We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easter excellence” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bryn Mair House

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Bryn Mair House
Ranked #13 of 34 Dolgellau B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
warwickshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Easter excellence”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

2nd visit and as before, everything was just lovely. Spotlessly clean, great breakfast, lovely views, sophisticated rooms and great location. Jan and Peter make you feel so welcome, from the hot cross buns on arrival to the cream eggs on the breakfast table for Easter; every detail is well thought out.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank teapig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
104
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
Level Contributor
94 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

We had a great 3 night stay over Easter. Lovely quiet room with great views. Breakfast very tasty. Lovely towels and bed linen. The only thing that could be better for us was the wifi access. It is there but you have to keep putting the code in on some devices.
Jan and Peter were very friendly hosts.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank EnglishNick1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcs
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

Jan and Peter,

Many,many congratulations on your venture!

Out of 79 Reviews since you first opened in Spring 2009, you have scored 5 Stars on every review. What an accomplishment!

That is no mean feat considering the diversity of views that the travelling public from UK and Abroad can conjure up to describe their stay at a hotel.

No doubt you got Dolgellau Town Council to change the name on the road outside to Love Lane, just to suit your totally lovely B&B !

It is always a great pleasure to share your home for the few days that we are are in Dolgellau, and we look forward to a repeat performance in April.

Well done to you both,

Best wishes,

P&C.

Room Tip: No tips-all are beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Badak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

We had the best time here....such a warm welcome from Pete and Jan....lovely room, so clean and warm and cleaned each day like in a hotel. Lovely breakfast. Great info on the area. Log fire when we got back from the restaurant in the evening. Long soaking baths in the great big bathroom. Totally spoilt and looked after. Can wholeheartedly recommend. Thank you so much.

Room Tip: ALl of them are lovely...in different ways, but ours was my favourite....big bathroom with a bath an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vicky e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
233 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here as a family. It was simply outstanding in every way- the tea on arrival, the beautiful guest lounge, the welcome and the wonderful hospitality of Jan and Pete and the bedrooms and bathrooms. We could not fault it. We will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lotty84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
164 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

Hosts Pete and Jan will make you feel right at home in this very well appointed boutique B&B. Right from the very warm welcome and throughout our stay here we couldn't fault the place.

Our room was very spacious with excellent views from both windows. The things that set this place apart from shall we say, 'cheaper' hotels is the attention to detail and the quality of all the soft furnishings, fixtures and fittings.

Throughout this huge house you can see that a great deal of thought and style has been added. The communal reception room and dining room wouldn't look out of place in one of the interior design magazines that are available to look at. In fact the whole place wouldn't

Our particular room had a very comfortable bed with two addition chairs to sit on to watch the TV. This also has a DVD player with Freeview channels and there are also lots of DVD's to choose from and watch.

The bathroom had been converted to a wet room and again this was all done to a high standard and everything worked really well and was spotlessly clean.

Breakfast is taken in the dining room which has great views across the village. There is also a good choice of cereals, fresh fruit and juice along with hot breakfast with lots of fresh tea and coffee and nice thick pieces of toast with butter.

To add to all of the above, you also have the friendliness of Jan and Pete who are more than happy to chat. They will give you information on restaurants, pubs and walks and nothing seems to be a problem.

Free Wi-Fi is also available in the house which Jan will give you a code for. To get into the centre of 'town' it will take you a minute or two on foot and there is also free parking.

As stated above, I couldn't fault the stay at all and would highly recommend it to anyone wanting a relaxing and comfortable few days away in Dolgellau.

Room Tip: One of the rooms has a roll top bath but this isn't en-suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelPad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

New year break with my wife and friends. Met at the door. Big welcoming smile from Jan. Pot of tea and beautiful lemon drizzle cake on arrival. Spacious rooms. Modern but fitting for the location. Bed was very comfortable. Fantastic views. Peter and Jan available at all times. Superb breakfast. Homemade vegetarian sausages were a real treat. Good advice and information about local area. Affordable and reasonable. A real find.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dolgellau hotels
0.1 mi away
Y Meirionnydd
Y Meirionnydd
#1 of 3 in Dolgellau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tan y Gader
Tan y Gader
#2 of 34 in Dolgellau
5.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
0.0 mi away
Plas Gwyn B&B & Cottage
Plas Gwyn B&B & Cottage
#3 of 34 in Dolgellau
5.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ffynnon
Ffynnon
#4 of 34 in Dolgellau
5.0 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Royal Ship Hotel
The Royal Ship Hotel
#7 of 34 in Dolgellau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
1.7 mi away
Pandy Isaf Country House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bryn Mair House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bryn Mair House

Property: Bryn Mair House
Address: Bryn Mair Love Lane, Snowdonia National Park, Dolgellau LL40 1SR, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Dolgellau
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Dolgellau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Bryn Mair House 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Bryn Mair House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bryn Mair House Dolgellau, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing