We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Idyllic Retreat Sought and Found”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tyddyn Mawr Farmhouse
Ranked #5 of 33 Dolgellau B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Niantic, Connecticut
2 reviews
“Idyllic Retreat Sought and Found”
Reviewed May 19, 2014

We have stayed in our share of Bed and Breakfasts both in the USA and abroad. Gracious Olwen Evans and her impeccable Bed and Breakfast Farmhouse have now become THE standard by which all future B&B owners and their homes will be compared by us! Olwen understands what travelers need - and appreciate - when seeking out her home. Although only 3 miles from the center of the lovely town of Dolgellau, the peace, serenity, and beauty of Tyddyn Mawr envelope you upon your arrival. While we were there, Olwen was summoned away for a day - to receive the highest honor for a B&B in Wales - the AA Award for #1 Bed and Breakfast in Wales for 2014-15! We couldn't have agreed more with the AA. From Olwen’s homemade muesli tinted with a bit of honey made from the local heathers, to her bountiful and delicious main dishes, we knew we were in the hands of a caring and talented B&B owner. If you are within driving distance of Dolgellau, don't miss this Welsh national treasure!

Room Tip: ground floor room has an en suite bath with a hand held shower wand, but no shower stall; upstairs r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    0
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
107
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Walsall
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2014

Great location for activities (cycling, walking, scenery, restaurants). Very relaxing. Clean attractive accommodation with a comfortable bed and awesome views from French windows. In Olwen you get a most hospitable and helpful host. Terrific breakfast featuring home made jams and meusli.

We came for peace and quiet and got it. We didn't come to watch television; had we done so, the 12" screen would have been frustrating.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank TheWalsallTravelBug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed March 31, 2014

We booked with Olwen at short notice for two nights for a bit of peace and quiet and some great scenery. The room was fantastic; lovely bed and wonderful views from the patio doors and windows. Really friendly welcome from Olwen and good breakfasts both mornings with lots of home made preserves etc. Great location with the farm at the back of the B&B stretching up the slopes of Cadair Idris. Lots of good places for evening meal in Dolgellau just 5minutes by car. Couldn't recommend it more.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 164Ken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

We chose the b&b as it was close to Cader Idris for a hike to the summit and we were given invaluable advise on the local area, including places to eat and paths to take up and from Cader Idris. The comfortable rooms have stunning views of Cader Idris.
Wonderful breakfast.
We were made very welcome from the moment we arrived.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Judith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 12, 2013

We were looking to find somewhere to stay in the Dolgelau area and saw the excellent reviews for Tyddyn Mawr on Tripadvisor and booked for a 7 day stay in October on the strength of it. We are so glad we found it. Olwen is the perfect host and the breakfasts and accommodation were top class. Our room on the second floor was decorated to a very high standard, was spacious, warm,clean and very comfortable with superb views of the glorious countryside of Cader Idris from our balcony and windows. If you are planning a visit to this lovely area I cannot recommend Tyddyn Mawr highly enough - you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: We stayed in the first floor room but we have seen the ground floor room also and can recommend eith...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brian_collinge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 13, 2013

I stayed here during a solo bike tour in September. I was soaked to the skin and starving when I arrived, but Mrs Evans very kindly washed and dried my clothes and have a me a lift down to the town do get some food. Now that's hospitality! Will be returning, but most likely by car.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

While traveling through Dolgellau, Wales on September 27, 2013, we relied on the local tourist information agent to book us into a bed and breakfast farmhouse. We certainly got lucky by the booking at Tyddyn Mawr Farmhouse.

The location was at Cader Idris, a beautiful mountain area with rolling hills and crystal clear lakes. Our floor room had a spacious double bed and our patio overlooked the hills and gardens. Leaving our French double doors open, we felt like the outdoors was within arms reach.

Olwen Evans, was the most friendly and helpful hostess that we had during our whole 3 weeks of travel through England and Wales. She greeted us with a tour of our facilities and gave us suggestions as to where to eat dinner. She also told us about some lovely hikes in the area and sites nearby that were used for film locations. Her information was useful and helpful as we really hadn't planned on staying in this area, so we had little idea about what to do during our stay. The tub was large enough to fit two and an added romantic treat.

The breakfast Olwen Evans served was tasty, plentiful and homemade. She made the preserves/jam and muesli. We were served with enough food to feed us for the entire day. Her meal was better than the castle hotels we stayed in during our trip to Wales. She had a way of making us feel so welcome that we really wished that we could have stayed longer to enjoy the area and her hospitality. This location is truly beautiful and should be included on any visit to this area of Wales.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LisaLL2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dolgellau hotels
1.8 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
323 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tan y Gader
Tan y Gader
#2 of 33 in Dolgellau
143 reviews
0.0 mi away
Plas Gwyn B&B & Cottage
Plas Gwyn B&B & Cottage
#4 of 33 in Dolgellau
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Dolgun Uchaf  B & B
Dolgun Uchaf B & B
#12 of 33 in Dolgellau
127 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Royal Ship Hotel
The Royal Ship Hotel
#7 of 33 in Dolgellau
454 reviews
1.7 mi away
Pandy Isaf Country House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tyddyn Mawr Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tyddyn Mawr Farmhouse

Property: Tyddyn Mawr Farmhouse
Address: Cader Road | Islawrdref, Snowdonia National Park, Dolgellau LL40 1TL, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Dolgellau
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Dolgellau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Tyddyn Mawr Farmhouse 5*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Tyddyn Mawr Farmhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tyddyn Mawr Farmhouse Dolgellau, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing