We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The hotel that time forgot”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Royal Ship Hotel
Ranked #7 of 33 Dolgellau B&B and Inns
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“The hotel that time forgot”
Reviewed April 26, 2011

The location is great but that's where the compliments end. We were 3 cyclists passing through having booked directly with their website and opted for a family room. We were charged the equiv. of a double room and a single room when all they did was put a "kids" small single bed in a double room. Their rates were advertised in the room so i complained in the morning whilst checking out, however the managers couldn't be bothered to come to reception to talk to me.
Bar staff - rude, how can they make ordering two packets of crisps difficult, and the beer was warm without apology.
Room - dated decor and far too hot even with the windows fully open.
Food - we only had breakfast, not bad but the dining room is still in the 1950's.
Wifi - wasn't working.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank benno1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    142
    70
    33
    35
See reviews for
80
213
16
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 24, 2011

went on a late booking,inside was ok ,went up to rooms first glance was a bit of a shock thought we had been sent back in time,then i saw the telly so was back to date.went to bathroom down corridor could not get in with key! went to reception waited 20mins for someone to say they would see what they could do,went back up my lads in next room could not get telly to work,went back to reception they said "i will have a look but i am not good with technology".when we eventualy got into bathroom the shower would not get hot so i had to use the lads shower which was not much better,we then looked at menu but it was to fancy for us so went to chippy instead.not good value for cost will not be going back i hope..

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kazmau5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2011

We came here with empty stomachs expecting the usual pub fare of fish and chips, pie etc... something filling and not too expensive. We ordered potato wedges as a light but satisfying appetiser, and were stunned to be presented, with no hint of irony, 5 very thin slices of potato, not even enough to make a single potato. 4 pounds, for half a potato and a spoon of sour cream, is an insult. We mentioned this to our waiter who's only retort was "no one else has complained!" and a shrug of his shoulders. Or main course was dire, the kind of food you buy at 2 in the morning from a very cheap fast food joint for 2 or 3 pounds. We were charged just under 10! On leaving I thought it polite to inform the manager that the portion control needs looking at and the quality of food was poor. I can quite honestly say I have not met a more unpleasant person. I wish I had of just left without saying a word as I was offered no apology, certainly no refund and feeling slightly sick with a combination of rage and diabolical food! Avoid.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Thatmatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2011

The Ship is not an awful place, but the rooms are dated and in need of refurbishment. There are some rooms which are not en-suite and should be avoided at all costs1 Having said that, although the beds were a bit hard, the sleep quality was not bad. We didn't eat at the restaurant and had a lovely meal at the Sosban next door. Breakfast was not that good, scrambled eggs a very dodgy colour, poached eggs were hard. This is a lovely looking place from the outside but does not deliver on the inside. With some TLC and money it could be great.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KathleenBridget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2011

I visited the Royal ship, Sunday 9th January with my Mother who is 91, who enjoys her Sunday Lunch which was provided by the Royal Ship in a most friendly, curtious fashion.
The food was of a very good quality and would recommend any passing traveller to visit this very nice friendly establishment.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank car63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2010

The Royal Ship Hotel, Queens Square, Dolgellau, Wales.
Had we read the negative reviews first, we would not have booked, thereby missing out on a very enjoyable stay. The staff we met were all welcoming, friendly, polite and helpful. The food was excellent, well presented, with a very varied menu.
The room was warm, clean and quite spacious, with ample tea/coffee making facilities. The en-suite bathroom had clean white towels, ample toiletries (with a proper bar of soap, not the tiny tablets usually provided.) There were no signs of damp, peeling wallpaper, threadbare carpets or furniture. Whilst the town was busy during the day, we did not experience any night-time noise even though we were in a front room.

Helpful?
2 Thank WalesMyopinion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 21, 2010

We stopped at the Royal Ship on Sunday evening for food on our way home from a lovely weekend. After looking at the menu we were all watering at the mouth thinking it would be a lovely end to a great weekend. We were then very disappointed when the food arrived! I had ordered the belly pork on leeks and potatoes. What a joke, the belly pork was no bigger than my finger and that thin!!! I had half a spud and 2 slices of leek in what looked like 2 day old gravy! My friend had the rabbit hot pot, needless to say this was another let down, to the Hotre meet would have been found on the easter bunny!! We waited then to see if we were having a side order of veg as what was on our plates would not fill a thimble! We asked the waiter and we were told we had to pay extra for veg. To top it off when we went to pay the bill the waiter did not know how to use the card machine and everyone else had left! We had to scrape together the amount due, all this on a nearly empty stomach!!!! So as you can gather we will not be stopping here again or reccomending it to a friend. We have e-mailed out complaints to the Hotel but they have not had the decency to reply! Shocking!!!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shianw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dolgellau
1.9 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
0.1 mi away
Y Meirionnydd
Y Meirionnydd
#1 of 3 in Dolgellau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
6.8 mi away
Bae Abermaw
Bae Abermaw
#3 of 4 in Barmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Dolgun Uchaf  B & B
Dolgun Uchaf B & B
#12 of 33 in Dolgellau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
0.1 mi away
Plas Gwyn B&B & Cottage
Plas Gwyn B&B & Cottage
#3 of 33 in Dolgellau
5.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tan y Gader
Tan y Gader
#2 of 33 in Dolgellau
5.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Ship Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Ship Hotel

Property: The Royal Ship Hotel
Address: Queens Square, Snowdonia National Park, Dolgellau LL40 1AR, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Dolgellau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Dolgellau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Ship Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The team offer you a warm welcome to The Royal Ship Hotel, Dolgellau. The Royal Ship Hotel is an early 19th century Coaching Inn, in the heart of the old Market Town of Dolgellau. We are ideally situated to explore the beauty of North and Mid Wales. Located in the picturesque Snowdonia National Park. The Hotel is surrounded by mountains, rivers and fishing lakes and is only a few minutes drive from the coast of the Irish Sea. It is the perfect place for a relaxing holiday or short break. The Hotel offers 23 bedrooms. There are 17 en suite rooms and the remaining 6 rooms have private allocated bathrooms. You can choose between Single, Double, Twin or Triple rooms. Some of our rooms have an attractive view over the Town Square and the Cader Idris Mountain Range. All rooms are well equipped with tea & coffee facilities, TV and local tourist information. We can cater for large groups and families. Pets welcome.Surrounded by Mountains, Rivers, Lakes and the Seaside, you are spoiled for choice with the activities this stunning landscape has to offer. Walking, Biking, Lake & River Fishing, Wild Water Rafting, Canoeing, Hill Climbing, High Adventure Parks, Trekking, Golfing, Bird Watching, atmospheric native Welsh Castles and the magnificent Edwardian World Heritage Castles. So whatever your interest or passion for the outside world involves, The Royal Ship is the place for you.This historic Coaching Inn has 23 individually furnished bedrooms, a residents bar, public bar with games room and a restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your The Royal Ship Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Ship Hotel Dolgellau, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing