We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Hosts” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ty Seren Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ty Seren Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #11 of 34 Dolgellau B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
mandurah
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hosts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

Ty Seren is a lovely 200 year old ex woolen mill set in a lovely village in North Wales.
The rooms are comfortable, clean and the breakfasts are lovely. The village has everything one needs as far as pubs, restaurants and souvenirs goes. Snowdonia, Harlech and the wonderfully bizarre Portmeirion are only short drives away.
Hosts Sharon and Nick are warm, friendly and have great local knowledge which they are only too happy to pass on.
Would definitely stay again.
Martin and Karen Western Australia

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MartinBarnett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicholas G, Manager at Ty Seren Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, February 4, 2016
Hi Martin and Karen,
we were so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, we do try our best to make everyone
welcome, as maybe one day you will return!!
kind regards
Nick and
Sharon





Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    26
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
15
57
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

Ty Seren is a lovely B&B with fabulous breakfasts and a friendly atmosphere. Our room at the top of the house was very comfortable, and Nick and Sharon did everything they could to make our stay a happy one. Nick has an excellent knowledge of the area and suggested some good walking routes. They also lent us OS maps and guides and even a pair of bicycles so we could cycle along the estuary to Barmouth. Dolgellau is a nice little town with some good eateries, and nicely central for all the places we wanted to explore while in North Wales. Excellent value, and we hope we can come back again soon.

Room Tip: We were in the Weaver's room at the top of the house, which is very nice (though very tall peopl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daisy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

My family and I, have had the best country-side stay at Ty-Seren Bed & Breakfast during our month long road trip of the UK...! Dolgellau itself is one the most scenic and serene places to visit in Wales, and what made this place even more special was Nick's B'n'B....!

It felt like home, the way we were treated! Nick is the warmest person and surely can whip up an incredible breakfast in the shortest of times! Very knowledgeable about the places in and about the town. And has a very beautiful attic room too!

If ever i revisit this town, i will stay at no other place than Ty-Seren!

Thanks Nick & Ruby!

Room Tip: All the rooms are warm and cozy! Just discuss with Nick in person if possible and even his suggestio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank esha1812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

Ty Seren is a lovely B&B set in the heart of Dolgellau. The owners are very friendly and are happy to accommodate any requests/questions you may have. The breakfast was excellent and set the wife and I up for the days activities. Nick also let us use his bicycles, which was very kind of him. I'd certainly return to the Ty Seren when we're next in town.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ecfc2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

Great B & B warm welcome from Nick and Sharon even though we were a bit early,the mill itself has a nice charm with a lovely character and energy.
Our hosts had great knowledge of local area and were always willing to assist us in what we needed could not of asked for more.Keep up the fantastic work all the best Ian,Claire,Megan and Kiera Ward

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank ianward29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

Our host where brilliant would recommend them highly,could not do enough for us.
The breakfast was superb.
A very friendly B&B the mill itself was very quirky and was in a good location for exploring North Wales
The Ward Family

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Murray W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montague, Massachusetts, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

What a gem! We feel so lucky to have found this great B&B on our trip. Dolgellau is a great place to visit in Wales (not touristy and very very beautiful). Nick and Shannon were so friendly and gave us a lot of advice about where to go. Do the Precipice Walk! We really enjoyed our stay (the Loft was a great room). The bed was very comfortable and the food was delicious. No complaints from us!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Melissa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dolgellau hotels
0.0 mi away
Y Meirionnydd
Y Meirionnydd
#1 of 3 in Dolgellau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
1.9 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
1.2 mi away
Dolgun Uchaf  B & B
Dolgun Uchaf B & B
#12 of 34 in Dolgellau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Plas Gwyn B&B & Cottage
Plas Gwyn B&B & Cottage
#3 of 34 in Dolgellau
5.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Royal Ship Hotel
The Royal Ship Hotel
#7 of 34 in Dolgellau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tan y Gader
Tan y Gader
#2 of 34 in Dolgellau
5.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ty Seren Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ty Seren Bed and Breakfast

Property: Ty Seren Bed and Breakfast
Address: Ty Seren Meyrick Street, Snowdonia National Park, Dolgellau LL40 1LN, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Dolgellau
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Dolgellau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ty Seren (meaning Star House) is a former woolen mill built AD.1800 and located in the centre of the lovely market town of Dolgellau, Snowdonia. If you like peace and tranquility in an affordable family-run Bed & Breakfast then this is the place for you. The accommodation comprises 3 en-suite rooms on the first floor with tea trays and televisions; a family room sleeping up to four, a double room and a single room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Ty Seren Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ty Seren Bed And Breakfast Dolgellau, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing