We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great relaxing stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tyddyn Mawr Farmhouse
Ranked #6 of 33 Dolgellau B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great relaxing stay”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Superb location, in total countryside ; only peace and quiet . very pleasant host , lovely bedroom and bathroom and you mus'nt be on a diet for breakfast ..just great !
Dolgellau , very pleasant market town with ample restaurants of diverse values.

Room Tip: The top room has a lovely view on the fields ; the lower room is larger though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chris18_02_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    0
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
107
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Haverfordwest, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Absolutely beautiful farmhouse set in magical countryside with the mountain looming in the background. Olwen couldn't have been more helpful and made sure we had a hearty breakfast before we set of to climb Cader Idris, using her maps and with her advice ringing in our ears. We felt incredibly well looked after and it was bliss to sit on the patio outside our room, in the evening sun, with a glass of wine and reflect on our achievements in the outdoors. I would recommend everyone should spend some time in this idyllic spot, being cared for by the most magnanimous hostess, as a tonic against the stress of everyday living.

Room Tip: Both rooms share the magical view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 181ChrisP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

What a find! And yes, it is reasonably easy to find once you are on the right road out of the town of Dolgellau and realise that it is some 3 miles in distance along a narrow lane. Olwen Evans greets all guests personally with a pot of tea and some lovely Welsh cake. The two rooms in the farmhouse extension are beautifully furnished, warm and cosy with well-appointed bathrooms. But not until you get to Breakfast do you really discover the full hospitality of this farmhouse - I don't think I have ever had a 6-course breakfast before! Suggest don't eat too much the night before! Wow! The perfect set-up for a day in the lovely mountain scenery. Convenient for coast, inland and golden seaside sands at Barmouth. Perfect! Olwen deserves all the Awards her hard work has warranted.

Room Tip: Lovely views from both rooms. Downstairs for anyone with mobility problems, especially when carryin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeoffreyM593
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Idyllic location at foot of Cader Idris. Rooms are of a really high standard. Breakfasts to die for and a really friendly welcome from Olwen. Numerous lovely walks from the doorstep so no need to drive miles. Will definitely try and get back there on a regular basis.
Dave & Jane Williams

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cyncoed1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

This home will be hard to beat.Lovely owner, spotless rooms with all amenities and a view to die for overlooking mountains and fields full of sheep.Superb breakfasts which vary each day.This is tranquil country living you could get used to!Stay for minimum of 2 nights -you will love it.

Roger and Christine

Room Tip: Both rooms are generous size with all amenities with spectacular views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Picturehouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Chris & Joe Garnett

This B&B is definitely the best we have ever stayed in! Views of Cader Idris, with snow on the top, are truly spectacular. Olwyn is the perfect hostess and serves a wonderful breakfast. You need want for nothing as she is always there to help. She has personal knowledge of all the walks in the area too. Can't wait to go back!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnedosa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Excellent accommodation and hospitality, with a veritable feast for breakfast.
Truly spectacular location and scenery, with hill or mountain walks starting directly from the farmhouse door.
Superlatives can be used too liberally, but in this instance they are fully warranted.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dolgellau hotels
1.8 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
323 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tan y Gader
Tan y Gader
#2 of 33 in Dolgellau
145 reviews
0.0 mi away
Plas Gwyn B&B & Cottage
Plas Gwyn B&B & Cottage
#3 of 33 in Dolgellau
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Dolgun Uchaf  B & B
Dolgun Uchaf B & B
#14 of 33 in Dolgellau
128 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Royal Ship Hotel
The Royal Ship Hotel
#7 of 33 in Dolgellau
458 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ffynnon
Ffynnon
#4 of 33 in Dolgellau
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tyddyn Mawr Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tyddyn Mawr Farmhouse

Property: Tyddyn Mawr Farmhouse
Address: Cader Road | Islawrdref, Snowdonia National Park, Dolgellau LL40 1TL, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Dolgellau
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Dolgellau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Tyddyn Mawr Farmhouse 5*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Tyddyn Mawr Farmhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tyddyn Mawr Farmhouse Dolgellau, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing