We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faultless”
Review of Bryn Mair House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bryn Mair House
Ranked #13 of 34 Dolgellau B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 15, 2013

It's hardly necessary to add to the glowing reviews, other than to say that Bryn Mair really is as good as everyone says. A beautiful house, beautifully presented, you could not ask for a warmer welcome or a more relaxed and comfortable stay. This is a stunning location and we had forgotten how lovely (and peaceful) Wales is. We loved the bike ride to Barmouth and found it very easy to get to the best of Snowdonia, the snow capped mountains were breathtaking. We had good weather, but even in bad weather a stay at Bryn Mair would be a real treat, we felt as though we had stayed with friends and been thoroughly spoilt!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 3, utterly luxurious with a wonderful bed. The bathroom is across the landing, no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lizzie100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (145)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 145 reviews

Reviewed April 5, 2013

Just returned from a two night stay at Bryn Mair and I can only echo what other guests have said.This is a fabulous place to stay and is I think fantastic value for money.
Our room was beautiful (Room 3), bed extremely comfortable, lovely linens and big fluffy towels and lovely views. The breakfast was outstanding and definitely the best I have ever had in any hotel. You really feel you are staying somewhere special and the owners Jan and Pete are so welcoming. I hope we can make a return visit in the not too distant future!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fritha O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

2nd visit and as before, everything was just lovely. Spotlessly clean, great breakfast, lovely views, sophisticated rooms and great location. Jan and Peter make you feel so welcome, from the hot cross buns on arrival to the cream eggs on the breakfast table for Easter; every detail is well thought out.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teapig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We had a great 3 night stay over Easter. Lovely quiet room with great views. Breakfast very tasty. Lovely towels and bed linen. The only thing that could be better for us was the wifi access. It is there but you have to keep putting the code in on some devices.
Jan and Peter were very friendly hosts.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank EnglishNick1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Jan and Peter,

Many,many congratulations on your venture!

Out of 79 Reviews since you first opened in Spring 2009, you have scored 5 Stars on every review. What an accomplishment!

That is no mean feat considering the diversity of views that the travelling public from UK and Abroad can conjure up to describe their stay at a hotel.

No doubt you got Dolgellau Town Council to change the name on the road outside to Love Lane, just to suit your totally lovely B&B !

It is always a great pleasure to share your home for the few days that we are are in Dolgellau, and we look forward to a repeat performance in April.

Well done to you both,

Best wishes,

P&C.

Room Tip: No tips-all are beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Badak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

We had the best time here....such a warm welcome from Pete and Jan....lovely room, so clean and warm and cleaned each day like in a hotel. Lovely breakfast. Great info on the area. Log fire when we got back from the restaurant in the evening. Long soaking baths in the great big bathroom. Totally spoilt and looked after. Can wholeheartedly recommend. Thank you so much.

Room Tip: ALl of them are lovely...in different ways, but ours was my favourite....big bathroom with a bath an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vicky e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here as a family. It was simply outstanding in every way- the tea on arrival, the beautiful guest lounge, the welcome and the wonderful hospitality of Jan and Pete and the bedrooms and bathrooms. We could not fault it. We will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lotty84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dolgellau hotels
1.8 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
343 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tan y Gader
Tan y Gader
#2 of 34 in Dolgellau
158 reviews
1.7 mi away
Pandy Isaf Country House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Ffynnon
Ffynnon
#4 of 34 in Dolgellau
553 reviews
3.5 mi away
Afon Rhaiadr Bed and Breakfast
2.3 mi away
Gwesty Gwernan Hotel
Gwesty Gwernan Hotel
#10 of 34 in Dolgellau
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bryn Mair House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bryn Mair House

Address: Bryn Mair Love Lane, Snowdonia National Park, Dolgellau LL40 1SR, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Dolgellau
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Dolgellau
Price Range: $123 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Bryn Mair House 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Bryn Mair House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bryn Mair House Dolgellau, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing