We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply outstanding in every way”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bryn Mair House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bryn Mair House
Ranked #13 of 34 Dolgellau B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Alcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
234 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Simply outstanding in every way”
Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here as a family. It was simply outstanding in every way- the tea on arrival, the beautiful guest lounge, the welcome and the wonderful hospitality of Jan and Pete and the bedrooms and bathrooms. We could not fault it. We will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lotty84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
105
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
164 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Hosts Pete and Jan will make you feel right at home in this very well appointed boutique B&B. Right from the very warm welcome and throughout our stay here we couldn't fault the place.

Our room was very spacious with excellent views from both windows. The things that set this place apart from shall we say, 'cheaper' hotels is the attention to detail and the quality of all the soft furnishings, fixtures and fittings.

Throughout this huge house you can see that a great deal of thought and style has been added. The communal reception room and dining room wouldn't look out of place in one of the interior design magazines that are available to look at. In fact the whole place wouldn't

Our particular room had a very comfortable bed with two addition chairs to sit on to watch the TV. This also has a DVD player with Freeview channels and there are also lots of DVD's to choose from and watch.

The bathroom had been converted to a wet room and again this was all done to a high standard and everything worked really well and was spotlessly clean.

Breakfast is taken in the dining room which has great views across the village. There is also a good choice of cereals, fresh fruit and juice along with hot breakfast with lots of fresh tea and coffee and nice thick pieces of toast with butter.

To add to all of the above, you also have the friendliness of Jan and Pete who are more than happy to chat. They will give you information on restaurants, pubs and walks and nothing seems to be a problem.

Free Wi-Fi is also available in the house which Jan will give you a code for. To get into the centre of 'town' it will take you a minute or two on foot and there is also free parking.

As stated above, I couldn't fault the stay at all and would highly recommend it to anyone wanting a relaxing and comfortable few days away in Dolgellau.

Room Tip: One of the rooms has a roll top bath but this isn't en-suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelPad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

New year break with my wife and friends. Met at the door. Big welcoming smile from Jan. Pot of tea and beautiful lemon drizzle cake on arrival. Spacious rooms. Modern but fitting for the location. Bed was very comfortable. Fantastic views. Peter and Jan available at all times. Superb breakfast. Homemade vegetarian sausages were a real treat. Good advice and information about local area. Affordable and reasonable. A real find.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

We spent 4 night at Bryn Mair and can honestly say this is the best B&B experience we have ever had. The hosts’ hospitality, from the moment we were welcomed on arrival to our departure, was fantastic!
Everything about our stay was equally good… the accommodation and breakfast... all superb!

The bed was extremely comfortable.The room / bathroom were spotless and decorated tastefully plus you have all the finer touches that you get with a 5* hotel. They provide a guest fridge, with water and milk, magazines, books, maps, and really lovely guest sitting room.


It is peacefully located, but within 5 minutes walk of the centre of Dolgellau and all the restaurants. The location is ideal for a walking holiday as you can drive to the base of Cadir Idris within 10 minutes.

Jan and Peter have a place where one really feels at home... nothing is too much trouble. Thank you so much for a wonderful stay.
Martin & Kim.

Room Tip: We were in room 2, but I think all rooms will have been equally good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales
Level Contributor
62 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Stayed for one night and wished it was longer. All the reviews are spot on. This is a lovely place to stay from the tea and Welsh cake welcome, the cozy room with lovely toiletries to the breakfast that kept us going all day.

Room Tip: There are only three so I think any of them would be ideal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Superb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Just back from two nights in this lovely B and B. Hosts, Jan and Peter were very welcoming and went out of their way to make you feel welcome. The room was spotless and very comforable. Breakfast was excellent and nothing was too much trouble. Drive up to the house is a little narrow but you soon get used to it. All in all a very relaxing couple of days in a beautiful setting. Will return again.

Room Tip: All 3 rooms are similar but some have slightly better views than others. We stayed in room 2 and had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrahamandCaroline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Really good bed and breakfast to stay in. Hosts very welcoming. Tea and welsh teacakes as a treat on arrival. Beautiful period house within short walking distance of town centre. Spotlessly clean. Lovely breakfast. Would recommend without hesitation.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TC-Dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dolgellau hotels
0.1 mi away
Y Meirionnydd
Y Meirionnydd
#1 of 3 in Dolgellau
289 reviews
1.8 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
315 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tan y Gader
Tan y Gader
#2 of 34 in Dolgellau
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Plas Gwyn B&B & Cottage
Plas Gwyn B&B & Cottage
#3 of 34 in Dolgellau
180 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ffynnon
Ffynnon
#4 of 34 in Dolgellau
524 reviews
1.7 mi away
Pandy Isaf Country House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bryn Mair House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bryn Mair House

Property: Bryn Mair House
Address: Bryn Mair Love Lane, Snowdonia National Park, Dolgellau LL40 1SR, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Dolgellau
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Dolgellau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Bryn Mair House 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Bryn Mair House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bryn Mair House Dolgellau, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing