We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfy Old World Charm!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Royal Ship Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Royal Ship Hotel
Ranked #7 of 34 Dolgellau B&B and Inns
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Comfy Old World Charm!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

Just back from a 2 night B/B break with 'Living Social Deals'.

We were given a large ensuite room with flat TV and tea/coffee facility.
We had twin beds, very clean and comfy.

The town is compact, lots of little lanes and 'Old fashioned' shops, all buildings made from Welsh stone- very attractive.
We had a pleasant riverside walk, you could walk to Barmouth mut 8 miles is a bit much for us!.
There were several real ale pubs with food/snacks and garden areas.

The Hotel had a popular Restaurant - we didn't try it- the bar area was cosy.
Breakfast was fab! everthing provided,fresh coffee to fresh fruit, lovely Welsh bacon and sausage. (even kippers-haddock!)

Definitely recommend for a short break!

Room Tip: If its important, request an en -suite not all rooms are! Carpark fills quickly!!.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dellas60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    138
    66
    32
    35
See reviews for
79
203
13
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Level Contributor
64 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

This was our first time choosing to stay at this hotel for 2 nights as we celebrated our silver wedding anniversary and it gave us the opportunity to to make our way to Mount Snowdon and walk up the mountain.

When we arrived at the hotel our room was not ready. We went for a walk then went back. We were given room 306. Upon using the bathroom I noticed the fan was very noisy and stayed on after turning it off. I also noticed the bathroom was not clean. The bath had a dirty tide mark underneath the taps. The bath was also broken and only had half a shower screen! There were hairs on the floors just to the left of the sink. The drawers in the bedroom were not clean. There was hairs in them so I would not have used them. As I was not happy with the condition of the room I went to reception and made the staff aware of the problems. I was then shown two other rooms to choose from or have the room already allocated cleaned again. I opted to have room 307. Although it was smaller and only had a shower it was comfortable and suited our needs. This room was still of a poor cleanliness standard again the inside of the drawers were not clean also there were coffee/tea stains down the front of the bedside cabinets. A quick wipe down makes all the difference!

The following morning breakfast was dire. The hot food was in serving dishes but most of it was cold. There was a wait for sausages and there was no bacon at all. I ate a few beans and a couple of sausages when I finally got some. I left the rest of my cooked breakfast as it was flat cold.
This morning when we went for breakfast we had our order taken at the table and our food was lovely when we received it, piping hot as it should be.
On the second night we had dinner in the hotel which was very nice with pleasant service. We were allowed to take our own bottle of champagne into the restaurant with us.
The staff were all very nice, friendly and helpful. If I was in the area again and needed somewhere to stay I would stay here again. It is a little town with some lovely shops.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Davina-Jeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

Me & my husband have travelled around the country and abroad extensively; staying in variety of hotels & B&B from 2 stars to 4 stars but we have never had such bad experience ever.... is the worst place we've ever stayed in.

1) Room was old & grubby... Wall paper hanging off the wall... Waterstained on the walls... Dirty carpet... Bedding was suspiciously uncleaned... Noisy

2) ensuite bathroom was like the room, old, grubby & dirty... There was hair on the side of the bathtub the day we checked in, those hair was still there even after housekeeping the next day. I doubt they clean the room or bathroom

3) breakfast was the worst experience ever... It was buffet but with most of them empty and whatever miserly food at the buffet it was cold... We inform the staff of the non existance food but they just tell us to wait... 1 guest flipped & told the waiter off. Next morning we went down half an hour earlier hoping food will be available for breakfast...how wrong were we; had to wait 30 minutes for a few sausages... Made a complaint to this very rude lady at the reception and end up having a row with her....never met such a Rude, Unproffesional, person working in a hotel ever before, than and again we've never have to complain about breakfast in any other places we've stayed.

If you would like to experience staying in a hotel which serves Terrible Breakfast with Rude owner (yes shocking! She is the owner) to spoil your holiday...than Royal Ship Hotel will be your Perfect Stay....

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FlowieJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

We stay for 2 nights using the KGB deal.
We had read the reviews and there were more positive comments than negative so thought it would be fine but how wrong we were.

Let's start with the Pros:
1) The hotel was in a great Location as you could do the The Mawddach Trail, start of the trail is only 5mins walk away, we rented bikes from bike shop round the corner of hotel. £20 pp for whole day.
2) The food in the restaurant was good, we had the prawn cocktail and soup plus steak for main. Reasonable prices.

Now the Cons:
1) The hotel was in not so great condition, could have definitely done with a make over. This hotel could be great
2) Stayed in 206, carpets were grubby and just looked tatty. Our allocated bathroom and toilet was over the landing on the other side which was annoying as there were two other bathrooms near by. One outside our room! Bathrobes are on hand from reception.
3) The mattress was awful, we complained as felt all the springs but the staff said that nothing could be done as they were fully booked and would come up with a solution on the 2nd day...they never did! In the end we had to grab the spare blankets in the wardrobe to pad up the mattress...one of the spare blankets had blood marks on it - it was disgusting!
4) The noise wasn't great, you could hear next door using their sink and talking very clearly and the banging of the landing door every time someone went through it.

It did kind of spoil the time we were in Wales and we were quite glad to leave and move onto another hotel!

Obviously I can't say much about other rooms, maybe it was just room 206!!

Room Tip: Avoid room 206!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellerT88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Runcorn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

This hotel is right in the middle of Dolgellau, Looks good from outside. Bedrooms on two upper foors with no lift available. Inside decor is dated. Floors a bit uneven in places. Food was brilliant and the staff were welcoming polite and very helpful. Not for light sleepers as town clock chimes on the quarter hour till midnight.

Room Tip: Some rooms have separate shower and toilets
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scotty025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

We came here for 2 nights on a KGB deal so onyl cost £64 for weekend - you get what you pay for. The Village is very quaint and old fashioned so the hotel was in keeping with the surroundings. Hotel had a car park to rear which was great and the staff polite and welcoming. We had a twin room as the doubles were fully booked so book in advance. We stayed in room 113 at the side it was very spacious and very clean. However the shower was electric so didn't have much power at all and the shower screen didn't close properly. The beds were springy and the TV tiny, but we didn't plan on staying in the hotel and were only using as a base so no issue for us. The only real gripe about this hotel is the decor - although very clean it needed desperate modernisation. The carpets, the drapes, net curtains and bathroom tiles were stuck in a time warp - lets just say we didn't take any photos for our photo album. Bar and Breakfast offerings were ample and no complaints there. Just very tired and dated needs a new lick of pain some better quality furnishings etc.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AllstarAli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

Was slightly dubious about this Hotel after reading all the reviews so I expected the worse just to be sure. However there is hardly anything I can fault about my stay.
On arrival we were seen to immediately and very warmly. Our room was 112 around the side of the hotel. We had a family room, even though we were only a couple, and it was quite big. I would say it was quite modern aswell. We had an ample size bathroom with a bath & shower over. The water was roasting but the shower didn't have enough power in it. It was ok to rinse your hair though if you washed it in the bath as there was more power in it the lower you held it. There was a minor few things in the decor that could do with seeing to but nothing too much to moan about.
The TV did turn itself on then off after a minute as stated by another reveiwer but fortunately it was in the evening and not during the night.
The breakfast was made to order. I had a ham & cheese omellete one day and it was delicious. The only buffet food was boxes of cereal & fruit etc. We didn't try the restaurant as we left it too late to eat there so we tried the Kebab house on both nights and all our meals very very nice indeed. Here again, the decor could do with updating as it was all chintz and flowers.
There is a great walk that you can go on which is more or less around the back of the hotel along the river. It goes for 9 miles to Balmouth. There is a toll bridge at the end costing .90p per adult but this was un-manned when we got there. You can catch a bus back to Dolgellau around the corner when you come off the bridge which costs £3.40 per adult.
This was a KGB deal which only cost us £69 for two nights with breakfast so it was well worth the money.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tinywillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dolgellau
1.9 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
0.1 mi away
Y Meirionnydd
Y Meirionnydd
#1 of 3 in Dolgellau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
6.8 mi away
Bae Abermaw
Bae Abermaw
#2 of 4 in Barmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Dolgun Uchaf  B & B
Dolgun Uchaf B & B
#12 of 34 in Dolgellau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tan y Gader
Tan y Gader
#2 of 34 in Dolgellau
5.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
0.2 mi away
Plas Gwyn B&B & Cottage
Plas Gwyn B&B & Cottage
#3 of 34 in Dolgellau
5.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Ship Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Ship Hotel

Property: The Royal Ship Hotel
Address: Queens Square, Snowdonia National Park, Dolgellau LL40 1AR, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Dolgellau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Dolgellau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Ship Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The team offer you a warm welcome to The Royal Ship Hotel, Dolgellau. The Royal Ship Hotel is an early 19th century Coaching Inn, in the heart of the old Market Town of Dolgellau. We are ideally situated to explore the beauty of North and Mid Wales. Located in the picturesque Snowdonia National Park. The Hotel is surrounded by mountains, rivers and fishing lakes and is only a few minutes drive from the coast of the Irish Sea. It is the perfect place for a relaxing holiday or short break. The Hotel offers 23 bedrooms. There are 17 en suite rooms and the remaining 6 rooms have private allocated bathrooms. You can choose between Single, Double, Twin or Triple rooms. Some of our rooms have an attractive view over the Town Square and the Cader Idris Mountain Range. All rooms are well equipped with tea & coffee facilities, TV and local tourist information. We can cater for large groups and families. Pets welcome.Surrounded by Mountains, Rivers, Lakes and the Seaside, you are spoiled for choice with the activities this stunning landscape has to offer. Walking, Biking, Lake & River Fishing, Wild Water Rafting, Canoeing, Hill Climbing, High Adventure Parks, Trekking, Golfing, Bird Watching, atmospheric native Welsh Castles and the magnificent Edwardian World Heritage Castles. So whatever your interest or passion for the outside world involves, The Royal Ship is the place for you.This historic Coaching Inn has 23 individually furnished bedrooms, a residents bar, public bar with games room and a restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The Royal Ship Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Ship Hotel Dolgellau, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing