We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely little place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ty Seren Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #11 of 33 Dolgellau B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lovely little place”
Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights in the 'brown room', which is much nicer in real life than the photo portrays.
On arrival Sharon made us very welcome. Ty Seren has a real charm, is clean and welcoming. Breakfast was lovely and the area very quiet. For us it was perfectly located, a short drive from dog friendly beaches and an hours drive from Snowdon. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dvora K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    29
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
15
60
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Stayed here over the Easter weekend for mountain biking in Coed y Brenin. We had an excellent time. Nick and Sharon made us extremely welcome, from allowing us to check in early, to chatting with us over a glass of wine. Room was really comfortable, and the bath was romantic, if not the most practical after a day's sweaty mountain biking! Ruby the dog was another bonus - always ready for a stroke and fussing. We had great biking fuel in our breakfasts and were thoroughly happy with our stay. definitley recommend it. Hope the Everest trip went well, Nick

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank monkeybotlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stow
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Checked in on Saturday 2nd March for a one night stay. On arrival we were made extremely welcome by the owners, Nick and Sharon. Our room was not quite ready on arrival but we were offered tea/coffee whilst the room was prepared, a nice touch. Ty Seren is an older building but is clean and suited our needs perfectly. The room was warm with en suite and we enjoyed a good nights sleep. No traffic noise.
The B and B is situated in the centre of the small town with shops and pubs within walking distance. It is also a great location for mountain biking and hill walking.
Breakfast was pre ordered the evening before and served in a small room at the front of the building with a great log fire. Breakfast was excellent, cooked perfectly to order.
Nick and Sharon are perfect hosts, enjoy conversation whilst not overpowering.
Nick is busy working on the building and will make improvements which will enhance the business.
We enjoyed our stay and would certainly return. Very good value for money.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank brian g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

I spent an enjoyable three nights at this B&B this week.

 Nick was away until the last morning I was there, but Sharon was very helpful and hospitable, without being over-fussy. I know the area pretty well, but she was more than happy to chat at length about things to do, nice walks etc. I think people new to the area would get good advice and it's good to get a warm welcome. The place certainly has a relaxed feel about it.

It's a nice old property with character - there's a great fire in the downstairs room. As it's an old building, it can take a little while before getting the knack of turning the keys in the doors, but that's a welcome change from swipe cards in anodyne modern hotels!

The room wasn't big (again - it's an old house with character), but was perfectly adequate for me and very reasonably priced. The ensuite bathroom was fine and the bed was very comfortable.

Breakfast was good too and I was pleased to be able to park next to the property - on a previous visit to another B&B in the town this wasn't possible. I suspect parking isn't always easy in an old town like Dolgellau.

My understanding is that this is a new venture for them, so I think things will develop and they'll bring new ideas to the venture.

I met Nick on the final morning and he's an interesting guy - just don't mention Everest (in-joke!).

Dolgellau is situated in a beautiful part of Wales and benefits from being a little way south of the main tourists bits of Snowdonia. I enjoy visiting this area for walking etc and would certainly be happy to book here again. 

Si

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank simonrhysphillips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ironbridge, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

This was a 'quirky' and comfortable stay. The room we had was adequate and warm. Nick (the Owner) runs the place in a very friendly and attentive way and he and Partner serve a delicious breakfast. I would definitely stay here another time, as I love the area and plan to do more Mountain Biking and Walking (oh-and Sightseeing!) This would be an excellent base location for the area. One tiny criticism is that perhaps the Bed could have been Kingsize (the mattress was differnet size to base-Smaller) and although entertaining, perhaps needs attention. All in All Nick is great and he accepts new to the Area and the B&B, but I reckon by next season he'll have it looking 'top drawer!'
(Nick can I also suggest you create a Face Book Page for the Business?)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Orchard, Washington
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Checkin time was 1700. We arrived at 1730 and room was still not ready. Room was nice, but bathroom waas dirty. Sink had hair in it. Toilet rim was dirty. Breakfast was very good. Owner was very pleasant.
Parking was okay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandra F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Room was quirky, but very comfortable, really enjoyed our stay, nick, lovely host, good breakfast, visit this establishment for something original! Thank you and good luck for the future nick, regards Julie & ciaran Birmingham

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kegBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dolgellau hotels
0.0 mi away
Y Meirionnydd
Y Meirionnydd
#1 of 3 in Dolgellau
302 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Royal Ship Hotel
The Royal Ship Hotel
#7 of 33 in Dolgellau
454 reviews
1.2 mi away
Dolgun Uchaf  B & B
Dolgun Uchaf B & B
#13 of 33 in Dolgellau
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Plas Gwyn B&B & Cottage
Plas Gwyn B&B & Cottage
#3 of 33 in Dolgellau
185 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tan y Gader
Tan y Gader
#2 of 33 in Dolgellau
143 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ivy House
Ivy House
#12 of 33 in Dolgellau
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ty Seren Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ty Seren Bed and Breakfast

Property: Ty Seren Bed and Breakfast
Address: Ty Seren Meyrick Street, Snowdonia National Park, Dolgellau LL40 1LN, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Dolgellau
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Dolgellau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ty Seren (meaning Star House) is a former woolen mill built AD.1800 and located in the centre of the lovely market town of Dolgellau, Snowdonia. If you like peace and tranquility in an affordable family-run Bed & Breakfast then this is the place for you. The accommodation comprises 3 en-suite rooms on the first floor with tea trays and televisions; a family room sleeping up to four, a double room and a single room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ty Seren Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ty Seren Bed And Breakfast Dolgellau, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing