We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Two Nights”
Review of Bryn Mair House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bryn Mair House
Ranked #13 of 34 Dolgellau B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 5, 2013

We had the best time here....such a warm welcome from Pete and Jan....lovely room, so clean and warm and cleaned each day like in a hotel. Lovely breakfast. Great info on the area. Log fire when we got back from the restaurant in the evening. Long soaking baths in the great big bathroom. Totally spoilt and looked after. Can wholeheartedly recommend. Thank you so much.

Room Tip: ALl of them are lovely...in different ways, but ours was my favourite....big bathroom with a bath an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vicky e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (145)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 145 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here as a family. It was simply outstanding in every way- the tea on arrival, the beautiful guest lounge, the welcome and the wonderful hospitality of Jan and Pete and the bedrooms and bathrooms. We could not fault it. We will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lotty84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Hosts Pete and Jan will make you feel right at home in this very well appointed boutique B&B. Right from the very warm welcome and throughout our stay here we couldn't fault the place.

Our room was very spacious with excellent views from both windows. The things that set this place apart from shall we say, 'cheaper' hotels is the attention to detail and the quality of all the soft furnishings, fixtures and fittings.

Throughout this huge house you can see that a great deal of thought and style has been added. The communal reception room and dining room wouldn't look out of place in one of the interior design magazines that are available to look at. In fact the whole place wouldn't

Our particular room had a very comfortable bed with two addition chairs to sit on to watch the TV. This also has a DVD player with Freeview channels and there are also lots of DVD's to choose from and watch.

The bathroom had been converted to a wet room and again this was all done to a high standard and everything worked really well and was spotlessly clean.

Breakfast is taken in the dining room which has great views across the village. There is also a good choice of cereals, fresh fruit and juice along with hot breakfast with lots of fresh tea and coffee and nice thick pieces of toast with butter.

To add to all of the above, you also have the friendliness of Jan and Pete who are more than happy to chat. They will give you information on restaurants, pubs and walks and nothing seems to be a problem.

Free Wi-Fi is also available in the house which Jan will give you a code for. To get into the centre of 'town' it will take you a minute or two on foot and there is also free parking.

As stated above, I couldn't fault the stay at all and would highly recommend it to anyone wanting a relaxing and comfortable few days away in Dolgellau.

Room Tip: One of the rooms has a roll top bath but this isn't en-suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelPad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

New year break with my wife and friends. Met at the door. Big welcoming smile from Jan. Pot of tea and beautiful lemon drizzle cake on arrival. Spacious rooms. Modern but fitting for the location. Bed was very comfortable. Fantastic views. Peter and Jan available at all times. Superb breakfast. Homemade vegetarian sausages were a real treat. Good advice and information about local area. Affordable and reasonable. A real find.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

We spent 4 night at Bryn Mair and can honestly say this is the best B&B experience we have ever had. The hosts’ hospitality, from the moment we were welcomed on arrival to our departure, was fantastic!
Everything about our stay was equally good… the accommodation and breakfast... all superb!

The bed was extremely comfortable.The room / bathroom were spotless and decorated tastefully plus you have all the finer touches that you get with a 5* hotel. They provide a guest fridge, with water and milk, magazines, books, maps, and really lovely guest sitting room.


It is peacefully located, but within 5 minutes walk of the centre of Dolgellau and all the restaurants. The location is ideal for a walking holiday as you can drive to the base of Cadir Idris within 10 minutes.

Jan and Peter have a place where one really feels at home... nothing is too much trouble. Thank you so much for a wonderful stay.
Martin & Kim.

Room Tip: We were in room 2, but I think all rooms will have been equally good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Stayed for one night and wished it was longer. All the reviews are spot on. This is a lovely place to stay from the tea and Welsh cake welcome, the cozy room with lovely toiletries to the breakfast that kept us going all day.

Room Tip: There are only three so I think any of them would be ideal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Superb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Just back from two nights in this lovely B and B. Hosts, Jan and Peter were very welcoming and went out of their way to make you feel welcome. The room was spotless and very comforable. Breakfast was excellent and nothing was too much trouble. Drive up to the house is a little narrow but you soon get used to it. All in all a very relaxing couple of days in a beautiful setting. Will return again.

Room Tip: All 3 rooms are similar but some have slightly better views than others. We stayed in room 2 and had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrahamandCaroline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dolgellau hotels
1.8 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
342 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tan y Gader
Tan y Gader
#2 of 34 in Dolgellau
158 reviews
3.5 mi away
Afon Rhaiadr Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Pandy Isaf Country House Bed & Breakfast
2.3 mi away
Gwesty Gwernan Hotel
Gwesty Gwernan Hotel
#10 of 34 in Dolgellau
153 reviews
0 mi away
Plas Gwyn B&B & Cottage
Plas Gwyn B&B & Cottage
#5 of 34 in Dolgellau
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bryn Mair House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bryn Mair House

Address: Bryn Mair Love Lane, Snowdonia National Park, Dolgellau LL40 1SR, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Dolgellau
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Dolgellau
Price Range: $124 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Bryn Mair House 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Bryn Mair House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bryn Mair House Dolgellau, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing