We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm and friendly”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dolgellau
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tan-y-fron B&B Guest House
Ranked #21 of 34 Dolgellau B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 14, 2013

A warm welcome in a well kept guest house with all the usual facilities. The room was clean, confortable and cosy. Nothing was too much trouble and the location was excellent for both Cadair Idris and the centre of the village about a 5 minute walk away. Will certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TomandPatg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (54)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 54 reviews

Reviewed October 5, 2012

I have stayed at this b&b twice now & will def be returning. i have stayed in the Hendy appartment which was excellent for a group of mountain bikers (or a family) having two double/twin rooms excellent bathroom & its own lounge to relax in after a hard day riding. This stay was in room 4 at the front of the main house the room was spacious, clean & had a good tv , fridge & kettle with tea & coffee & a nice view, the bathroom had all the soaps ,shower gels etc & the shower its self was great. the cooked breakfast was very good with thick cut bacon ,poached eggs, etc. The owners were very friendly helping us out with washing powder when we wanted to use their laundry room to wash our riding kit this was great meaning we could wash & tumble dry our wet kit ready for the next day. The B&B is in easy walking distance of the town & they have a secure lock up if your bringing your expensive bike along,

Room Tip: rooms to the front have good views. apartments excellent for familys with children
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trevor F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2012

We (4 mountain biking guys) stayed here as a base for the nearby Coed Y Brenin trail centre.
We stayed in the Hendy suite. A self contained lodge/chalet with two double rooms. The place was spotless clean and very well equipped (tv, DVD player, great shower etc) and as warm as you wanted as its central heated. Yes the decor is a bit old fashioned and yes it would benefit from a redecorate (not shabby by any means however) but for the price we paid, we were very satisfied. With a drying room nearby ( great for getting wet kit ready for the next day) and secure bike storage and bike wash it was a perfect base. The owners couldn't do enough to help and the hearty breakfasts were a welcome start to a day in the saddle. It's a ten min walk into the centre with pubs and restaurants a-plenty, perfect, and a 10 min car journey to the trail centre, bonza!
We were so impressed with this place that I plan to stay again with the family as do the other guys in our group.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PedroBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2012

We stayed at Tan-y-fron for our Easter break. We had a double en-suite, very clean and very well presented. Our room was to the front of the B&B and had great views. Sue and Elfed are great hosts. The breakfast was fantastic with vegetarian cooked option. The B&B is very close to the town-centre - only about 5 minutes walk.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LunarRoads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2011

arrived friday evening after circumnavigating the weekend traffic to be warmly welcomed by sue and shown sraight to our double en suite(room 2) at the front of the house. great decor with a warm and cosy feeling . sue and elfed were both great hosts, nothing was too much trouble.As we were there to partake in a spot of hillwalking sue suggested a 4mile jaunt that was superb, a map and instructions were duly supplied and we were not disappointed!!
breakfast was great and so was the fireworks display that i paid for!!! (anniversary present for the missus)on the saturday evening(nov 5th!!!**) i think i might have been rumbled!
100% hospitality from two 100% hosts!!

Room Tip: all rooms are to a high standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Igster53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2011

The view from our window was stunning. The owners were especially attentive and provided information about walks and stores we would enjoy.

Bill and Nancy Jones
Minnesota, USA

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nancy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2011

Stayed in the apartment slightly separate from b&b. Owners were friendly and easy going. Apartment is ideal for group of 4 bikers such as ourselves as had small lounge which was handy for relaxing in before heading to pub, bathroom was bright and clean, with great shower, whilst the two bedrooms were simple but fine for a weekend stop. Bike storage was available and site is part of a caravan park with secure gate and plenty of parking. Short (5 min) walk into town. No complaints, would definitely use again.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nealcorbett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dolgellau hotels
2.3 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
343 reviews
0.9 mi away
Dolgun Uchaf  B & B
Dolgun Uchaf B & B
#12 of 34 in Dolgellau
138 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Royal Ship Hotel
The Royal Ship Hotel
#7 of 34 in Dolgellau
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Coed Cae Bed & Breakfast
Coed Cae Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 3 in Llanelltyd
243 reviews
2.1 mi away
Cross Foxes - Bar Grill Rooms
3.2 mi away
Heulwen Guest House
Heulwen Guest House
#1 of 1 in Llanfachreth
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tan-y-fron B&B Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tan-y-fron B&B Guest House

Address: Arran Road, Snowdonia National Park, Dolgellau LL40 1LA, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Dolgellau
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Dolgellau
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a peaceful relaxing break in this traditional stone built house with modern facilities located ½ mile from the old market town of Dolgellau near the famous Mawddach Estuary trail, Coed y Brenin forestry centre and Cadair Idris in the heart of Snowdonia National Park, Gwynedd, North Wales. Ideal base for looking at the spectacular scenery of countryside, mountains, rivers, forests, lakes and the nearby coast. Tan-y-fron Bed and Breakfast accommodation of 3 en-suite rooms and 2 B&B suite/apartments with scenic views off road private parking, secure cycle storage, laundry facilities, wi/fi. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tan-y-Fron B&B Guest House Dolgellau, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing