We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hotel in town!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Royal Ship Hotel
Ranked #6 of 34 Dolgellau B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Although we only stayed two nights, we were thoroughly happy with everything in and around the hotel. The staff were friendly and courteous, the food was marvellous and we simply adored our room, especially as it had a balcony which afforded us great views of the town and surrounding countryside.
We cannot fault this hotel at all. It has got to be the best in town. We would most certainly choose this as a stopover again should we be in the area in the not too distant future.

Room Tip: The room with the balcony has got to be the best in the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Glenn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (525)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

419 - 425 of 525 reviews

Reviewed September 10, 2012

My wife and stayed at this hotel having booked two nights through KGB. We didn't read any reviews beforehand and have only just done so now so not biased in any way. There are a lot of comments that we would agree with for example lack of parking space (although we parked at the rear and didn't have problem), tatty decor throughout with peeling wallpaper and water stains. Room very comfortable, but with a narrow double bed. En suite quite small. Didn't eat in the restaurant so can't comment on that. It has to be said, hence the title, that it is difficult to comprehend whether we were in a hotel that wanted to be a restaurant; a pub that wanted to serve food and be a hotel or a mixture of both. The most important thing for us, if it is attempting to be a hotel, is that there is not a single area that could be said to be a lounge where the visitor could relax with a book after a hard days sightseeing, or have a brandy at the end of an evening. This was mentioned to a member of staff on our second night who agreed that "perhaps you just need somewhere to slob out" which is not a criticism of her, but an honest appraisal perhaps for a potential shortcoming. In fact she was very charming and only happy to help. Having said all of this, the staff were very polite, friendly and courteous which earned the three stars. If the assumption is made that it is only 'voucher' customers that are awkward then I would take issue with that as we have stayed in many hotels around the world, with or without vouchers, and make our own minds up on whether we have received value for money or not.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We booked through KGB deals for two nights, but only stayed one. We were disappointed by quality of rooms. The first room we were in with the torn curtains, and the toilet that kept nearly filling to the top, was over the kitchen, and the extractor fan there was so loud, we asked for another room. The second room on the second floor on the opposite side of the hotel was quiet, but dirty. The mattress was awful, the sheets were clean, but the blanket and throw were stained and did not smell very fresh. The plumbing was very noisy. Someone tried to get in our room about two in the morning, which was a bit scary. At breakfast we had to search through the cereal bowls for ones that did not have food stuck on from the previous day.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SUE H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Booked using a voucher deal. Great location, quaint little town with great shops. Massive field next to hotel to take the dogs out. Hotel well centred to travel out and about, beach onyl minutes away. Nice stream only 5 minutes walk. Decor rough and ready, tv poor, wash facilities ok. Breakfast excellent, sausages amazing, can help yourself to as much as you want.
when we stayed they closed the car park off at the back of the hotel and had a band on, nice surprise.
Great place if you want to take the dogs away!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janeo1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Bad decor where there was wall paper it was coming away from the walls. If you visit the village take I look inside and you will see. One place where it should not be at all costs and may be why it is MONEY anyway go into the restuarant if you dont belive me at the front of the Hotel go the the right as you enter and look up at the ceiling in the corner there are big stains possably water and the wall paper is coming away from the wall and ceiling and poeple are eating under this VERY BAD

Room Tip: The bed we had was that bad we had to go to boots chemist for paracetamol to easy are back pian
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alan m m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

I visited Dolgellau recently and stopped for dinner in the Royal Ship Hotel. The hotel has a lovely outside seating area in front of the hotel which is lovely if you catch a sunny day like I did.

Service and staff were wonderful and the fish pie awesome!! :)

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Reshma D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

see above, this really needs to be demolished, started from scratch, from the odd stains on the bed covers to the fish smelling beans it really was like a visit to hell i would not recommend this to anyone, stay away. It is a shame but the management here should just give up

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dolgellau
1.9 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
346 reviews
0.1 mi away
Y Meirionnydd
Y Meirionnydd
#1 of 3 in Dolgellau
322 reviews
16.7 mi away
Plas Yn Dre
Plas Yn Dre
#1 of 2 in Bala
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
George III Hotel
George III Hotel
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
430 reviews
1.2 mi away
Dolgun Uchaf  B & B
Dolgun Uchaf B & B
#14 of 34 in Dolgellau
141 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ivy House
Ivy House
#13 of 34 in Dolgellau
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Ship Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Ship Hotel

Address: Queens Square, Snowdonia National Park, Dolgellau LL40 1AR, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Dolgellau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Dolgellau
Price Range: $92 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Ship Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The team offer you a warm welcome to The Royal Ship Hotel, Dolgellau. The Royal Ship Hotel is an early 19th century Coaching Inn, in the heart of the old Market Town of Dolgellau. We are ideally situated to explore the beauty of North and Mid Wales. Located in the picturesque Snowdonia National Park. The Hotel is surrounded by mountains, rivers and fishing lakes and is only a few minutes drive from the coast of the Irish Sea. It is the perfect place for a relaxing holiday or short break. The Hotel offers 23 bedrooms. There are 17 en suite rooms and the remaining 6 rooms have private allocated bathrooms. You can choose between Single, Double, Twin or Triple rooms. Some of our rooms have an attractive view over the Town Square and the Cader Idris Mountain Range. All rooms are well equipped with tea & coffee facilities, TV and local tourist information. We can cater for large groups and families. Pets welcome.Surrounded by Mountains, Rivers, Lakes and the Seaside, you are spoiled for choice with the activities this stunning landscape has to offer. Walking, Biking, Lake & River Fishing, Wild Water Rafting, Canoeing, Hill Climbing, High Adventure Parks, Trekking, Golfing, Bird Watching, atmospheric native Welsh Castles and the magnificent Edwardian World Heritage Castles. So whatever your interest or passion for the outside world involves, The Royal Ship is the place for you.This historic Coaching Inn has 23 individually furnished bedrooms, a residents bar, public bar with games room and a restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Royal Ship Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Ship Hotel Dolgellau, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing