We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The perfect getaway, great scenery, great...”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Frondeg

The Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Cottage
The Lounge The park starts at the end of the garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
32 reviews
The Cottage
The Lounge
The park starts at the end of the garden
The Kitchen
Master Bedroom
Second Bedroom
Frondeg
A real fire
The Cottage and Garden
Mallwyd Village
River Dyfi (Dovey) @ mallwyd
Autumn in Mallwyd
Mallwyds surrounding countryside
Aberdyfi
The Dovey Valley
The Pier @ Aberdovey
St Tydecho @ Mallwyd
The Dining Room
Christmas in Mallwyd
The village of Mallwyd (mid left of photo)
Mount Cader Idris
Tal-y-Llin
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Dolgellau, Snowdonia National Park, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sashfille...
Hucknall
2 reviews
“The perfect getaway, great scenery, great location, peace and quiet.”
Reviewed February 27, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Lovely, homely little cottage, everything you need is supplied, the location is perfect whether you want to go walking in the hills or down by the river, or just a pint and a sandwich up the road. The coast is not too far away as are all the attractions of North Wales.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 6, 2017
Thanks John for your kind words and we hope to see you again at Frondeg.
Geoff
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGoderz
1 review
“Beautiful Cottage in a wonderful location”
Reviewed January 3, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

We had such a wonderful time between Christmas and over New Year.
The cottage was warm cosy and decorated beautifully. With everything you could possibly need.
Fantastic location with lots of places to visit. If you love Walking and the outdoors then it's a wonderful place to explore.
The cottage was a wonderful place to return to after a long day walking and exploring.
I would highly recommend visiting the pub a few doors up beautiful food and lovely welcoming staff.
We will definately be returning in the future for some more quality family time.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 4, 2017
Dear Samantha
Thank you so much for your lovely words.
We really appreciate them.
Best Wishes
Elizabeth and Geoffrey
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlpineOwl...
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage in a fabulous location”
Reviewed April 3, 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We all enjoyed our stay in this beautiful old cottage which is full of character. We found it very warm even when it was snowing outside! We had quite a mix of weather in the week that we stayed here .... everything from snow and hail and pouring rain to sunshine! The cottage was very cosy and a lovely place to return to following a day's walk in the cold! It is in a lovely location - it didn't take us long to get to many beautiful parts of Snowdonia for walks, and we also did a lovely walk from the cottage itself.

We drove to Snowdon itself on one day (it only took just over an hour to reach the car park at the start of the Snowdon Ranger Path). We managed to get to the summit despite poor weather conditions (it was -13 degrees, with deep snow and ice at the summit and foggy conditions!) It was still worth the climb and we managed to get some views through clouds as it cleared on our descent. An ascent of Snowdon just had to be done while we were there as it was our son's 13th birthday and he wanted to climb Snowdon to celebrate!

We would recommend other walks such as the Precipice walk near Dolgellau where there are some fantastic views! The Cader Idris looked particularly spectacular from this walk as it was covered in snow. The walk up the Cader Idris on the Minffordd path is also worth the effort - but due to the snow coverage we didn't quite make it to the summit, as having experienced Snowdon in these conditions we decided against doing the other summits that were covered as more snow had fallen since our ascent of Snowdon.

Another recommendation while in the area is purchasing a Cambrian Coastal Ranger Ticket from Machynlleth station which allows all day travel up the coastal railway line all the way to Pwllheli in the North to Aberystwyth in the South. It only cost £21 for a family pass (really good value!) We enjoyed 2 hours in Barmouth where we climbed to the summit overlooking Barmouth and the estuary and surrounding mountains - probably the best view we had the whole holiday (and we had some amazing views!) We also got off at Porthmadog and again climbed to the summit overlooking Porthmadog and the coast and estuary - again fabulous views! The train ride itself was also beautiful with incredible views as it follows the coast all the way.

Also on our recommendation list is visiting RSPB Reserve on Ynis-Hir near Machynlleth. It the reserve where BBC Springwatch used to be filmed at prior to moving to Minsmere in Suffolk (£10 for a family to visit). It is a beautiful reserve with lots of hides and walks. Just along from that is the Dyfi Osprey Project (£3 entrance for adults - children free or £6 for a weekly pass). It is well worth visiting at the moment as an Osprey has already returned so we were able to view it from the amazing hide that has been built on the nest. It is actually the nest of Monty the star of BBC Springwatch, but currently Blue24 is there at the nest. Opposite these reserves is a lovely walk just above the hamlet of Furnace - beautiful views can be experienced of the Dovey estuary from that walk. We also came across some wild ponies who were remarkably friendly and came up to greet us.

There is so much to do in this area that we all want to come back! Really recommend to anyone who loves the outdoors.

Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike L
Rugeley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ideal for a family of four”
Reviewed March 9, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

The cottage is in a quiet little hamlet but very easy to find, right on the edge of Snowdonia national park. The scenery is stunning and the location is ideal for a whole host of locations from walks (lots of suggestions in the book in the cottage) to scenic drives into the national park.

The cottage itself is clean, well furnished, warm and snug - with a decent sized dining room it's quite comfy for four, there's even a washing machine etc hidden away out back.

Nothing quite like a log burner on a cold night either. We'll be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 10, 2016
Thank you the Lawrence family.
You are welcome anytime.
Geoff & Elizabeth
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cerys d d
Neath Port Talbot, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just what we needed.”
Reviewed October 22, 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage is just what we needed for our short stay in North Wales. The cottage itself was immaculately clean and had all the amenities that we required. The room s were very comfortable and warm.
Three of us stayed at the cottage and there was ample room for us all to relax. One nice touch was coffee, tea and sugar being left for us. This may not seem like much but it was really appreciated after a long journey.
The kitchen was very well equipt and had all the utensil needed for making food.
I would not hesitate to recommend the cottage for those that are considering staying in the NOrth Wales area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Great location and lovely little property.
Liked least: Having to walk through first bedroom to access second bedroom. But this was a very minor inconvenience.
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 23, 2015
Thanks Cerys for your kind words.

Elizabeth and Geoff
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana L
Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Truly Gorgeous”
Reviewed August 4, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Stayed with my husband and our daughter also our small dog, the cottage was lovely, homely and welcoming! The cottage was top spec and very clean and everything you need in a self catering Holiday!
The owners were very helpful and answered numerous emails about ideas of where to go on our stay, couldn't have asked more from them. There is some truly awesome views to be seen from your doorstep and a gorgeous beach at Aberdovey (recommendation from Geoff) thank you. I would love to come back and stay again and would recommend to my family and friends! Truly lovely comfortable cottage you have Elizabeth & Geoff,thank you for letting us stay

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The remoteness with walks from your doorstep
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 23, 2015
Thank you for a wonderful review, greatly appreciated.

Elizabeth & Geoff
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pemjim
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Cottage in rural area”
Reviewed July 14, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

The cottage is situated in a beautiful area with plenty of walks from the doorstep. There's a pub very close by - The Brigands Inn. We dined there the first evening. We were originally shown into a large room with another couple who refused to stay there so we did the same. Food was o.k.but pricey.
We ate out at "twenty one" in Maccyllneth.Excellent meal would certainly recommend for a special night out. We found the cottage to be lacking in a few essentials hence giving an average review.Needed more cutlery,tea towels and chopping boards needed replacing.Could have done with some casserole dishes.Found going into the utility room tiresome banged my head on a few occasions!! We ended up bringing the microwave into kitchen. We really enjoyed our holiday in this area the weather was fab.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: the area
Liked least: kitchen area
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing