We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely break - would go back tomorrow”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gwesty Gwernan Hotel
Ranked #10 of 33 Dolgellau B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Nr wolverhampton, W. Midlands
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“lovely break - would go back tomorrow”
Reviewed July 13, 2010

Great location at the foot of cadair idris and next to the lake, yet only minutes from Dolgellau. Our room was recently refurbished with lovely ensuite shower room. A bathroom down the hall if required. Plenty of choice at breakfast, and it was nice to see local produce being used - not a jar of Robertsons jam in sight.
We ate in the restaurant on both nights and the food was good value, well cooked, pub food. My husband said the steak was probably the best he had ever tasted, and melted in the mouth.
The family are very welcoming and helpful and it was a pleasure to relax and chat to locals and other visitors in the bar during the evening. The family's two cocker spaniels are good entertainment too.
We had a great stay and would love to go back soon.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kirstenm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    19
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
23
84
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St Helens, England
Level Contributor
58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2010

We visited this hotel for one night and wish we could have stayed longer, the location is lovely, by a lake and out of the main town. The room was lovely light and open with a lovely view of the lake, crisp clean white sheets and lots of pillows, cushions and throws (bliss). We decided to eat in the bar and the food was excellent with plenty of choice and good portions, we even ended up sharing a sweet, although we did wish we had had one each instead. The staff were lovely and very helpful. The whole stay was brilliant and I would recommend it to anyone for a visit. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North of England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2010

Loved the rooms and the atmosphere in the pub. Good food and service. Stunning location. The owners are working hard to make this a lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank relativity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warwickshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2009

My friend and I had received permission from the hotel by return of email to leave our car in the hotel car park whilst we walked up Cadair Idris and along the precipice path back towards Dolgellau, descending and then returning to the car via small lanes.

We arrived at the hotel at 8.00am after an early start from the midlands, and, leaving a copy of the email visible on the dash, began our walk in very windy, later very wet and windy November weather.

Returning tired and wet to the car about 2.30 pm, we where glad to find the hotel bar open as promised, with a log fire roaring and bar food still available. Leaving our waterproofs hanging by door we were very quickly stood steaming in front of the fire enjoying several pints of local real ale accompanied by quality home made soup and roll.

We stayed chatting to the guests and staff in the hotel longer than we had planned, and eventually left feeling much the better for the very pleasant hospitality we received.

Will definitely be back, probably bringing the wives to stay next time as the guests all seemed very pleased with the hotel and in particular the staff and owners.

I should point out that we discovered that in the winter the hotel bar is only open thursday to sunday but that is from 12.00 noon through to at least 10.30pm so WITH PERMISSION an excellent place to start and finish a great walk and enjoy a great beer and a bite!

Thank you very much!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank royandali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff UK
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2009

I have been an occasional visitor here for nearly forty years and seen various changes in that time but this week I felt that it was as good as I had seen it.

We only had lunch today but the quality of the food and cooking was excellent while the service was pleasant and unobtrusive.

Local Welsh speaking families eating here so it must be good!

The setting under Cader Idris with the lake next to it cannot be beaten. Nearby Dolgellau has an almost Alpine air about it with its grey stones, the mountain above it and it remains a working town not a just a tourist destination.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Merckx01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
Reviewed September 1, 2009

We first stumbled across Gwesty Gwernan (literally) at new year. At the end of a long walk around Cader Idris on a frost crisp sunny day, wondering how far we still had to walk back to the car, we came across this enchanting hotel and were immediately taken - situated on its own lake (which you can hire boats and fish on) surrounded by forest, log fire burning in the snug bar, friendly chat amongst locals and guests alike and a warm welcome from the owning family - we promised we'd return to stay soon. So this Easter saw us back there with friends and we were not disappointed. The same warm, friendly welcome, very comfortable and tastefully decorated en suite bedroom overlooking the lake, great home cooked breakfasts and evening meals, relaxing local bar all tucked away in stunning surroundings. This is a real gem of a find if you like getting away from it all and just unwinding around the lake or high up in those breathtaking mountains!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angusi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
141 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2009

The hotel was being refurbished when we stayed but has lost none of its original charm. We had a lovely en-suite room. Gwernan Lake hotel is situated in a beautiful location in the foothills of Cader Idris and on the banks of Gwernan Lake - a tranquil spot. It is a few miles from Dolgellau but easy to find.

The owner gave us a warm welcome and did everything possible to ensure we had a lovely break. There were log fires in the lounge in the evening. We had a pleasant meal.

The hotel is a good centre for those who like walking. Cader Idris is within walking distance. If you would prefer to do your sightseeing by car there is a lovely run just up the road to Crogennan lakes –which need a clear blue sky to be fully appreciated. A view as far as Barmouth bridge can be had from here. The road then becomes narrower but leads to the Dolgellau - Fairbourne road. We crossed the estuary at the toll bridge at Penmaenpool and then returned to Dolgellau via Llanelltyd. We stood talking to fishermen on the old Llanelltyd bridge. A lovely trip.

We hope to return to Gwernan lake hotel some day.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank en08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dolgellau
1.8 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
323 reviews
5.6 mi away
Ty'r Graig Castle
Ty'r Graig Castle
#1 of 4 in Barmouth
371 reviews
4.8 mi away
Bae Abermaw
Bae Abermaw
#3 of 4 in Barmouth
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Y Meirionnydd
Y Meirionnydd
#1 of 3 in Dolgellau
302 reviews
3.9 mi away
Pandy Isaf Country House Bed & Breakfast
2.6 mi away
The Slate Shed B &B at Graig Wen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gwesty Gwernan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gwesty Gwernan Hotel

Property: Gwesty Gwernan Hotel
Address: Islawrdref, Snowdonia National Park, Dolgellau LL40 1TL, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Dolgellau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Dolgellau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Gwesty Gwernan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gwesty Gwernan Hotel Dolgellau, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing