We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cosy, friendly place in a lovely location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gwesty Gwernan Hotel
Ranked #10 of 34 Dolgellau B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cosy, friendly place in a lovely location”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

A cosy place in a stunning location on a lake and at the foot of Cader Idris. In-house food & wine list are quite nice, though not superb. Friendly owners and near several good walks, besides Cader Idris, including the fine, short, Precipice Walk (a 3 k drive) and the King's Forest (a 6 k drive).

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Walker_hiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    19
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
23
84
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

The location was great, right next to its own lake. Fantastic service. Delicious breakfasts and dinner (only complaint being that the restaurant is closed for dinner on Sundays). Our room was really nice. Easy access to the nearby hills - you can do a full day walking without having to bother with a car. We hope to be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aidan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We came here for a weekend break without our children and it far exceeded any expectation we had. The welcome was warm and friendly. The rooms were tastefully decorated and cosy with some lovely personal touches. The breakfast was perfect with a nice variety. The dinner was home cooked and very tasty! The view from the dining room over the lake was stunning! I will certainly be staying again!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Gwernan room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terri C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

This is a super hide away, so relaxing, sitting on the edge of its own lake with a pathway all the way around ( about 30 minutes to walk) Family owned and run inside is so perfectly presented, everything is of the highest quality and put together with a great eye for detail.
The food is wonderful, home cooked, and almost everything is home made, try the jam! they really should sell it! Our room looked over the lake, the bed was so comfortable, very good pillows (always a must), all in all one of the best places I have been too, it is perfectly situated for walking, running and cycling, you can even spend an hour or two sitting fishing. At the end of your day the bar offers real ales and a very good selection of malts. We look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed October 2, 2013

My boyfriend and I were looking for a nice Hotel where we could relax, go walking in the mountains and feel like we were important. Gwesty Gwernan ticked all these boxes and more. The views were lovely, the walks all we could ask for and the service was Excellent. We stayed Saturday and Sunday night. Dinner in the restaurant Saturday night which was very yummy. Sunday night the bar is closed to public but we were advised that when we came back after our dinner in town we were more than welcome to come and have a drink in the bar which we did. Geraint was more than happy to answer our questions and never once did we feel rushed. I was touched when we got back from our very long walk, to hear that they were going to phone to see if we were ok, as we did detour a little, even we couldn't wait to get back to the hotel. I hope to go back in the near future.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KathV75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donisthorpe
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Just returned after a couple of nights stay with my husband and nineteen year old son and all three of us had a fabulous time.
From the moment we walked in we were made to feel really welcome by the owners son-in-law and the other staff.
We stayed in the triple room, which was spotless and extreemly comfortable. The toileteries in the en-suite bathroom were 'Molton Brown', lovely! Other lovely touches in our room were the homemade shortbread, complimentary slippers and dressing gowns.
The food was very good, in particular the Beetroot and Horseradish soup stood out for me. Both my husband and son relished their meals, both clearing their plates in super fast time!
Breakfast was also a feast of culinary delight, with locally sourced produce where possible. The homemade Granola was particularly delicious, (I'm going to have a go at making my own!).
Our stay was far too short and we are already looking forward to returning. Thank you so much for giving us such a lovely time!

Room Tip: If the other rooms in the hotel are as good as the triple room that we stayed in, then you won't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We stayed here for a couple of nights recently after a recommendation from friends. Beautifully furnished, with excellent, friendly, attentive staff. The food here is really good - both breakfast and dinner were absolutely delicious and were great ways to start and end the day.

The bar is small, but wonderfully stocked with a large variety of single malts and bottled real ales (and local brews on tap). The staff are again, very helpful here, able to suggest drinks when you're overcome by the choice available. The small outside area was busy both evenings with locals and walkers (Cader Idris trails start just over the road), which just goes to show how well liked it is.

My only gripe (a very small point!) was that it's not entirely obvious how to get in when you first arrive, as there's no actual "front desk". We went in through to the bar and were seen to very quickly, so it's not an issue at all, Just remember to head to the bar entrance from the carpark!

Would highly recommend - we'll definitely be back again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jipp3r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dolgellau
1.8 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
315 reviews
5.6 mi away
Ty'r Graig Castle
Ty'r Graig Castle
#1 of 4 in Barmouth
362 reviews
3.9 mi away
Pandy Isaf Country House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Dolgun Uchaf  B & B
Dolgun Uchaf B & B
#12 of 34 in Dolgellau
119 reviews
2.3 mi away
Tan y Gader
Tan y Gader
#2 of 34 in Dolgellau
134 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Royal Ship Hotel
The Royal Ship Hotel
#7 of 34 in Dolgellau
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gwesty Gwernan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gwesty Gwernan Hotel

Property: Gwesty Gwernan Hotel
Address: Islawrdref, Snowdonia National Park, Dolgellau LL40 1TL, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Dolgellau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Dolgellau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Gwesty Gwernan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gwesty Gwernan Hotel Dolgellau, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing