal Kitchen.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Dolgellau, Snowdonia National Park, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
478lindsa...
West Midlands, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ideal place to get away from the rat race”
Reviewed November 7, 2017 for a stay in November 2017

We booked Ysgubor Cottage as part of a 40th birthday celebration for a three night stay. It was lovely to get away from the rat race of the Midlands and enjoy some family time.

Lovely, comfortable cottage with great views. Plenty of space for the nine of us (plus one dog). Everyone enjoyed having a pool tournament in the games room - the winner is still trying to decide what to do with his 80p winnings! The cottage had everything you would need, although some oven gloves would be appreciated.

As we were here for Bonfire Night, we enjoyed fireworks, entertainment and a hog roast provided by the Cross Foxes. Would recommend a visit.

We enjoyed a windy walk along Barmouth Beach and the stunning views from Harlech Castle. Unfortunately, we didn't have time to do any of the walks but would love to return to put this right.

Thank you for the warm welcome (ice and welsh cakes appreciated) and allowing us to have a little extra time for check out. I hope we will return again soon. We were all sad to leave!

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 20, 2017
So glad that you enjoyed your stay with us for the birthday celebrations, was a pleasure having you here. Oven gloves usually provided must've been an oversight on this occasion sorry, but thank you for telling me. Hopefully see you again sometime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mailezara
Port Lincoln, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Oh but the shower!”
Reviewed November 4, 2017 for a stay in November 2017

We stayed in the stable after our hike up Snowdon and we were in love with this cottage!! Although we only stayed for one night, our host (janet?) Made us feel super welcome and showed us into the cutest most cozy cottage we've ever stayed in. It was so welcome after a long hike up Snowdon.

My personal favorite was the shower, hot, excellent pressure and just so good. The beds were extremely comfy! The whole place was so clean! Although very small, but what else do you expect from a cottage?? It was just perfect in every way! Free wifi, sky tv, heating. Just perfect. Could not fault the place!!

And of course there was the wild birds!! Got up in the morning to look out the kitchen window at the bird feeder and whose gobbling up all the food, but a red crested wood pecker! Couldn't believe my eyes!

We all said as we drove away, we wish we'd stayed longer and that we would definitely stay there again! It was an amazing cottage and we loved it!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 5, 2017
Thank you so much glad you enjoyed your stay and Woody made a visit! It's so nice to be appreciated and lovely to meet you.Janet.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjamin...
1 review
“Wonderful countryside, wonderful cottage!”
Reviewed September 11, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We had a lovely few days staying at the Ysgubor Cottage.
Very comfortable; wish we could have stayed longer.
The cottage had every detail we needed, and the proprietor went above and beyond, helping us make the arrangements when our rental car had a puncture.
The children especially loved the horses and other animals nearby.
If we're able to come back someday, we may even learn to pronounce Dolgellau correctly!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carolinem...
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect for a large family with a dog”
Reviewed August 3, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

This cottage was just right for us, 5 of us +dog stayed for 2 weeks and 7 others visited during that time. The games room was a hit with the teenagers . Janet and Adam were welcoming and helpful, nothing too much trouble. There are some great walks in the area, with printed guides to some in the welcome folder. We enjoyed meals at the Cross Foxes and George III, plus Roberts cafe in town. Barmouth, Zip World, Snowdon and Portmerion were all highlights.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 7, 2017
Thank you very much for your review and glad that you enjoyed your stay. Lovely to meet you. Janet
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dreamer54...
1 review
“Housekeeping is holding this place back.”
Reviewed July 1, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

This idyllic cottage transported the six of us to another world. The sheep and horses only added to the scenery. Upon our excited arrival we were disappointed to find no soap or towels. We had to wash the dirty dishes, utensils and microwave before we could use them. When we finally did receive our towels they were scratchy, spotted with bleach, and smelled musty and there were too few of them.
The bathrooms lacked enough storage or shelving and mirrors were scarce.
We are being picky because the cottage has so much potential. We had been traveling for three weeks all over the UK and we had a very good idea of what others offered.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 2, 2017
Thank you for your comments and glad that you enjoyed your stay as a whole. Being self-catering I provide hand wash, washing up liquid, dish washer tablets etc but unlike hotels don't supply soap, shampoo etc. I understand that when guests are travelling like you were then this is a little difficult, therefore if guests ask (as they have done on numerous occasions) I'm more than happy to always supply them if needed. Also, all linen is included but towels need to be asked for in advance and there should be an extra charge (which I never do charge people to be honest). On this occasion the other cottages had a supply of towels and the ones washed that day had been out on the washing line rather than the dryer hence not as soft I'm sorry. As far as the dishes etc I can only apologise if that was the case. We pride ourselves on cleanliness and can only think that this was an oversight on this occasion. I hope that you enjoyed the remainder of your holiday. Janet.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jennym672...
Runcorn, United Kingdom
1 review
“50th birthday at maes helmau cottages”
Reviewed June 12, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Lovely cottage everything we needed, fantastic outdoor space and views. Great chill out and will definitely be returning

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 14, 2017
Glad you enjoyed your stay Nd hopefully see you again. Thank you, janet.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cupcakecr...
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Love staying here”
Reviewed June 10, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Our second visit ( hopefully many more to come) 4 night stay this time.
I just love everything about the cottages and the location.
Stayed in Ty Golchi a beautiful stone cottage..so lovely with all the home comforts you need.Very cosy at night with the log burner and fairy lights. Watching woodpeckers feed right outside of the window at breakfast. The owners are so welcoming and there's milk in the fridge tea coffee and Welsh cakes ready for when you arrive. Horses in the field which the children love to feed..sheep cows and calves..childrens swings..its perfect. A great location within easy reach of Barmouth ( fabulous for crabbing in the harbour and a beautiful beach).
Pet friendly accommodation
It's just perfect

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 11, 2017
So happy that you've enjoyed your stay again, so lovely that you appreciate our surroundings. It's been a pleasure having you to stay again and hopefully see you again soon, thanks again, janet.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing