We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Quaint and homey cottage, beautiful location”
other travelers have booked this property
Ysgubor (The barn).
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Ysgubor (The barn).
View from garden and BBQ area, lambs can be seen in Spring-time The log store
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
36 reviews
Ysgubor (The barn).
View from garden and BBQ area, lambs can be seen in Spring-time
The log store
Cottage 2 Ty Golchi's garden
Bluebells on the drive up to the cottages
Torrent walk, accessible from the cottage
View from cottage towards a hill Moel Caerynwch
Cregennan Lake nearby
Overlooking Barmouth from Cregennan Lake
Cregennan Lake on the foothills of Cader Idris mountain
Cader Idris above the clouds
Aran fawddwy
Diffwys
Games Room
View from Ysgubor Patio.
Ysgubor fireplace.
Ysgubor
Ysgubor.
Ysgubor Patio doors
Ysgubor twin bedroom.
Ysgubor
Ysgubor double beamed bedroom.
Games Room
Y stabal Kitchen.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Dolgellau, Snowdonia National Park, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Herbie777...
Herefordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Quaint and homey cottage, beautiful location”
Reviewed January 27, 2016 for a stay in January 2016

Lovely stone cottage, very comfortable and toastie warm with central heating and a log burner in the living area. Very well equiped kitchen, which made cooking for a large family group easy. Ideal location close to coast, mountains and lakes, so plenty to do in the locality. Fantastic views and a great outdoor area which would be great in Spring/Summer. Very happy weekend break.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 28, 2016
Thank you very much for your review and glad that you enjoyed your stay at the cottage. We ensure that the cottages are warm enough and plenty of hot water supplied to welcome guests after a day outdoors! Hopefully see you again sometime. Regards, Janet.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JerryTaur...
Mumbai, India
1 review
“Awesome Experience, wonderful hosts!”
Reviewed January 11, 2016 for a stay in May 2015

We were 2 families with young kids who rented the cottage for 2 days in May 2015. It was a truly memorable experience for us with - cozy enchanted cottage right out of a fairy tale, scenic views all around, friendly horses and very warm and helpful hosts ( Janet & mom in law) who went out of their way and made it a very comfortable and pleasant stay for us. Thanks!

How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Warmth of the host & pretty cottage
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 19, 2016
Great to meet you all and thank you for the lovely review. Maybe see you again sometime :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tina2460
uk
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Very cosy & homely!”
Reviewed September 14, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

What a lovely cottage, we had a wonderful welcome, we had milk, tea, coffee sugar & lovely welsh cakes for our arrival. All the cleaning bits & bobs too! Washing up liquid, dishwasher tablets, cloths and tea towel! This is very high in my books for a great start to a weekend away. The cottage was really cosy & very homely. Extremely well equipped, lovely fresh smelling bed linen. Would highly recommend and would definitely stay again! Thank you for a wonderful stay! Xx

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 12, 2016
Thank you for your review, glad everything was to your liking and hopefully see you again sometime. Janet.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mum-rin
manchester
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage for a weekend Getaway”
Reviewed July 13, 2015 for a stay in February 2015
2
people found this review helpful

This is the second time we have stayed in Ysgubor (The Barn) and each time we fall in love with the place even more. The cottage has everything we need for a short getaway, it is very well equipped for all ages and the kitchen has every utensil you need, the owners are super friendly and welcoming too.

The cottage is clean and the kids and adults alike love the games room. The view from the cottage is amazing and your local to explore this lovely part of Wales and Snowdonia. We did a day trip to Barmouth as it's close by.

Would not hesitate in booking to stay here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 14, 2015
Thank you so much for your review, glad you enjoyed your second stay with us. We are very lucky that guests do visit us more than once, which hopefully is a good sign! Hopefully see you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jrkleices...
Leicester
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great weekend stay”
Reviewed June 16, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Rented this cottage for a lads' weekend away - 2 night stay, Fri-Sun - as a base for our walking and cycling. It comfortably accommodated the 6 of us. There's plenty of room in the communal living space and there are two bathrooms (always a bonus!).
The setting is beautiful and the facilities excellent. We made good use of the games room and the owner kindly let us lock our bikes in there overnight. There was plenty of parking room for our 4 cars.
The owner is very friendly and couldn't have been more helpful.
Only one note of caution: beware low door openings! I am 5'10" tall and just about scraped under the (padded) lintel of the front door. The door into the family bedroom is lower still. But this didn't detract from a very enjoyable stay.

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The location.
Liked least: The slow Wi-Fi.
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 17, 2015
Thank you for your review and glad you enjoyed your stay, it was a pleasure having you all here. Due to the nature and character of the old barn building, the doorways are low (don't suppose the animals needed the headroom!) Luckily I'm only 5'2" so there are advantages to being short! Thanks again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alanmead
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed June 4, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

My wife booked this place - reasonably priced, cottage in a good location.
The cottages themselves were really nicely decorated and well kitted out.
The location is great, easy to find, just off a main road but still quiet and peaceful.
The kids really enjoyed their visit, they loved feeding the horses apples.
Great place to stay - I'd definitely recommend it.

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 5, 2015
Glad you enjoyed your stay and the horses love being fed apples! Really appreciate your time taken to review our properties. Hopefully see you again sometime..Many Thanks, Janet.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DJones198...
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“better than i could have imagined”
Reviewed April 1, 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I booked Helmau cottage for a long weekend away with my family. The cottage is really homely and well laid out with impecable attention to detail in the small things provided that make a weekend away easier. Location is fantastic with a walks through woods and along waterfalls just below the property.
The owners are in the adjacent house and very friendly.
There is excellent provision in the games room for wet days, alternatively the log fire gives you something to look forward to if you'd prefer to try any of the many mountains in the area.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 3, 2015
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review. Glad you enjoyed your stay and walks in the area
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing