We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dwy Olwyn Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #26 of 34 Dolgellau B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Stayed here one night. Picked it off a list without much info and were pleased with our luck. Our host was most welcoming and helpful. We had room with big windows and incredible views.
This place is very comfortable and the breakfast delicious.
It was a little difficult to find as we did not plan ahead, had no directions and arriving later in the day. However, Norma's coaching on phone was spot on and the drive up the hillside was so worth it. The town is well located. We did not hike but it is obvious many coming to this region do and this would be good base camp.

Room Tip: Ask for the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (55)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 55 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2012

I stayed here 4 nights, primarily to climb Cader Idris. Perfect place, quiet (I am a light sleeper so I really appreciate this) and very welcoming. The centre of Dolgellau is within walking distance with nice pubs & bus station. Also suitable for bad weather alternatives, the Centre for Alternative Technology can be reached by bus from here and some nice low level walks in the neighbourhood.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Stayed here for one night at the weekend. Norma was lovely, especially considering we did not book the room till the day we needed it. We used the family room in the annex which although a little dated was perfectly adequate for our needs. There was a good supply of tea/coffee in the room with a kettle, microwave and fridge. There was also a TV and hairdryer. The breakfast was lovely with cereals, toast and cooked breakfast with juice, tea or coffee. The view from the front of the building is beautiful. A perfect location within easy reach of many other tourist attractions including the reason for our own stay, the fantastic Barmouth beach.

We will consider using again if the need arises.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lucky-mum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

i stayed here 2 nights with a friend because its local to the Coed y Brenin mountain bike trails centre and it was perfect, the Lady of the house was very pleasant, the annex where we stayed was fully equipped with a fridge and a microwave and the usual tea and coffee making facilities, and there was a nice big shed to store the bikes in at night couldnt have asked for more.

the breakfast in the morning was a full english (a proper full english) and taking in the veiws when you exit the annex to go to dinning room in the main house is the best way to start your day.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maverickspecies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2012

On the edge of Snowdonia, this B&B offered fantastic views over the valley, yet there was no noise of traffic from the busy road leading into Dolgellau. We stayed two nights, enjoyed good breakfasts and long conversations with Norma, whose hospitality was second to none. An excellent base for seeing the surrounding area. The only niggle, if it can be called that, is that in the twin bedroom the second bed was a little too close to the wall making that side of the bed less easy to get in and out of.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cappacino_Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2012

Arrived late but we had a warm welcome. Room was cosy with good facilities. Woke up to a fantastic view of Cadair Idris. Spectacular on this sunny morning. Breakfast was very nice and set us up for the day, travelling on to a wedding at Llanrwst.
Thank you Norma for your hospitality.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Larnyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2012

I booked this for a 3 night stay with my wife & friends over Easter. We had an excellent stay with Norma & her husband, the breakfasts were spot on & you could not of asked for a more friendly or helpful service from our hosts. Fantastic gardens & views over the Valley in very comfortable accommodation. Good base for MTBers with bike wash & lock up.
We will return.

Room Tip: The twin room has the view over the valley
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dolgellau hotels
0.5 mi away
The Royal Ship Hotel
The Royal Ship Hotel
#7 of 34 in Dolgellau
512 reviews
0.8 mi away
Dolgun Uchaf  B & B
Dolgun Uchaf B & B
#13 of 34 in Dolgellau
138 reviews
2.2 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Coed Cae Bed & Breakfast
Coed Cae Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 3 in Llanelltyd
243 reviews
2.3 mi away
Cross Foxes - Bar Grill Rooms
2.8 mi away
Heulwen Guest House
Heulwen Guest House
#1 of 1 in Llanfachreth
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dwy Olwyn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dwy Olwyn Bed & Breakfast

Address: Dwy Olwyn Coed-y-Fronallt Estate, Snowdonia National Park, Dolgellau LL40 2YG, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Dolgellau
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Dolgellau
Price Range: $98 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dwy Olwyn Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at Dwy Olwyn, a spacious comfortable family run guest house which has been operating for over 20 years, south facing, in an acre of landscaped gardens. In a peaceful location yet only 10 minutes walk from the quaint market town of Dolgellau. Good home cooking - hearty or vegetarian option. Dwy Olwyn is located in Snowdonia, and this is an ideal starting point for touring the whole of North Wales, with its beautiful scenery.There are magnificent views of the Cader Idris mountain range and neighbouring countryside. Dwy Olwyn is within the Snowdonia National Park, convenient for sandy beaches, pony trekking, narrow gauge steam railways, golf, fishing, Centre for Alternative Technology, RSPB sanctuary, and many picturesque walks including the famous Precipice Walk high above the beautiful Mawddach Estuary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Dwy Olwyn Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dwy Olwyn Bed & Breakfast Dolgellau, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing