We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tyddyn Mawr Farmhouse
Ranked #5 of 33 Dolgellau B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Heaven!”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Stayed in the lovely cottage on the farm. We keep being drawn back there every year. It is very special. Total peace and quiet with awesome views. The cottage is always warm and welcoming to a very hight standard.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandyidris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    0
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
107
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Malmesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We can't praise Tyddyn Mawr enough. A superb location with fantastic views from the two rooms. Excellent accommodation - comfortable, spacious and high quality. Breakfast is an occasion to look forward to - the food was fantastic. But most of all Olwen is the kindest most welcoming and generous person you could hope to meet. Definitely the best bed and breakfast we have stayed in anywhere in the world - and there have been quite a few!

Room Tip: Both rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank d_m_mitcham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Me and my Boyfriend stayed here fo 2 nights to celebrate our two year anniversary.
We arrived to a very warm welcome, pot of tea and cakes! The weather was beautiful and the stunning views from our room were amazing. The B&B was fantastic. Breakfast was absolutely gorgeous- different each morning!! Land lady was very helpful in giving us info about where is good to eat in town, and advising us on walking routes and things we could get up to in the area. Brilliant bike route that we took all the way to Barmouth then back into the small town of Dolgellau with beautiful views all the way! Definitely worth the 5 star rating and definitely worth a stay!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Livi_Gregory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Took my fiancé there for a weekend of relaxation, was a stunning area of Wales and the accommodation as excellent. You could not ask for a nicer hostess and the breakfast was wonderful

Only 10 mins to Dolgellau and free parking after 6pm, a lovely old Welsh town with lots of character!

Great for walkers, or just for people who want to escape, but don't want to be too far away from civilisation.

Not to be missed!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Josh G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 26, 2013

We have been travelling throughout the UK for more than 30 years and have rarely experienced this quality in a B&B. The outstanding location and situation combine with the accommodation to delight at first sight, and this grows as the grandeur of overlooking Cader Idris and peaceful atmosphere become apparent. Landlady Olwen's welcome and attentive service is a prelude to five star varied breakfasts that encourage the convenience of foregoing lunch.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger-Valerie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Superb location, in total countryside ; only peace and quiet . very pleasant host , lovely bedroom and bathroom and you mus'nt be on a diet for breakfast ..just great !
Dolgellau , very pleasant market town with ample restaurants of diverse values.

Room Tip: The top room has a lovely view on the fields ; the lower room is larger though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chris18_02_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haverfordwest, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Absolutely beautiful farmhouse set in magical countryside with the mountain looming in the background. Olwen couldn't have been more helpful and made sure we had a hearty breakfast before we set of to climb Cader Idris, using her maps and with her advice ringing in our ears. We felt incredibly well looked after and it was bliss to sit on the patio outside our room, in the evening sun, with a glass of wine and reflect on our achievements in the outdoors. I would recommend everyone should spend some time in this idyllic spot, being cared for by the most magnanimous hostess, as a tonic against the stress of everyday living.

Room Tip: Both rooms share the magical view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 181ChrisP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dolgellau hotels
1.8 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
321 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tan y Gader
Tan y Gader
#2 of 33 in Dolgellau
143 reviews
0.0 mi away
Plas Gwyn B&B & Cottage
Plas Gwyn B&B & Cottage
#3 of 33 in Dolgellau
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Dolgun Uchaf  B & B
Dolgun Uchaf B & B
#13 of 33 in Dolgellau
126 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Royal Ship Hotel
The Royal Ship Hotel
#7 of 33 in Dolgellau
454 reviews
1.7 mi away
Pandy Isaf Country House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tyddyn Mawr Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tyddyn Mawr Farmhouse

Property: Tyddyn Mawr Farmhouse
Address: Cader Road | Islawrdref, Snowdonia National Park, Dolgellau LL40 1TL, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Dolgellau
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Dolgellau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Tyddyn Mawr Farmhouse 5*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Tyddyn Mawr Farmhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tyddyn Mawr Farmhouse Dolgellau, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing