We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well and quietly located. Nice and helpful staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dwy Olwyn Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dwy Olwyn Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #23 of 34 Dolgellau B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Well and quietly located. Nice and helpful staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2011

The lady running the B&B was really helpful. She cooks a nice breakfast. The BB is located in a quiet area, close to the village and a Eurospar supermarket that closes at 10pm. Good if you arrive late to the BB.
The room had microwave, fridge, tea&coffe facilities and so on. All very clean.

No complains at all. If so, just beware that the google map location of the B&B is not accurate.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Angel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    12
    2
    2
    3
See reviews for
13
8
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2011

My family and I spent 2 nights at Dwy Olwyn in Dolgellau as we wanted to go mountain biking at nearby Coed y Brenin bike trails. The location was super and Norma was very hospitable and helpful. The family room was very clean and spacious. We hope to be back next year, highly recommended B&B.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank caroline J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2011

Stayed for five nights, location was great and within easy reach of mountain walks
Hospitally was excellent, friendly and welcoming
Lovely bedroom with en-suite faciliteis

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Nicola T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2011

Had a wonderful stay. Clean rooms, excellent breakfast and amazing views out of the bedroom window. Excellent value for money. Very welcoming and would definately recommend a stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ssparks111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2011

Four friends and I had booked well in advance to spend the night in Dolgellau for a friends wedding. When we telephoned on the morning of the wedding to ask when we could book in we were told that our room had been given to someone else. The whole weekend was ruined as I spent the day of the wedding desperatley looking for somewhere else to stay. DO NOT STAY HERE!

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2011

The family room at the dwy olwyn bed and breakfast was the only accommodation we could find due to a sheep dog trial in Machynlleth. We arrived too late to refuse the room. The room was a temporary structure next to the house. First impression was that it smelt damp and the en-suite was ridiculously small (a toilet and a shower in a cupboard, the wash basin was in the room). When we got into bed the sheets felt damp and I thought they smelt of Izal disinfectant, at least I hope that’s what it was. We were told that our breakfast would be at 9:15. The breakfast, was poor, streaky bacon and barely cooked sausages. Some of the breakfast was served by a man who did not mind admitting that he had been tending to the horses and he had clearly not changed his clothes since, they were filthy.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PatrickHRGavin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dolgellau
3.6 mi away
Plas Dolmelynllyn Hall Hotel
2.2 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
0.8 mi away
Dolgun Uchaf  B & B
Dolgun Uchaf B & B
#12 of 34 in Dolgellau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ivy House
Ivy House
#14 of 34 in Dolgellau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
0.6 mi away
Plas Gwyn B&B & Cottage
Plas Gwyn B&B & Cottage
#3 of 34 in Dolgellau
5.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
2.8 mi away
Heulwen Guest House
Heulwen Guest House
#1 of 1 in Llanfachreth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dwy Olwyn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dwy Olwyn Bed & Breakfast

Property: Dwy Olwyn Bed & Breakfast
Address: Dwy Olwyn Coed-y-Fronallt Estate, Snowdonia National Park, Dolgellau LL40 2YG, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Dolgellau
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Dolgellau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dwy Olwyn Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at Dwy Olwyn, a spacious comfortable family run guest house which has been operating for over 20 years, south facing, in an acre of landscaped gardens. In a peaceful location yet only 10 minutes walk from the quaint market town of Dolgellau. Good home cooking - hearty or vegetarian option. Dwy Olwyn is located in Snowdonia, and this is an ideal starting point for touring the whole of North Wales, with its beautiful scenery.There are magnificent views of the Cader Idris mountain range and neighbouring countryside. Dwy Olwyn is within the Snowdonia National Park, convenient for sandy beaches, pony trekking, narrow gauge steam railways, golf, fishing, Centre for Alternative Technology, RSPB sanctuary, and many picturesque walks including the famous Precipice Walk high above the beautiful Mawddach Estuary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Dwy Olwyn Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dwy Olwyn Bed & Breakfast Dolgellau, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing