We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent stay with fantastic views & amenities”
other travelers have booked this property
View from the garden showing Cader Idris mountain range and beyond to Barmouth blue flag beach
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from the garden showing Cader Idris mountain range and beyond to Barmouth blue flag beach
The stunning master bedroom with its own balcony and stunning veiws Stunning summertime views over the valley
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
50 reviews
View from the garden showing Cader Idris mountain range and beyond to Barmouth blue flag beach
The stunning master bedroom with its own balcony and stunning veiws
Stunning summertime views over the valley
View of the house from the rear garden
The welcoming lounge with 50inch plasma, Sky TV, free wifi, swivel cuddle chair, DVD's & bo
Beautiful luxurious master bedroom with magnificent views and extra large diamante headboard
The inviting main entrance to one of the best views in Wales
Contemporary kitchen with utility room & access to the garden through patio door in the dining a
Bedroom two with views of the Cader Idris Mountain Range and quality solid oak furniture
Have a soak in the deep 'Victoria & Albert' bath after a long walk, golfing or mountai
Cosy bedroom three can be converted to a king size bed. This room faces the road.
Walk out to the patio and garden from the lounge which has two 4'6' double sofabeds &
Admire the breathtaking view from your balcony with breakfast for 2 or relax and watch the sunseting
Fully tiled bathroom with separate corner shower and heated towel rail & one hand towel in each
Bedroom 2 set up with super king size bed which can be converted to 2 full size singles
Sunset over Cadre Idris mountain range during the winter months is not to be missed if it snows!
Stunning winter views from the patio make you feel like you could be in Switzerland when it's s
Stunning lake view from the summit of Cader Idris mountain range if you make it to the top!
Beautiful Barmouth blue flag beach is just a short drive or 8 mile flat picturesque bicycle ride
Mountain biking mecca Coed Y Brenin is a short drive away with stunning walks & class bike trail
Relax in the garden or on the patio and have a real fire going in the chimenea for the evening
Snow all winter on Cader Idris Mountains & when the sky clears it is a magnificent view
Stunning views during the summer months are a dream to wake up to & watch the changes for hours
Main entrance to the house from the road with parking space for 2 cars & a secure garage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Dolgellau, Snowdonia National Park, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 50 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Reuben B
Rugeley, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent stay with fantastic views & amenities”
Reviewed January 2, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

A brief review here... if you are looking for fantastic walks, wonderful views and a great rental to chill out in.... Y Bryn covers all bases.

The Coed Y Brenin Forest is 10 minutes drive and has some superb walking, running and mountain biking facilities. There are also plenty of boozers and eateries fairly close.

Barmouth and the likes of Colwyn Bay are all fairly close also.

The house itself sleeps 6 comfortably and the dining area and lounge are fantastic to relax in, very roomy and perfect for the holidays.

Highly recommended - Thanks for the stay!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location and good space.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 24, 2015
Thank you for your review. It's so fantastic to know our guests are still loving their time at Y Bryn and coming back year after year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lostjacka...
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely house, great review, very high spec and great location”
Reviewed October 1, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Really high spec'd house with comfy sofa beds and normal beds, a large TV, SKYHD, high quality fixtures and fittings, loads of games/dvds etc, well stocked kitchen full of utensils/pans/etc in a great location.

Eurospar at the bottom of the hill, not much in the town but loads of things to do nearby, Mountain Biking, Segwaying, Walking, Beaches etc etc

We had an Asda delivery to the house on the Thursday night and the driver found the property fine, for reference no other supermarkets would deliver to the address, we tried Tesco, Waitrose and Sainsbury's.

The house is on two floors, the front door opens into the top floor of the house with all the bedrooms on that floor. There is an area at the front of the property for two cars to park but it is a little tight.

Things that were great to see
- a BBQ (although we didn't use it) and a Chiminea (which we did use)
- Decent selection of utensils/cooking equipment etc
- Decent quality bedding
- Lovely view across the town/mountains

How would I improve it?
- A decent portable speaker system for the dining room/lounge.
- An outside jacuzzi (although I know this isn't possible after reading other reviews)
- Dishwasher tablets and soap dispensers
- Selection of towels
- Paper Kitchen Towels and More Toilet Tissues

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to do your fab review. Hope to see you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin C
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great break in Dolgellau”
Reviewed September 11, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Fantastic house to base yourself for a mountain biking weekend. Nice weather, it felt like the Alps. Good tapas restaurant in town, great house with good facilities.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 26, 2014
As fellow mountain bikers we welcome groups of enthusiasts! Thanks for choosing us for your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chezeroon...
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulously relaxing stay”
Reviewed July 10, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We have just had the most wonderful relaxing stay at Y Bryn a gorgeous house set back into the hillside overlooking the valley and Dolgellau. The house is so well planned out, beautifully decorated and luxuriously furnished. The uninterrupted views of the valley from the garden and the master bedroom balcony are stunning. The house is spotless and extremely well equipped. We were very lucky with the weather and spent our evenings 'al fresco' and as the valley cooled we enjoyed a glass of wine or two on the patio by the huge chimaera , taking time out to watch both World Cup semi finals on the huge TV screen in the comfy lounge. Dolgellau itself has much to offer, lots of small shops, butchers, bakers and a few pubs and restaurants and loads to do in the surrounding area. We don't want to leave and will definitely return to this house and Dolgellau soon. Thank you Andrew and Victoria for making us feel so welcome.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 26, 2014
Thank you for your generous comments!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preethi R
Staines, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great stay!”
Reviewed July 7, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Y Bryn was absolutely a treat for us.stunning and beautiful interiors, each room was aesthetically designed. All rooms were very spacious and kitchen had everything we needed. We could locate the house easily with the given instructions of the owner. My kids enjoyed the games and good collections of DVDs.
Over all we could not ask for any better holiday than this. We wish to come again for a long break to the same cottage.

Thanks

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 26, 2014
Thank you for staying at Y Bryn. Hope to see you again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PPPPPeter...
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Amazing holiday cottage”
Reviewed May 19, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My friends and I were looking for somewhere to spend a weekend in North Wales and this was the perfect place. It is a 2 story house built into the hillside above Dolgellau, which is an easy drive to Snowdon and Barmouth. It is a beautiful cottage, really well looked after, and filled with high quality furniture and kitchen (including heated floor), but the most amazing thing is the view: waking up and eating breakfast on the balcony in the sun is just incredible. I would really recommend this rental: for the price, it seems impossible to beat.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 26, 2014
Thank you for choosing us for your special break!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicky B
Stafford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful home from home - the perfect family retreat!”
Reviewed January 10, 2014 for a stay in December 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Me and my husbands family decided to go away for New Year and we are certainly glad that we chose Y Bryn. It was furnished to a very high standard yet still gave that cosy feeling you get from your own home. The whole family (including a 7 month old) had a wonderful time, it had everything we could wish for and the settings were beautiful. I can imagine it has the most spectacular views in the summer. We watched fireworks over the valley with the chimnea burning away to welcome in 2014 and it will be a fond memory for everyone who went. Thanks Victoria, we will definitely be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 4, 2014
Thank you for your excellent review. The fireworks over the valley are indeed a bonus on New Years Eve. Glad to hear you'll be returning.Thanks for booking with us.
Kind regards
Victoria
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing